Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Drunken Bard

by technocf - Compo Entry

You play the game as a drunken bard who's music has became so bad that everyone is after you and are trying to kill you. You retaliate by peeing all over them.

The jar in the hand at the top left hand corner of the screen shows how much pee you have left in your bladder. You can re-fill your bladder by picking up beer bottles once they have landed on the ground. Beer bottles that are in mid flight will cause you harm. Tomatoes on the other hand heal you when you pick them up.

Controls:
WASD - Move
Point and Click - Pee (You must be facing the direction you want to pee)

NOTE:
Windows users may experience flashiness and I'm not sure where that comes from, anyone who looks at the source and notices what it may by then please tell me.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2341Coolness14%

Comments

iMer says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:03am

Fun and silly game, though you can cheat a little and just circle the enemies ;)

Permamiss says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:59am

That boss is tough! Rest of it seems pretty easy though. I barely survived with 4 health against that boss..
Anyway, in my opinion the random peeing is pretty annoying. Maybe instead to make it harder, you make it taper off as you run out of.."juice". That'd be more incentive for grabbing bottles, to keep your stream as powerful and consistent as possible. This is neat, but I don't feel like I have much control over my urinating, which feels lame.
6/10 from me, but I have hope for it!

iMer says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:57am

@Permamiss: The tip I got was "You can't pee behind yourself", which worked pretty well for me :)

Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:34pm

A little too repetitive for my taste, but all in all quite fun. Well done, Techno.

WebFreak001 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:36pm

Really fun game. The graphics are also really nice and I had lots of fun :D

goerp says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 10:36am

Very funny take on the theme.
I like that you have face towards your enemies to kill them

Too bad there was no sound. A fast music with some funny sound effects would really enhance gameplay. Maybe for a post compo version?

It was still fun to play, though!

robodylan says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 1:31pm

Great game and very creative take on the theme

jfraser says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 1:55am

Fun game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]