Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

GunHeart

by mcburrobit - Jam Entry

UPDATE: THERE IS NOW A VERY STRIPPED DOWN FLASH VERSION FOR NON-WINDOWS USERS TO TRY, CHECK THE ITCH.IO PAGE OR THE LINK BELOW!



What happens when a strange alien weapon fuses with your body? Not much, it turns out, expect you must balance health and gunplay as every shot drains your hitpoints and the only way to gain them back is to engage enemies in close quarters and dodge their shots.

===

To gain back ammo/health, keep enemies in the beam of your flashlight while they shoot, and dodge the shots.

WASD for movement, left mouse to shoot.
Menu works with WASD/Arrows and ENTER/Return.

The game launches without GLSL shaders by default. There's a shortcut icon provided to launch with shaders, or you can manually provide the command line parameter "-enableshaders".

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#551Audio(Jam)2.63
#660Graphics(Jam)2.98
#753Innovation(Jam)2.67
#788Fun(Jam)2.65
#817Mood(Jam)2.61
#861Humor(Jam)2.07
#885Overall(Jam)2.75
#910Theme(Jam)2.62

Comments

electric_monk says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:33pm

Mac build doesn't seem to run for me. Running .app file doesn't appear to do anything.

mcburrobit says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:13am

Yeah, I unfortunately couldn't test the Linux and Mac nekoVM-versions, and even on Windows the neko binaries have horrible performance compared to the native binaries.

This is mostly a result of trying to stay in the spirit of the keynote and trying something new; a language I've never used before and a framework I've never worked with :D

After I get some sleep I'll try and break out my Mac Mini to see if I could hack together something that works.

joaovitorbf says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:30am

The game lagged a lot for me, but other than that, thats a pretty nice game.

sugarbyte says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:31am

I click the "Linux" link, and wait, but nothing happens.

Sim00n says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:32am

Interesting graphics. I love the HUD indicator in the top left and the rough edged

bossmojoman says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:41am

The download wont start on Itch.io for me (windows Version)

Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:45am

As several people seem to state, the mac build isn't working for me also. But, the graphics in the game look great, and so does the gameplay! I'll be sure to bookmark this page, though, and stay updated to see if there is a change in the build. Anyways, best of luck in the competition!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:46am

Download Link not working?

Supernovadx says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:47am

Yea, the windows link is broken too.

gene-z says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:49am

to lag,,, but interesting

mcburrobit says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:50am

Welp, seems itch.io's dropbox integration was less than perfect. Windows link should be fixed now, removed the mac and linux builds as people have reported neither of them work (which I actually sort of expected, I'll see what I can do about that).

mcburrobit says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:06am

If the game is lagging on your system even without the shaders enabled, I would love to hear about your system specs. We had no time to test this very thoroughly so I have no idea of the performance, other than the fact that the native version seriously outperfomed the nekoVM binary on my desktop.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:09am

Can't really figure out how to kill.

Shimmergloom says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:03am

I liked the idea of the gun merging with you to make blood bullets but was disappointed that after that bit of story it;s basically a generic platform shooter. :(
Also too much text ingame.

RoryD says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:08am

Really fun. There's a great trade off between risk and reward. Control felt a bit floaty to me, but then again it was super useful when I needed to get out of there.

agilejoshua says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:21am

Cool idea - shooting in the flash version on OSX isn't reliable alot of times no shot comes out...

mcburrobit says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:29am

Actually that's probably the fact that the gun is very inaccurate when you have a low amount of kills, If you're on the ground and shoot fairly horizontally, the shot can come off at an angle where it just hits the floor immediately.

If i'd had a bit more time I'd have tweaked the levelup mechanic a bit to avoid scenarios like that or included instructions to always try and shoot from the air when starting out.

Thanks everyone for playing our game!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:42am

Fun game. Took me a little while to figure out the strategy. The first few levels were a little intimidating - maybe try starting out a little easier. But I love the concept, lots of potential.

Big Cow says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:43am

Pretty fun! The audio was awesome. Unique game mechanic.

Dejvo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:44am

it's not very playable cause when you fire, it doesn't go where the line is. and you have too low ammo to figure out how to fire it. also, it's unconventionally placed weapon and not unconventional weapon. but at least, you have OK AI unlike my game

Mixer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:33am

ha, loves the animations and concepts! That run animation was so smooth, and cool game mechanic.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:37pm

Nice entry. Liked the feel of the player movement, felt like I was in control of where I wanted to be. I wasn't the greatest at it though with the use of the flashlight. My highest kills was 7 and that took me sometime to get.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:39pm

Overall a nice solid game, has a pretty cool mechanic with the weapon/bullets. Ran fine on my computer. Over all good stuff!

pixzleone says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:42pm

Nice graphics.

Drauthius says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:36pm

I like how you have to put yourself at risk to get more bullets. Very well done.

Shugor says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:13pm

I like your interpretation of the theme, especially because of how much it lends itself to adding challenge to the gameplay. It would be nice if you could absorb energy to fire back at a faster rate, but that might have just been some lag running the game on my computer. Also, it could have been more interesting if you had expanded more on the bit of story shown in the beginning, maybe making several different stages to explore. You still did a great job with what you have~

cgmorton says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:50pm

This is a fun game, with a weird concept. I really do not understand. You use your health as ammo, okay, but you also gain health when an enemy shoots at you, as long as they're in the light from your flashlight? Did I get that right?

I also found it frustrating that so many of my shots ended up colliding instantly with the ground. I eventually took to only shooting while jumping, but I'd rather have all the options.

Anyway, awesome game!

Flygamer101 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:30pm

Graphics are pretty cool, and everything else was nice.

fixitteam says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:46pm

wow, nice graphics and music :)
can it be played with 3d glasses for 3d effect ?

mcburrobit says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:59pm

Unfortunately no :D The chromatic aberration effect is meant to convey the effect the "alien technology" has on the player character, didn't have time to modify the shader to disable it for the menus and before the gun is picked up, so it's on all the time :D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]