Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Mosquito attack

by Filoox - Compo Entry

You have to kill a mosquito with a homemade flamethrower.
But don't put your bedroom on fire !

Click to light the lighter.
Spacebar to spray deodorant.
HUD indicate right place to shoot.
Limited resources.

I developed this game with :
- Flash CS6 / AS3,
- Photoshop,
- a mic,
- Audacity,
- paper and markers,
- my real indoor hunter experience,
- soda, cofée and cookies.

Enjoy.

Filoox
French webdesigner

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#24Humor4.11
#79Audio3.75
#116Theme3.95
#131Graphics3.92
#133Mood3.58
#228Innovation3.61
#231Overall3.55
#261Fun3.42

Comments

klbrazil says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:07am

it's good but it ends so fast :/ i suggest adding more mosquitos so it will be more fun to play XD

GTA LUDUM V says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:49am

bbbzzzzzz... bbzzzzz

hilarious

feizenbara says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:24am

Best sound effects ever :-)

fullmontis says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:50am

I like the idea. I found it a little too hard to see the mosquito since it has very little contrast with the background. I don't know if this was intentional or not. Also the fact that the lighter doesn't light up immediately is quite frustrating because I can't really control when to shoot.

But in the end I liked it :) It was fun and the graphics are well done!

Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:29am

Haha, funny man. Got em though.

Filoox says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:22pm

Thanks!
I like the idea of give you a funny moment. And yes, it's hard to find mosquitoes in my room, on the night. I say that about my personal hunter experience.

I have spent more time for make a complete ambiance than develop other paths for mosquitos. So I hope the experience will be short but excellent!

lorenzo456 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:49am

Hahaha, I love this game. It's fun, it's innovative and the sounds are really good XD, haha

Bitterdeath says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:52am

The expression on dudes face is perfect.

strong99 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:52am

This is fun! But I don't think I'll use this for hunting them in my room. Simple and yet stylish game.

Dialglex says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:54am

One night I was super tired and went to bed at about 9:00pm. Then this mosquito came in and bugged me until midnight. Woke up the next morning with about 100 bites on me.

flwns says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:54am

Very cool, sounds, art, weapon, its good.

Suvidriel says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:55am

Hehe lots of fun :D

tmpxyz says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:03am

The graphics is great, more mosquito would be more fun;

ker0chan says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:11am

Super marrant :P Les sons et les graphismes sont très bon pour un jam, et ça fait le taf. Evidemment ça manque un peu de profondeur de gameplay, mais l'idée est géniale. Beau boulot :) !

wg_phancock says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:19am

I agree more mosquitoes would be fun, to see how many you can get with your limited supplies.

The dog barking and atmosphere noises were great!

flummox3d says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:29am

I'd question why the dude uses the makeshift flamethrower immediately, instead of a simple swatter, but maybe that mosquito is really, REALLY annoying. :D Great work :)

Filoox says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:50am

This is a military argument:
- More weapon is heavy, there is less need for precision.

No trace of blood on the walls.
Procedure time: 1 second.
No muscle tear in the shoulder...

:D

Awpteamoose says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:19am

I like how the wife keeps sleeping while on fire.

ajopart says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:35am

Got it ! Nice entry, sweet design and sound. Sad it's so short. Well done !

CptDustmite says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:44am

Found it quite hard but enjoyed the "handmade" feel of the graphics and audio :) Fun too.

Kaijuu says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:22am

Haha! Wonderful game

Larzan says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:28am

Haha, love the idea, beautiful gfx.
Never won once though :(
Good job!

shatley123 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:47pm

Freaking amazing game! Love the art style. This makes me feel like i'm Walter White going crazy over a fly :)

Karai17 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:22am

Amusing concept but the game is extremely short.

HapaxStudios says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:54am

lol so good.. I hate mosquitoes so I'm biased. haha

Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:46am

I love the artistic style of this game. Nice entry. I did have a problem with the mouse leaving the embed area that was quite frustrating, and when I clicked the web link I couldn't see the bottom part of the game in my browser, but I got the damn mosquito in the end :)

puppetmaster says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:59am

Let the mosquito family enter the room to avenge the death!! :-)
Well done!!

PushmePullyu says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:07am

I just burst out laughing when I set everything on fire accidentally. Good game!

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:43am

Very fun little game. Really enjoyed playing it. Good job!

joppiesaus says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:12am

The audio, the mood, the graphics, the situation... Hilarious. It also has an intro.
Not too hard, not too easy. Polished.
I wish the path of the mosquito was random, now it's very predictible which makes the game less fun.
Amazing work!

Dietrich Epp says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:47am

Sweet entry! It's a bit tough, but that's okay, since it's funny. Sometimes the cursor would lose focus.

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:06pm

Hilarious! :D

Nice simple style, funny fail conditions, ambient sounds are awesome! Where's the video of you making those fly sounds? ;)

Good effort!

Filoox says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:38pm

Thank you very much for all your comments.

I would put GoPro around me for the LD33 weekend. XD

I spent:
50% of the time to draw.
20% of the time to record my voice and make audio editing.
10% to the integration of media.
10% to the animation.
10% to programming.

I regret not having had time to prepare other levels to extend the experience
,-.
`._ / | ,
`--._ , ' _,-'
_ __ `.| / ,--'
`-._,-' `-. \ : /
,--.-.-`'.'.-.,_-
_ `--'-'-;.'.'-'`--
_,-' `-.__,-' / : \
_,'| \ `--._
Filoox _,--' ' . `-.
,' \ | `

Filoox says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:40pm

...ascii art failed...

C.Lodwick says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:55pm

I love the tininess of your enemy. It feels great hunting for that little guy. The style seems very polished and complete. Also that noise is horrible which is great.

Anshul Goyal says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:17pm

hahaha. dat face and dat dog barking in the background is hilarious.

hypp says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:08pm

Nice one! I found it a bit hard, kept setting fire to the room :-)

drludos says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:33pm

Funny idea, it's fun to play and made me laugh (I like how your wife is still sleeping although she's on fire when you lose ;)). Too bad the game is so short, you should do a post compo version with more levels! And I definitively like your art style.

Bravo ! :)

Mase says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:28pm

Nice intro movie.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:49pm

Hilarious. I think that this weapon isn't really unconventional because I am using it often at home :)
A good entry ++

kirbytails7 says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 7:11am

One mosquito. It's always just one dang mosquito. Thanks for not making your mosquito nearly as enraging as a real one.
Quite fun, though. I did notice eventually that the mosquito movement is on a loop.
Also, it would help if the cursor were locked to the game window in some way.

spin-down says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 2:53pm

Loved your art work for this. The look on the guys face was priceless and the audio fitted the mood of the game perfectly.

renatopp says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 8:44pm

The humor is pretty good, so it is the look'n'feel, but the gameplay is almost nonexistent. Anyway, it was a good entry, congratulations.

jk5000 says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 11:29am

The goddamn mosquitoes!!! Simple and fun.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]