Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

AxeShip

by n8 - Compo Entry

Space. Where aliens and lasers and bombs abound one man needs only his lucky axe and a beefy arm... And that man flies the AxeShip!

Controls :
arrows / wasd to move
i, j, l to swing your axe

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#553Audio2.70
#556Humor2.70
#623Theme3.26
#810Innovation2.71
#864Fun2.65
#877Graphics2.48
#896Mood2.45
#900Overall2.77

Comments

jhell says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:25am

Hi,

Super hard x). Couldn't get past level 1. Nonetheless, neat idea, I like the controls. The sounds were a bit loud by default for me.

guigrillo13 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:14am

hahaha I really like the game but you need some real skills to play it :D

guigrillo13 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:14am

Cool

gene-z says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:15am

A little bit hard,, but good

sugarbyte says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:20am

Nice - I liked the "melee vs ranged" dynamics. It's hard!

cdgugler says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:20am

I like the music and the choice of weapon. The game is crazy hard, but I do like a challenge.

Dan Norder says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:25am

There's an axe in my head! No, wait, that's something else.

Very difficult to survive long enough to figure out what to do. Might want to have no quite so many ships and bullets just starting out. The graphics are solid, and the music works.

QuexD says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:54am

so hard. so wow.

seankimdesign says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:10am

This game is hard! I really like the concept behind the axe wielding spaceship. Maybe having a life counter instead of insta-death may prove to be super fun. Kudos.

terpin says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:52pm

Holy crap this game is hard! Could you maybe dial it down in the next version ^^

sorlok says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:55pm

Interesting and cool idea with the theme. However, your ship moves way too slow and avoiding enemy shots is just too tedious. Seems like it would be a lot more fun with a little tweaking!

Smiley says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:52pm

whew.. that was a difficult one to play :)

btw.. reminds me a bit of my game :)

bentglasstube says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:31am

With every enemy being ranged and you only having a melee attack, the game is impossibly hard. It's an interesting idea but it needs some sort of balance or it is just frustrating. The movement also feels a bit stiff. The music and art was enjoyable.

Dir3kt says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:42pm

Yeah finally managed to kill a foe! Was too hard for me. Maybe hitbox and speed need to be tweaked a bit?

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 1:00am

The music is pretty good! What's sad is that your sound effects are so loud, they overpower the music. :(

One-hit instant deaths are also frustrating, especially when things like the diamonds and planets move faster, or stick out from the background, so the player feels like they are supposed to attack/dodge them.

Bullets sometimes (I think I saw this once?) firing from offscreen, and shooting in random directions, make this incredibly frustrating. Enemies can come from the bottom or the top (unlike typical shoot-em-ups), and seem completely random (instead of a certain type spawning at a certain point in time).

Bullet hell games can work because of deterministic bullet patterns, and a small ship hitbox. Neither exists here. Being able to hold down a button to repeatedly swing the axe would also be nice instead of having to buttonmash. It's hard enough without requiring the mashing.

I say all that not to be mean, but because I'm a bit sad: The music and the graphics are decent and this looks like it could be quite fun, if not for the extreme difficulty and frustrating elements mentioned above.

TeamQuadratic says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 12:56am

Interesting idea. Tough, but fun.

bossmojoman says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 3:32am

Way hard, I think toning down the rate of fire the enemies use would help. Nice job though!

Tatsu Studio says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 3:34am

Is hard! but i liked!!!!!!!

May 6, 2015 @ 3:24am

nice theme interpretation, pretty hard, hehe. Maybe adding the concept of lives to the spaceship could be a good idea. See ya!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]