Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Loli Mechaslayer

by theholychicken - Compo Entry

WASD
+
MOUSE click to dash-attack/quick move


This was supposed to be the final boss but collision bugged out with all the minion enemies so this is it now enjoy! :D


I followed this tutorial to draw the planet:
http://mygimptutorial.com/the-ultimate-gimp-planet-tutorial
I also used the pixel-perfect Unity Camera script from:
https://gist.github.com/pixelrevision/2981863
As a sort of plugin to get rid of blurry pixels when doing 2D in Unity.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#197Graphics3.71
#939Mood2.35
#995Innovation2.33
#1065Fun2.14
#1090Overall2.38
#1113Theme1.71
#1856Coolness35%

Comments

handkor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:05am

Too bad about the minions. The snap/dash attack when clicking works well. Gets you bouncing all over the place while slashing the enemy.

Lynx says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:00am

Very interesting battle mechanic. I like the concept. Very satisfying finally killing that boss worthy of it's own Final Fantasy final level. Not sure I would cause this an unconventional weapon, more of an unconventional game mechanic. Good job though, hopefully you figure out those minion bugs.

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:03am

Oh damn mechas made cool.
Great job I must say.

Figglewatts says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:22pm

I think the boss had too much health, but I really liked the way the player attacked.

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:17pm

Beautiful graphics! Nothing happened when my shields went negative, but that allowed me to actually beat the boss :) Loved the art and the destruction particle effect! I hope you figure out the bugs and add some sound too, this could be a sweet game

Jagang says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:17pm

the fighting is fun :)
some sounds would have increased the impact of the attacks drastically

Volvary says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:17pm

Can't really dodge his attacks and boss has too much health but still pretty good. Not quite sure about the theme, though.

Jagang says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:19pm

Edit to previous: I also got negative Shield :P

Jungle says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:23pm

I didn't really enjoy the controls, I think it's hard do really take the Loli where you want. =/

nonetheless says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:18pm

that's a lot of hp :)

TyrusPeace says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 7:14am

Great graphics, but the extremely high enemy health made it hard for me to get anywhere before I was at a fairly large negative health myself...

Park says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 12:40am

Yeah, quite good graphics! ヽ(^。^) It's unfortunate that the boss has no dynamic attack patterns or movement behaviors, and the HP is just.. too high, or maybe the player's damage is too low. Even with some dynamic boss AI, I don't think I would stick around to try and beat him if it turned into a grind. Hope you can figure out the collision the bugs!

May 1, 2015 @ 6:49am

The thing I loved the most was the graphics, really nice art. Besides, mechas and lolis are awesome! Too bad you couldn't finish the rest in time!
Oh, my HP reached zero and I didn't die :P

shadow64 says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 8:12am

Thanks for rating my game and leaving feedback! This game seems EPIC! I agree with others that the boss had too much health. I also think that the controls, while original, were a little difficult for me to grasp and I wound up kinda just buzzing around most of the time.

The graphics are great and the idea is cool, but I think the gameplay could just use a little more polish (obviously something you can do post-compo). :)

Thanks again and take care!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]