Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Disco Icecave Laser Death Tag

by Birke - Compo Entry

It's a really bad idea to shoot lasers inside an icecave. unfortunately that's the only way to escape - and since someone wannabe musician has filled the cave with horrible disco music you definitely want to get out.

Made in Unity with heavy use of the GL API. Go line rendering! This is also the first time I tried to use a DAW to make my music for the combo. Not really happy with the result but most of Sunday was spent learning LMMS so hopefully next time I'll be able to bash something better together.

RUNNING THE WEB BUILD ON MAC only works in Safari

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#87Fun3.80
#197Overall3.60
#336Innovation3.42
#348Audio3.08
#434Mood3.07
#479Graphics3.16
#723Humor2.39
#953Theme2.69

Comments

winmac32 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:22am

Pretty hard, but really fun. I love that graphics style. Lasers aren't very unconventional, though :P

DarkMeatGames says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:44am

Great idea! Was a bit challening early on though (maybe I'm no good) Wished for a bit faster movement and 'jetpack' speed. Great music and sfx.

nurabsal says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:44am

solid. very well made. theme vague?

CogentInvalid says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:45am

Great concept, and pretty fun too! I like the vector-y visual style.

ManicMiner says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:46am

Very enjoyable game - I was terrible at it though!

zeejfps says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:47am

Why is it soo damn hard! Makes me wish I had better aim lolz. Its like a cross of a shooter with snake.
Definitely fun :)

Birke says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:55am

Jeah the use of the theme is pretty nonexistent. At first I wanted to make a game about a viking shouting down spikes from a cave ceiling to crush enemies but decided the ricocheting laser shots would be more fun to code and play.

Fanttum says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:24am

Wow really well done game here.
I love the idea of the bouncing shots. Not only does it make me want to fire less because I can create my own bullet hell, it also makes me want to aim better which isn't easy, but still tight controls. The first enemy on the second level killed me like right away however, and that is kinda frustrating. I think you should teach your player more, but a really fun game, that I might come back to play later. :)

Neonlare says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:25am

This was really solidly made, the bouncing lasers is a good touch, not 100% unconvential weapon wise but the Light-cycle style approach to them made it very fun and tricky indeed. Presentation is very damn good as well, enjoyed it a heck of a lot, thanks! :D

TheBigShot says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:26am

Absolutely fantastic! Great game mechanic and very wel designed levels. Hats off to you Birke. The only down side maybe is that the shooting sound gets annoyig after a while.

micahcowan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:52am

I like it. I can't get past cave 2, those little red thingies are a pain in my rear.

The Web/HTML5 thing crashes for me (Firefox/MacOS). I've been seeing a lot of complaints about Unity HTML5 builds not working on MacOS, but that Firefox fixes it (but it never does for me). Just FYI.

KedumeBits says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:37am

It's hard, but it's original. There are some interesting concepts.

syawqy says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:18pm

hard but fun

Toby Pinder says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:26pm

Difficult, but I love the style and procedural generation. As others have said having the ability to dodge easier would be cool.

Ouro17 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:01am

Great game! I made to 4 cave but its very hard. I love the mechanics, good job!

gruhn says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:42pm

A good proposal mechanics. I liked the permanence of the attacks.

Birke says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:38pm

Thanks for the feedback everyone! Jeah the player movement needs to be tighter and not so physics based as it is now. The number of enemies is also quite random from playthrough to playthrough so that's another thing I'll look into fixing at a later point. I am thinking there should also be more of an incentive to shot enemies yourself instead of just dodging them.

AlejoAC says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:06pm

With the key thingies and open spaces it works much much better. It's quite solid gameplay and while playing I can see myself getting better and trying different strategies. Which is really good.

I'm using a strategy in which I shoot in bursts, then wait and hope for them to clean the level while hiding. Then I go out and finish whatever is there while avoiding groups of lasers instead of individual chaotic lasers. In the process I get better quickly at moving around loads of lasers. I see this strategy as the 'Unconventional' side of the weapon.

DKoding says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:23pm

This game is proof that sometimes less is more. Good game!

frondeus says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:49pm

Hard but.. really fun!

Goutye says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:21pm

Interesting game! I got fun to play it! Thanks for it

Homletmoo says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:21pm

What a great concept. I love the way it forces you to trade off skill in shooting with skill in manoeuvring. Perhaps it doesn't play to the theme as well as it could have, but it's an excellent game nonetheless!

Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:12am

Fun! Really hard, but super enjoyable.

Enneract says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:30pm

I really enjoyed this game! I liked the fact that it punishes you for missing since you don't want any extra bullets in the level. Awesome work :)

GarethIW says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:47pm

Solid feel, addictive gameplay, nice level generation. Had me hooked for a while there!

Tselmek says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 2:53pm

Nice gameplay even if it gets a bit too hard when a turret is here. Great graphics.

Omiya Games says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 12:49am

Pretty solid entry. The priority on accuracy was really cool. Gets pretty hectic towards the end with a lot more enemies. The number of enemies that appeared seemed a bit random, though. I guess it's supposed to feel like a rogue-like.

MrShoestore says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 3:18pm

very clever. it was difficult but really fun to play. it wa a struggle to get past 2 caves

May 4, 2015 @ 7:09am

fun little game.

Crowbeak says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 9:17am

Dunno if this is intentional or not, but the name instantly reminded me of Robot Roller-Derby Disco Dodgeball. Name association aside, you've created a unique arcade game here and it's really fun.

Geckoo1337 says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 5:45am

One of my favorites for this Ludum Dare session. This game is really addictive. I can't stop it. First time when I have seen your project, it appeared to me too basic with an poor aesthetic, but in fact, it's very clean. I love the concept. Thumbs up ++

frnknstn says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 5:45pm

Tons of fun, and I like the asthetic a lot.

Gunzil says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 4:31am

Having your projectiles stay on the map the entire time is really cool, missing a shot is a bigger deal with lasting consequences, since they become a hazard you have to deal with.

Movement feels good, having a jetpack with little particles lets you have a low-effort movement system that makes sense contextually.

Graphics are simple but work well to serve the concept since you can easily identify everything on screen.

Music is a bit repetitive but it seems you felt the same given the description :P

NAL says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 11:09am

Very nifty little game! I could see this turning into a brilliant multiplayer deathmatch-em-up if you were inclined to keep making it.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]