Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Doctor Dropper

by internetpaulicy - Compo Entry

Surprise! Pianos are my Unconventional Weapon.

You are a scientist and you cause pianos to drop when you click around. Can you make it to the top of the level and defeat comprehensible evils? Will you play long enough to find all of the hidden secrets?

Will you break the rocks and climb the ladders? Will you choose to drop pianos?


WASD to move, Mouse to aim and left mouse click to start dropping.

UPDATE:

The first rock pile has been nerfed to take 5 hits(down from 10) and all fire dragons now go slightly slower so its easier to run away.

Good luck out there!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness86%
#9Theme4.41
#24Graphics4.41
#26Humor4.08
#101Overall3.80
#114Fun3.73
#160Innovation3.73
#226Mood3.36
#365Audio3.05

Comments

sydan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:28am

Hilariously stupid and funny at first. Does slow down a bit as the enemy (dragons?) are quite hard to kill without spamming millions of pianos!! Which is awesome, however the audio layers on top of itself a lot which becomes jarring. Needs more playing to see how far I can get though, definitely has that 'see how far you can get' feel.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:33am

Thanks! I sampled the piano from Weezers "The sweater song".

Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:37am

This is fantastic. I can say without a shadow of a doubt that this is the best falling piano weapon I've ever used in a game.

pythong says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:19am

hahaha great use of the theme. having a piano was VERY unexpected.

PachowStudios says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:24am

I can't move past the ladder! I just get stuck at the top.

Still giving a good rating though because it looks awesome. I love the game over text.

herniewise says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:26am

Hahaha, I liked this one a lot!

ErikU says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:29am

Really nice art style you've got there. At first I thought the strategy was to spam pianos, but then I realized they were destroying each other, so a nice, metered piano pace was in order. Well done.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:30am

Nice graphic! Very decent for LD time limits.

Garris says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:19pm

Loved this game! Use of the theme with pianos as the weapon was really clever, and the character design was really nice! This was a fun game!

Sigrath says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:20pm

Haha, couldn't stop spamming pianos, hilarious concept!

Reminds me a lot of the old cartoons, only now I'm the one dropping pianos. A dream I never knew I had, come true.

PyroSneak says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:21pm

I had a lot of fun, graphics were nice, audio was nice, gameplay was fun. good job!

MaesK says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:28pm

Awesome game, I lost it when I saw the game over letters falling as well :D I would have liked to continue, but I did not know how to past the second ladder :( Those rocks resist a lot.

Great graphics and piano falling mechanics. Keep it up!

Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:37pm

The rocks take 10 hits. There are some other enemies to face that are cool. Thanks for playing :)

ChrisGaudino says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:30pm

Hilarious, lovely art and good sound.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:31am

Really fun!

Red_Fan games says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:31am

linux build doesnt work

Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:33am

Thanks Red_Fan games, I will take a look at that.

cowboycolor says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:04am

Oh my yes. Love the walk animation, the game over dropping, the voxels, the PIANOS
The movement noise is a little abrasive, but other than that wow I loved it <333

bossmojoman says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:06am

I love the doctor! Great job man! the dragons are a little hard to kill though

mandolin says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:08am

Very cool use of voxels. Would love for you to expand upon it

fixedgerald says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:09am

Great Idea and very innovative. I love the way the pianos fall and smash into the ground. However the first enemies take way too many hits to die, especially considering they are being crushed with pianos. The sound really grinds on my ears quickly too. The walking sound is too squeaky and the piano falling sound, while very humorous, gets old quick.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:17am

But I really like the grating discordantness of the piano sounds. I guess I can tone it down.

DKoding says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:59pm

Like the physics and the graphical style

Matsuki says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:08pm

Although the enemies are a bit tough to kill, the game was a lot of fun, good job!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:07pm

Fun! proper mayhem :)

BabaJaga says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:18pm

Looks awesome, please nerf the rocks ;-)

Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:40pm

I think I will just remove the rocks #DustinBrowderTearTheseRocksDown

leo_p_mahon says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:53pm

This was really fun :) I love the way the pianos fall apart and I really like your art style. It takes a bit to get used to a good piano dropping rate but I like that design feature because it means spamming pianos doesn't really work.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:45pm

Thanks leo_p_mahon. Its such a wierd thing. I thought about adding a cool down to prevent this issue but I wanted to be as responsive as possible. I didn't want to get into unity layers so I just did the easiest thing which was to let players sort it out.

iSamurai says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:12am

Nice game! The dropping mechanics is great, especially it works with the audio. Dropping time brings the the prediction of the enemy's movement which adds to the strategy. Nice!

rjhelms says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:41am

Really like the concept, and the pianos falling apart is hilarious.

Aiming them was a little tricky, but I guess that makes sense - pianos aren't known as precision weapons.

yuigoto says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:30am

I laughed so hard playing this...this is fun! :D

The voxel graphics, the pianos breaking, the sounds, that game over screen...they fit too well, it's so good and adorable! :)

cgmorton says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:03pm

I wish the drop indicator was more accurate. The most progression I made (up some 5 ladders) came to an end when I tried to kill the dragon at the top and all the pianos fell short and hit me instead.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:30am

this was a fabulous game - great idea for the theme - awesome!

dylanwolf says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:26pm

Good use of the theme and great graphics. The exploration/strategy required provides a challenge--I think my only problem was it felt tough to get pianos to connect with enemies.

rburema says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 11:05am

thoughts:
- Nice graphics! As an aside: does Unity have this shader pre-installed, or did you cook up something yourself? (Asking for .. errr, a friend...)
- Dropping piano's is far more satisfying than it has any right to be... I blame the awesome sound effect. *BLOING*
- I understand that it wouldn't have been all that challenging if the protagonist was faster, but it now feels as if the good Dr. might benefit from a daily fitness regime :-p
- Nitpick: It seems there is no way to exit the game (Win-build) from within the game itself.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 12:46am

I want to play this, but right now the web version is giving a download error. :( I'll check back later and try to play and rate if the dropbox content comes back up.

Apr 27, 2015 @ 2:08am

It looks like I might have exceeded my dropbox account limits :S

Apr 27, 2015 @ 2:20am

I think this is a daily limit. I'll check this in the am.

Apr 27, 2015 @ 3:39am

Ok that was silly its now fixed

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 4:29pm

I played it once the dropbox thing was fixed.

It's a hilarious and clever idea, and the graphics are really cute. Unfortunately it has some major problems that kind of ruin the experience:

1. The walking speed is super slow.

2. The walking sound effect is super annoying, and cannot be muted.

3. One of the greatest gaming evils of all, infinitely respawning enemies. :( I even had a dragon respawn almost instantly, which is very frustrating when it takes even 5 piano hits to kill a dragon, and presumably several misses along the way, and the player only has 4 health.

4. It may be possible to randomly get damaged while sitting on a ladder if there's debris nearby. Possibly also by falling debris.

5. The game revolves around climbing up, but there is no way to zoom or change the camera position to see what's above you.

6. The previous two issues combine to be bad because dragons above you will block a ladder, so you're almost forced to rain debris on yourself due to the piano falling apart after it lands, and you can't see much further up to aim higher.

7. Pianos spammed gets really noisy. This is a tough gaming problem in general though, so it's not reasonable to expect this solved in 48 hours. :P Some things you could consider would be limiting the max volume, the max number of sound effects, scaling the volume up to some max as more get dropped, etc.


Even if nothing else changed, if movement speed were doubled (without the squeaks), and enemies didn't respawn, I think this could be a hilarious and fun game.

Apr 30, 2015 @ 2:32pm

Thanks GAFBlizzard!

My goal was to make a complete level and play with ideas to keep people in a fight so that they couldn't just walk through the level.

1) I wanted the walking speed to be slow so you had to use the pianos to slow down your enemies by using them as obstacles. I had planned for a power up to give you a temp speed boost that enemies could drop etc but ran out of time.

2) It is annoying. I would add a toggle but the point is that its sort of ridiculous and I didn't expect people to play longer than 5 10 minutes. There are a lot of other games so I tend to not make something that people could play much longer than that. I just like fronting a silly concept thats playable

3)They actually are finite respawns designed to put pressure on you while you break the rocks. I think each spawner spawns 3 total.

4)Pianos can hurt you. I left that in and yeah its hard to not get hit by your own pianos sometimes.

5)I took some time to make a simple camera zoom while you are on ladders. But yeah I could give the character a peek kind of like you see in some mario games like super mario 3d on the 3ds.

6)Yeah I knew about that. Its a super silly game. I would of course change all of this if I planned to take it beyond the compo.

7)I created and added the sound 30 minutes before the end of the compo. I didn't have time to tweak these things. I was just happy that I got the sound in at all :) Yeh its pretty annoying.

Thanks for the care and attention you gave to my cart. I'll be by to play yours soon, prolly this weekend :D

GAFBlizzard says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 6:29am

Thanks for the kind responses to my comments! I know how last-minute sound goes -- I was quite unhappy with my entry and didn't have any sound and music at all, so it certainly wasn't as good as yours! I just wanted to provide detailed feedback. Good luck if you continue your game more!

May 5, 2015 @ 3:59pm

Pssst! You are featured in todays Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out! - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PJctTJ2Ext4

MrShoestore says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 9:22pm

ok, so i like the look, and I think its a funny idea, but the audio is harsh. the volume on the pacman walk sfx is too high, and with only one audio clip when the pianos crash, it quickly becomes annoying to keep dropping them. I do like the style, and the effect of the piano destroying is great, but another pass on the audio would be wonders. And I do find that it takes quite a bit of time to kill an enemy.

May 8, 2015 @ 1:47pm

Whoa! thanks ButtonMasherBros! Thanks for playing my game.

lanza says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 6:36pm

heh, both of us had the same idea for an unconventional weapon. It's fun to see how the same idea has been carried out in different ways. Anyways, very nice game and graphics. Good job!

crazya02 says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 1:08pm

Love how silly this game is! The game over screen was especially funny.

TeamCalcium says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 3:03pm

Really fun game. I liked the unconventional weapon and the visuals. What turned me off a little bit was the slow pace and the pretty annoying and loud walking sound.

elliottd says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 6:20pm

I felt the only thing this was lacking was a consistency in the targeting. it was easy to drop a piano on yourself when you were climbing up a ladder. I think the ray should recognize that it was over an enemy but still penetrate to the floor behind it

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]