Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Samarkhanda, the Dancing Sword

by Mak - Jam Entry

In the land of swords, every little kid wish to become a great warrior, to slaughter thousands of foes to bring honor to its name.

But Samarkhanda is different. It is disgusted by violence and doesn't like to kill people. It wants to be no warrior... It wants to be a dancer!

Armed only with its dreams and its special "Spinning Step", the dance move it itself invented, it marched to the biggest of discos, where the greatest of dancers compete to see who is the most stylish.

But there's a problem... the other dancers are soft creatures of flesh and blood, if it pierces them with its powerfull edge, they'll sure will die, so it will have to dodge them while trying to be best.

Will Samarkhanda be able to realize its dream? Or is it the destiny of all swords to become mass murderers?

How to play:

-While you spin, your style will increase.
-Pick the red 'S's you'll find across the scenario in order to get extra style.
-If you hit a dancer with your edge, you will kill them.

Controls:

-Move: A, S, W, D
-Spin: Left and Right arrows

-Restart : R
-Exit : Escape

Download the music: https://www.dropbox.com/s/lcs6cok2y0jspp0/Dancing%20away%20%28Samarkhanda%29-%20Rebor.mp3?dl=0

Credits:

-The music: Made by Jesus Martinez Rebordinos (@jesusrebor on twitter, jesusrebor@gmail.com)

-Sound effect of cutting people: Made by me with Bfxr

-The rest: Made by me, Cristobal Herrero Iglesias (@MakG2nd on twitter, tomomajico@gmail.com)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#324Audio(Jam)3.19
#350Humor(Jam)3.20
#451Innovation(Jam)3.19
#528Fun(Jam)3.04
#549Mood(Jam)3.00
#636Theme(Jam)3.19
#675Overall(Jam)3.04
#925Graphics(Jam)2.15
#1383Coolness47%

Comments

nassi says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:18pm

Came because of the name, stayed for the setting :P.

Interesting idea and the music was cool too. The rounds were somewhat too long and it didn't feel like there was much point to it at the moment. Maybe it would've been better if it had progressively harder levels, for instance on level 1 you would need to get some amount of points without killing over a certain amount of other dancers and the limits would get stricter which each passing level. Maybe the other dancers could also move more slowly at first and there could be less of them.

Huo-cuo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:49pm

I liked the song, is it available for download? Playing it was fun and quite some challenging, I just missed more songs.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:39pm

I really love the core gameplay here. Would be nice if it was broken into a series of shorter levels with increasing difficulty, since playing for two minutes straight was a little exhausting since there was so much to keep track of. Including little challenges of "acquire X score without killing Y people" would also be really cool. A final neat touch could be increasing the speed at which you spin the longer you spin in one direction, resulting in more style points (but being significantly harder to control + more dangerous to other dancers)

Cool game!

elpaulo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:12pm

Wow.
Wow.
Wow !
My favorite so far. Quite easy but... i don't know, the mix of the great music, switching color tiles and the sword movements... that was crazy fun.
Also, maybe i'm a little psycho, but i like to think the sword is actually a chainsaw :-)

lois6b says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:19am

i like it so much! you dare yourseflt in order to obtain more and more points and at first being respectful with the other dancers.. but then you become a real killer muahahaha
the music is awesome and makes you stay alert. congrats :D

F. Wiktora says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:48pm

It is as simple as it is great :D not visually, but in terms of fun!

Newt_ says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:49pm

Unique gameplay, catchy soundtrack! The only thing I can think to improve would be the graphics. Great work!

jprogman says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:09am

I really like how you can rotate the sword around so the enemies can be killed by the blade. You should stick with that idea on your future projects with different level designs, enemies, and so forth.

Kasmilus says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:06pm

OMFG, THAT'S PERFECT :D Love that game, description is even better ^^ Just that colors make it hard to look at it but fun is incredible!

tughan says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 10:21am

Loved it. Also very cool background plot hah :D

Jajo says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 11:42am

100 seconds of dancing and stabbing = fun. Graphics weren't that brilliant, could have made some sort of sword. Loved the audio.

rburema says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 12:26pm

thoughts:
- I'd anticipated more games that flipped the theme on it's head like this (not just 'do something unexpected' with the theme... that would be about half of them, luckily), but out of all ratings I gave so far, you've been only about the second one to make the 'weapon' property into something antagonistic to the player :-)
- Had some sad music (of my own) playing in the background, and originally thought it was part of the game... was just a bit disappointed when I figured out that only the club-beat was supposed to be in. It created this great dissonant, melancholy/tense mood that fit well with the way you've interpreted the theme.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]