Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Mirror Mirror

by Kevlanche - Jam Entry

Mirror Mirror is a puzzle game where you hunt ghosts using mirrors.

Position your mirrors and activate the gemstones. Beams that destroy ghosts on impact will fire out from the gemstones. Use the mirrors to guide the beams where you want them to go. You have to be quick and clever to do this without being caught by the ghosts. Can you beat all 16 levels?

Controls:
WASD or arrow keys to move
R to restart the current level
Q to go to the menu
Mouse to place/rotate mirrors and to activate gemstones
1/2 to switch between different mirror types

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#96Overall(Jam)3.83
#122Audio(Jam)3.69
#170Theme(Jam)3.83
#203Fun(Jam)3.51
#219Innovation(Jam)3.57
#274Mood(Jam)3.41
#301Graphics(Jam)3.72
#686Humor(Jam)2.50

Comments

vikpek says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:17pm

Impressive content for a jam game. It's fun to play and the riddles are clever. Implementation is really smooth.

Actually really enjoyed it!

rd127p77 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:22pm

Really cool, I enjoyed the puzzle aspect! Some of the best audio I've heard yet.

EthanWebster says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:29pm

Wow, I can't believe that was made in less than three days. The lighting effect is what makes this game so enjoyable, and I like the introduction of new mechanics. Nicely done :D

jayson says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:34pm

That's damn cool man, well done!

ianburnette says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:35pm

Nicely done! Excellent graphics and intuitive and complex gameplay!

vidarn says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:37pm

Great stuff!
Fun puzzles and a bit of action :)
My only complaint would be that I think the controls would have been simpler if they were keyboard only, using the mouse felt a bit awkward at times.
However, apart from that (minor) issue, the game was very well polished and I enjoyed both the graphics and the sound.
A solid game, well done!

Xaychru says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:09pm

Great game! Nice mix of stealth and puzzle game, the levels are well designed and challenging at the end.
(It took me some time to figure I could rotate the light spreaders)

Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:55pm

Theres a lot of content in here! Some of the later levels are really complex too, good job!

fixitteam says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:49pm

The background music is really really awesome. Gameplay is well done and you can clearly see the increasing puzzle difficulty. Graphics are not excellent but they fit well in the game. The fact that you added 2 kind of puzzles (placing the mirrors while also having to move through the labyrinths without being seen by the ghosts) is interesting but not very sure is a good design mechanic. I can see 2 very good integrated into one :D. Definitely great entry nonetheless.

hrd_games says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:37pm

Well designed, would have prefered a simpler puzzle without the player character, but I did enjoy the mirror mechanic, and the lighting. Well done.

snesgaard says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:53pm

Pretty good entry with some nice puzzle design that requires you to think. I have to say that I found the static ghost puzzle much more enjoyable than the moving ones. Sound and presentation was also quite fitting.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:54pm

An interesting mixture of mirror puzzles and stealth gameplay. Nice lighting effects. Very well done.

DKoding says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:56pm

Nice graphics. Well known mechanic.

DarkwindMedia says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:57pm

Really solid entry! Love the use of light & mirrors for your weapon, great take on the theme. Puzzles are fun but not terribly difficult. Restarting is snappy and lets you get right back into the action. Well done!

Perjoka says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:59pm

Nice game, interesting riddles. Well done!

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:04pm

I like how the puzzles are multi-layered, needing to figure out both how to move safely and how to place mirrors. Great job!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:04pm

I don't even know where to begin! Everything seems to be done just about perfectly. Good job on this one mate! -Weloxux

Smirnov48 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:09pm

Interesting puzzle. But I can't beat all 16 levels. Sometimes it's really hard.

rmc says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:50pm

Amazing idea!

A really nice puzzle piece, with has been somewhat rare for this LD32!

Just on thing, I don't really think that moving the character should be necessary to rotate the mirrors, I think that it would be better to do that without walking, and just clicking!

really nice entry!

Bashabookoos says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:18pm

Nice music and smooth controls! It would be nice to have a pick up mirror btn, and a rotate mirror other direction btn. I felt on the level with a ton of mirrors that I knew the solution instantly, and I couldn't turn the mirrors as fast as I would have liked, b/c I couldn't choose the direction. I felt that the gemstones and Boo looking ghosts didn't thematically fit together, it seemed like random elements. The being said, I still really enjoyed myself!

gogo199432 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:38pm

Very nice game! I like the mirroring idea like in portal :)

ploy says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:45pm

Best game I've played for now. Graphics and gameplay are especially pleasant

Blobo says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:55pm

Amazing game! that last level though, took me forever to beat it, but "all the ghosts have been wiped out and order has been restored to the land." outstanding game!

colludium says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:08pm

Really good job! Love it!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]