Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

The Follower

by Stending - Jam Entry

The Follower is a story about a traveler, on a journey.
Your role is to accompany the traveler, experiencing all the challenges and dangers along the way. Sometimes it will require unconventional solutions just to make it safely.
-----
The game only takes 6 minutes, please try to get to the end before rating!
-----
The Unconventionnal Weapon is the player. You are the traveler's weapon.
-----
Interact with Mouse

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#35Mood(Jam)4.08
#42Audio(Jam)4.02
#124Graphics(Jam)4.15
#374Overall(Jam)3.38
#742Innovation(Jam)2.69
#760Fun(Jam)2.69
#815Humor(Jam)2.23
#973Theme(Jam)2.37

Comments

Matt Tuttle says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:38am

The web link is a 404 error. This looks very nice and I'd love to try it when the link works.

PaulJs says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:03pm

Graphiquement magnifique, après le thème est pas respecté selon moi ! Les musiques et l'ambiance reste néanmoins très très sympathique.

PixlWalkr says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:46pm

Simple but nice game. Art is good.

Alucard Jay says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:38am

That was beautiful! So nice to play a calm game after the stress of LD :)
The music and art style are stunning, and the story has a really nice pace.
I wonder what the traveler was doing, and where they will be going next? Great atmosphere, well done.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:40pm

I could not see theme in it, also at night may be better to change the legend colors to white, because it was a little hard for me to see what was written, but The art is very nice is fits very well with the game, well done.

dydx says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:37am

Nice atmosphere. Very charming.

lebrokholic says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:24pm

Exciting game with a deep meaning but a little bit overextended

Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:03pm

I'm kind fond of interative fiction and this one was beautiful. At first I didn't understand the connection to the theme but then I realized "I" was supposed to be the traveller's weapon. Graphics, music and narration were all building a relaxed mood. A really lovely experience!

Drauthius says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:03pm

The game is pretty relaxing, doesn't happen much, but the graphics are nice and fitting music to the game as well. :)

Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:26pm

Really enjoyed the music, added an unsettling atmosphere to the game which I liked. Really nice graphics and experience.

SimonLarsen says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 7:36pm

Really, really solid entry.
Loved the art style and music. Came together in a very charming way.

Jerre says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 7:42pm

Hey, nice atmosphere, a bit too linear for my taste. Also there was something of with the click detection on Firefox OSX for me, and the fire became upside down;)

May 1, 2015 @ 11:12pm

Lazarus-omin (from Creative Sectors):
A short, thought-provoking story, with a perfect ambience. I just love stuff like this. It's a shame, they always tend to be so short. This entry is more like an interactive lil' movie, than a game, but of course I'm not complaining. Shows that you can interpret the theme in such many ways.

Loved the art style, the dialogues, and the music. I'd love to help the traveller even more, in more complex situations, but I know, that 72hs are just not enough for everything we have in mind. (at least, in most of the cases)

I've found some anomalies though, that I thought to report:
* At first play, I've switched the game to full screen, and after the rest at night, next day the traveller's sprite disappeared. The game went on.
* If you let the camp-fire to die out, it's sprite will eventually emerge upside-down, growing. (Is that on purpose?)
* Tried the possibility of defeat at the road-piece with the monsters: after dying from a) a scorpion b) a spider, the dialogue "Wow, there are scorpions around here!" emerged twice, at the checkpoint-restart.

Small stuff, thought I mention them anyway.

Congratulations for submitting the game, keep up the good work!

May 2, 2015 @ 4:25pm

Lovely! I really enjoyed the journey

lizard455 says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 6:23pm

Amazing art!

2R says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 11:08am

I like this graphic:) Well done!

alhvi says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 1:50am

The gameplay is a bit simple for my taste but the art is amazing and the music is really good too. Good job :)

Yoon says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 10:43am

There's not so much of a gameplay, but I enjoyed the storytelling, the art style, the walk animation, and the music.

While it does not focus much on the theme, it was an inspiring experience. Good luck with your next projects.

May 8, 2015 @ 10:45am

Well put together, it was simple but very beautiful. I'd like to see more games like this.

jk5000 says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 6:51pm

Music, graphics and story are combined in a great mix. Missing some more interaction.

GBTotoro says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 8:24pm

Sadly, I played with the sound off so I can give no opinion on that, the art style was simple and pleasing to the eye and there were a few grammatical errors which I'm sure could be ironed out.

May 9, 2015 @ 12:54pm

Artwork and mood were great, especially in the night scene with the fire. Would have like to see more of the unconventional part play out on the screen somehow (even though conceptually I like that we are the weapon). Very nice!

pixzleone says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 1:37pm

Very cool art and music! Game play is a bit slow, but it´s a point and click after all. Great effort!

Smirnov48 says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 1:53pm

Very good game. It makes good mood. Great art!

Hjalte500 says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 2:19pm

That was really awesome and immersive which is not something I often see with gamejam games. Really cool. Awesome music.

May 11, 2015 @ 5:19am

Really excellent graphics/audio/atmosphere. But I don't see how the theme is relevant and there isn't much in the way of gameplay.

DrPrettyPatty says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 9:04pm

Very nice all around! It was really immersive and relaxing, and although there wasn't much gameplay it was a fantastic... journey. Thoroughly enjoyable!

May 11, 2015 @ 9:08pm

This was a really nice, simple game. I liked the art style, and the music seemed really fitting. However, I did run into a couple of problems:

1. After the traveler slept, in the morning his sprite disappeared for the rest of the game;
2. I paused for a few seconds at the last, giant mound of rocks. Then, once I cleared them, the game jumped right to the end.

Something I would have liked to see would have been the use of tools of some kind to interact with the environment with, rather than straightforwardly clicking directly on things. Still, overall I enjoyed the game. :)

wademcgillis says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 10:57pm

that was fun
i wish it didn't pause when not in focus

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]