Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Vikea

by AtomicVikings - Jam Entry

It's Black Friday and your viking wife wants to go to IKEA... I'm sorry, VIKEA.
The problem is, you're not alone.

More vikings are storming to VIKEA to do their purchases. You'll have to fight for the items your wife wants you to buy.

To win the game, fetch all the items on the list in the lower right corner and deliver them to your longboat - Remember you can only carry one item at a time.

This game is done with Java from scratch.

!!!!!!!!!! IMPORTANT !!!!!!!!!!!!!
You have to install Java 1.8

!! If you having problems with playing the web version please download the "desktop" - client. Thx !!

Controls:

- Press 'E' to throw your current item.
- Left-Mouse-Button to swing it at them.
- WASD or arrows for movement
- ESC is moving you to the menu

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#50Audio(Jam)3.96
#169Humor(Jam)3.56
#414Mood(Jam)3.21
#650Fun(Jam)2.85
#667Graphics(Jam)2.96
#695Theme(Jam)3.11
#798Innovation(Jam)2.58
#957Overall(Jam)2.63

Comments

muromets says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:48am

I loved the music, nice idea also!

Super Hamster says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:05am

Saw you guys rated my game and I was like oh yeah the Atomic Vikings, I should play their game. However for some reason when I played the whole map was black but I could see the shopping list and health bar. However I did hear the music which was very good. Let me know if you find the issue.

P.S. I'm on a windows 7 laptop thats slightly old

Mark T says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:18am

LOL! I love this idea, there was blood everywhere, and the wifey is just sitting outside waiting for me to get all the stuff! Hilarious. A little buggy from time to time, the keys seem to lock up. I think it would be easier if u had a little picture of the item ur looking for on the shopping list. But overall a lot of fun, Nicely done.

Suese says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:30am

The music is awesome! I couldn't get it to run very smoothly. It was choppy even on a fresh browser.

AtomicVikings says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:32am

If you have problems with the webversion please download the "desktop" - version. :-) @Super Hamster : We will looking into it

magtraxx says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:06am

Love the idea.. love the music. Great game. Thanks vikings. Go on !!

puppetmaster says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:00am

Rage the VIKEA!! Yeah! Awesome music!

celisoft says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:09pm

Very good music. Vikea is a dangerous store ;-)

efux says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:27pm

Great job and addicting soundtrack =D

BabaJaga says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:13pm

It's great idea, but i really didn't like art style you went with. Some items were very hard to recognise and the walls looked very much like floor. But the music is very nice and fighting other vikings in shoping center is fun :)

Ogniok says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:30pm

Nice idea and amazing music :D

Conk says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:51pm

Very good overall, lots of the items I needed sometimes seem to spawn outside the room, which was annoying, but other than that, awesome game!

ARubino says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:32pm

Nice idea and awesome music, liked the concept and had fun playing it.

Super Hamster says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:42am

Hm.. this is even stranger. I tried the windows version but after I choose to run it with java nothing happens. The screen never shows up. :/ This is really weird because I my game was .jar too and it works for me.

AtomicVikings says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:44am

@SuperHamer: We have used Java 1.8. Maybe this is the issue?

Super Hamster says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:04pm

Yup I'm on 1.7 :D Maybe I'll update it later

barkergames says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:44am

Music was awesome, I did have a hard time playing because something seemed to "take control" of my character, which was very frustrating.

Drauthius says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:16pm

Hehe. I really like the story and idea!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]