Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Spinnicus

by NickZangus - Jam Entry

Welcome into the arena! Test your worth killing the ghosts of those who came before you ... Use your harpoon to grab your opponents and throw them over each other, like "An Unconventional Weapon"!

Controls:
WASD: Movement
Press and hold left mouse button over an enemy: grab
Release left mouse button: release

Gamaplay video:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GEF3eCz2r2M

All the contents were created during the 72 hours except for
the followings:

Music by Kevin MacLeod - http://incompetech.com
Font by Dieter Steffmann http://www.steffmann.de
Some sound effects taken from freeSFX - http://www.freesfx.co.uk

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#43Fun(Jam)3.93
#45Overall(Jam)3.99
#98Graphics(Jam)4.22
#118Innovation(Jam)3.77
#159Theme(Jam)3.85
#184Mood(Jam)3.54
#240Audio(Jam)3.37
#292Humor(Jam)3.32

Comments

sararyCow says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:02am

Interesting mechanics. I like the 3D art-style, is not common on this kind of games.

Os_Reboot says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:06am

Fun game, simple mechanic, very well executed. The game looks and sounds incredible. Awesome job! :D

Docjekyll says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:55am

Awesome! Love the art style and the gameplay is strangely addictive.

PohyCZ says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:00am

Wow, i really enjoyed this! The mechanic is great. It is easy to learn, hard to master, which is perfect! Your minimalistic visuals are good looking. And i will be really glad if you continue working on this game!

petitpois says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:38am

I like the Art style and unconventional weapon. use the enemy against itself. great.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:07pm

Awesome mechanics. Fun Game.

jesterswilde says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:11pm

Great game! This is definitely one of the funnest games I've played this ludum dare :)

juaxix says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:17pm

Amazing, hope you can improve it with something like this
http://9gag.com/gag/anKnEN0/in-case-you-were-wondering-why-daryl-is-a-badass

:)

Acrimiens says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:46am

Awesome grafics, i love it!

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:52pm

Really nice game, art is simple but very effective, but I did not understand why I died, it was a hit kill from the enemy ?
Other than that, good job.

hrd_games says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:04pm

Really enjoyed the weapon mechanic!

commodoreKid says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:12pm

Very good and fun to play mechanics :)

Enneract says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:18pm

Awesome game, and really great take on the theme :D I enjoyed playing this game quite a lot. Would be interesting to see enemies with different AIs as it became quite easy to just run in circles, let the enemies clump up, and pick them off. But AI is hard thing to do in the time space of Ludum Dare :P

Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:57pm

Fun mechanic, and really nice looking entry. Well done. :)

Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:23pm

Very simple and fun game. Well done!

uheartbeast says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:07pm

Well done

GTA LUDUM V says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:10am

Great game, great innovation, great art.

Zarkith says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:32am

I love the style of the skeletons, it reminds me a bit of Grim Fandango. :D

NoWandStudios says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:35am

Funny game, I spend more time than should playing it. Well done!

JALgames says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:37am

One of my favorites so far! I really like the look of the game and it seems quite polished. I'd like the camera to be refined a bit, but otherwise, it's really great!

ajopart says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:08pm

GG !

eastes says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:28pm

I'm humbled about how much better your game is over mine. Congratulations. How did you do the crowd and chain sounds?

eemmbbeerr says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:26pm

I loved it! The best part when you catch the recently thrown guy in the air. But sometimes your hook gets stuck and wasd isn't working. Anyway, it's awesome! Let's back to the fight!

Lyje says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:25pm

Really nice! Would be great to see the mechanic expanded to enemies which react differently, perhaps bosses etc.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:53pm

Simple but effective game mechanics. The graphics are nice and it's really fun to play. Congratulations ^^.

thejash says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:48pm

it looks like fun but super hard to play without a mouse.

OrangeeZ says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:13pm

Damn, the game's so juicy! Like, the parts fall down nicely and sounds fit right in. I liked it!

Anshul Goyal says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:20pm

AM IN NOT ENTERTAINED .... HELL YEAH

Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:09pm

This is pretty great. Its very satisfying to play. I found the control really easy to learn.

jukben says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:32pm

Very great mechanics and beautiful art style! Nicely done!

xbcw says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:15pm

Super fun. Epic music and art.

Simon says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:14pm

This is so fun to play!

Apr 27, 2015 @ 4:08pm

Pssst - you are in today's LUDUM DARE TO BELIEVE! - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-b3VBbOJ7zY

Multiplexor says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 5:30pm

Very nice game, I like the mechanic of grabing stuff and throwing it, tough i think it gets a bit frustrating in the end, since you can't kill all of them.

Superwell done graphics

Plustech says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 5:52pm

Really well executed overall. Great art and fun mechanic, I wish the weapon could scale somehow, at 2 or 3 min it became a little "mechanic" and was not as fun as the first min. Please keep working on this game!
Anyhow, what a great entry!. awesome job, mad respect

Cheers

Saker Games says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 7:08am

Woohoo, this is so funky! Spinning enemies are so cool.
Nice graphics, good music and challenging gameplay. Very good game. Congrats!

Clavus says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 11:36am

Great little game. Solid weapon mechanic, though a bit hard to aim with it. Nice work on the assets.

Omiya Games says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 1:34am

Very nice presentation, with solid graphics and use of sound. I personally had a hard time predicting where a released enemy would fly, making it a bit hard to appreciate the simplicity of the game. Additionally, the lack of variety and objectives leaves the experience a bit dry. I think a line indicating the enemy's trajectory could have been useful.

Pat AfterMoon says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 11:09pm

Nice and fun, would like to see the next version with more enemies types, and bosses.

ChuiGum says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 3:46am

Awesome innovation, very very original I like that. Great graphics too. Overall I loved it, I had a really good time. Well done!

Crowbeak says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 7:21am

1) If most of your sound is from non-you sources, you should opt out of audio voting.

2) This is a neat concept, but it was too easy to kite the enemies around the arena.

NickZangus says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 8:31am

Hi Crowbeak, thanks for the comments. For the audio, I was undecided whether to opt out or not. In the end I decided to keep this category since I spent much time on this aspect, and in the creation of most of the sound effects used. I clearly stated in the description and in the opening game screen, that the music was not made by me.

freeholdgames says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 4:38pm

Awesome entry! Great job!

Dorgam says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 4:52pm

Loved it! what a beautiful game!

paulbalauru says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 5:01pm

Looks great and sounds great!

chromebookbob says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 6:04pm

Fun gameplay mechanic!

acro says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 6:26pm

What a cool little game. Very nice visual look about it.

Deity says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 6:51pm

Well done. Graphics look great and the grappling mechanic works well. It's a bit hard to aim since the spin seems to be a bit too fast but otherwise a fun game.

Demy says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 6:57pm

Cool and brutal idea! Nice game.

recursor says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 7:50pm

Great graphics, lovely sound effects and nice animations. The game play is pretty fun too. Nice polish on this one. More enemy types, boss fights, and weapon powerups would round it out quite nicely.

Hjalte500 says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 7:54pm

I loved the mechanic and feel of the game. It was especially awesome when killing a bunch of enemies at once. Good job

MrShoestore says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 9:05pm

pretty great game, well put together. wish i was better at knowing when to let go to hit the big crowd

Xanjos says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 11:20pm

"Get Over Here!!" Oh wait wrong game.

Simple mechanic but I like how well it's implemented in this game plus I love how you've managed to capture the Roman Colosseum aesthetic.

SledKnight says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 1:41am

Very well executed! One of the better games I've played!

tmpxyz says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 5:40am

Well polished work!

Gunzil says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 6:01am

Nice swinging mechanic, the multiple states where you have to grab -> swing -> throw gives it a nice workflow for executing attacks. Throws are difficult to aim since it's based on the enemy's velocity when you let go and the swing radius is pretty small.

I like how you can play it safe and just hit a skeleton with your currently held enemy directly, but it only kills just the one, while a successful throw can kill all the skeletons in a line.

Really good grpahics, I like how everything is a well textured box guy. The skeleton gibs are especially appealing.

May 11, 2015 @ 4:30am

Solid mechanic. Would like to have more control over which way the ghosts flew away when you release them. As it is I only really had success when I got close to other ghosts and let them crash into each other. Cool idea & nicely done.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]