Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Can i fly?

by komjaur - Jam Entry

My third ludum dare entry.

Find and destroy all 15 evil yellow cubes and win. easy :D



Controls:
Right and left mouse click to move

Programs used:
Unity
Audacity
Paint
Game maker paint
Blender


Enjoy

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#212Innovation(Jam)3.58
#362Fun(Jam)3.26
#511Mood(Jam)3.07
#525Audio(Jam)2.73
#535Overall(Jam)3.19
#640Humor(Jam)2.60
#653Graphics(Jam)3.00
#661Theme(Jam)3.15

Comments

joaovitorbf says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:21pm

Awesome game! I had lots of fun swinging around. Epic mechanic.
Good luck!

ChrisGaudino says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:24pm

Seemed fun, though it ran very slowly on my (admittedly old) machine.

Ilseroth says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:26pm

Fun game, though I spent most of the time just fiddling with he grappling mechanics then actually trying to accomplish something.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:27pm

This fits the theme really well. Its also very fun to grab things and just watch what happens. Its great to get the cubes but its also fun as a sandbox. The frame rate is pretty low on my computer, maybe you could add a toggle to the image effects.

silentbaws says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:29pm

Frustrating to grab certain things and I couldn't kill any of the evil cubes because I didn't know what they were but it was an interesting idea and 10 minutes of fun

dlowe says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:35pm

The controls didn't work at all for me, unfortunately. Looks like a neat game, but I wasn't able to play :(

Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:26am

nice game, nice graphics, nice big hands) funny game. Good luck!

Embalaje says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:29am

It's crazy! When a I got it, came to me a big laugh.
Fantastic mechanics.
I understand that an idea like this need a lot of work with the "optimization".
So keep going with it because I think it has really potential.

I´m going to play more right now.

TeamCalcium says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:18pm

Nice Game! Very Funny Graphics!

TrickGames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:51pm

I dig it :)

Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:02pm

Good mechanic, though it seemed a bit lagged or glitchy? Physics weren't always working. But cool to see that kind of grappling hook gameplay work in 3d, not just 2d!

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:04pm

nice, liked the graphics, and good use of the theme. I liked swinging around, but couldn't quite scale the floating cubes.

slowfrog says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:06pm

Wow! Wow! Excellent mechanics, though not obvious at first, especially in windowed mode, where right click shows the context menu, so this MUST be run in fullscreen.
The design is really promissing, the graphics, though geometric, are very polished. I only found 4 or 5 cubes, climbed one very high tower, felt a bit dizzy :)
Awesome work!

rudra says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:07pm

Nice graphics ! and I had huge fun playing it ! Keep it up !

Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:08pm

I love the potential of this idea, with more time and polish it seems like it could be a really great game.

Paulozz says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:09pm

Remind me Grow Home from Ubisoft

Azurency says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:09pm

Nice mechanics, great entry !

FeniX says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:11pm

I love this! Awesome mechanics, I really enjoy this idea! It makes a great sandbox. You HAVE TO do something more basing on this idea!

Ryusui says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:14pm

Brilliant concept, though the grabbing/swinging implementation is a bit cumbersome.

dray says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:24pm

I really liked this kind of weird control mechanic. the graplin hand worked well not precise enough to my taste but still good. i stopped after being unable to get the cube on the rolling sphere after a while.

Blobo says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:59pm

Very cool! Really well made game.

ermrk says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:07pm

I reminds me Grow Home. Nice visual, but controls was really hard for me.

komjaur says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:58pm

i optimized a bit.Now it should run faster

Acrimiens says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:41pm

Awesome mechanics and very funny.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:44pm

Nice, but very hard to control. The graphics aren't great, but they work and there aren't many sounds, but they suit the game.

Snicklodocus says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:09am

Cool game! I liked playing around with grappling. The art was very nice too. Good job!

SimianLogic says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 8:26pm

Reminds me of a Oculus Rift game I played one time that made me nauseous for the rest of the day. Interesting space with interesting colors and an interesting mechanic!

So good job!

joe40001 says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 3:08pm

Didn't know how to destroy the yellow cubes, bumped into them and slammed into them and nothing happen.

Fun to play around with.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]