Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Rare Drop

by Artylo - Compo Entry

=====================================================
!Disclaimer - The WEB version of the game is simply there for people with Mac OSX or Linux systems. Many of the core features are intact, but bugs are not and will not be fixed. Your experience of the game may not be accurate. For this reason the WINDOWS version is STRONGLY RECOMMENDED. Thanks for your understanding.

Known WEB bugs:
+ No Audio and Music
+ Lag
+ Wrong UI and text configurations
=====================================================
[Post-compo] Thanks for your comments everyone!
Just wanted to say something about my take on the theme.
Unconventional has synonyms! Some of which are "rare" and "uncommon". I decided that that fit into a loot drop system.
Yes, I admit swords are a pretty mainstream weapon, but swords that summon cats, swing three times or heal you mace them distinctive and atypical.
=====================================================
You are a hero in the world of Pifft, according to the game's wiki. You are a boy, who has spent too much time levelling and grinding in his favourite action-RPG. In fact you are the #2 player on the leaderboard (after that blasted pro-league player, who is a/an 1337#@x0r). For this feat of strength the developers of the game have tweaked the mobs to only drop legendary items!
Use these items to grind through the waves of monsters, lasting 30 levels, with ever increasing difficulty. But you will not be alone! Using the power of the swords you will have different abilities, stat boosts, special moves, companions (pets) and many more! Will you find the best sword and conquer level 30?
=====================================================
The first 5 people to send me a screenshot of reaching the end get a special gift from me <3.
Send them at : matglishev[at]gmail[dot]com
Good luck!
=====================================================
Controls (features in game tutorial screen):
LMB - Swipe
RMB - Use special ability (if present)
MMB - Swap sword
R - Restart
F - toggle fullscreen
=====================================================
Known Bugs:
+ Fullscreen may change UI (toggling it on and off once normally fixes this problem)
+ Text may render incorrectly
+ The game features automatic resolution detection, I have tested on other computers and it seems fine, but it is prone to bugs due to lack of testing
+ Monsters may stop spawning at some point, rendering the game unplayable. Probably due to me using a random amount of time for the next wave spawn, which can take up to 3-5 minutes.
=====================================================
Plans for improvement:
+ More swords
+ More Abilities
+ More status effects
+ More enemies
+ More tilesets?
+ more...More...MORE!!!
=====================================================
Hope you enjoy the game! It was developed partially on stream, so thanks to anyone who watched! Also thanks to the people on IRC for their tips. And a special thanks to Anna and Aya for stuff!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#335Graphics3.42
#348Audio3.08
#373Mood3.14
#462Overall3.27
#523Fun3.09
#645Humor2.55
#893Innovation2.58
#1014Theme2.52

Comments

Apr 19, 2015 @ 10:51pm

This is a really great game, Good job.

Insignia says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:33am

Sorry, this game couldn't run for me:
Uncaught TypeError: g_WebAudioContext.createGainNode is not a function

bradur says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:21am

[+] Great idea!
[+] Lovely graphics
[+] Moody atmosphere
[+] Good sound effects and nice music
[+] Combat works well, but is a little slow (self-knockback)
[+] The different weapons are interesting

[-] After a while, the weapon drops get stale
[-] Balance issues:
* I only used the dmg modifier swords since it was the fastest way to kill the mobs, and I tried most of the different swords
[-] The game doesn't really get difficult at any point and doesn't feel like real progression
[-] It's quite a grind to finish the game and there isn't much change after the first few minutes
[-] Some UI bugs

All in all, an interesting little game!

conno1234 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:51pm

Overall pretty good :) The controls were a little weird at first but it got more intuitive as I played.

hunttis says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:52pm

Nice game, I liked it a lot! Graphics were good, the weapon upgrade frequency was enough to get you hooked :D

Picking up the sword was really difficult for me for some reason, I had to click several times before it was picked up (osx yosemite and safari). I didn't run into it (maybe it's already there), but maybe also add a mechanic that allows the player to move faster when they level up?

Celt says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:52pm

Do those skeletons have FEZ hats on?

Dadeyemi says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:53pm

web version isnt working for me

thumbgarden says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:53pm

Great game you should keep working on this. Turn it into a full fledged action rpg. great work

nuprahtor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:53pm

Controls are pretty laggy, but I like the overall idea. Enemy sprites are really cool, especially that skeleton with a fez.

piratequentin says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:58pm

Nice game!
But I tried to pause de game, I hit escape and then it quit the game, my bad ^^

Artylo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:01pm

@Celt: Yes...skeletons are cool...they wear a fez each...
@Dadeyemi: Web version is only for people who really want to see the game. Read the disclaimer for more info.
@piratequentin: Sorry, no time for a pause menu.

MrSchlag says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:04pm

Cool game ! I like the music. thanks

AlexanderTeaH says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:05pm

The graphics were great, as well as the music and sound effects! The self-knockback is too strong in my opinion, I often found myself using it to get around the place faster, which leads to another problem, the movement was a bit sluggish. Although to be fair, I think it's a fun and well polished game, even with its quirks!Good job!

seankimdesign says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:38pm

A fun and addictive game. I think you've captured the spirit of these loot-drive RPG games (such as Diablo) really well. It was a fun 10 minute clickfest. Awesome!

NAL says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:06pm

Very nicely presented and fun, with a good idea to back it! I had some display issues with it though (playing the .exe) - straying too far in one direction would either make some graphics invisible or draw weird artifacts, possibly a chunk of a texture page, over the screen. Screenshot: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/4801027/Images/RareDropTex.png
Wasn't a big enough issue that I couldn't play it though.

Jan Marcano says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:07pm

Right out of the bat: Great intro screen!

Overall the game was pretty nice, the ambiance and vibe was good.
Bonus points for Fez skeleton and Mom swords.

Things I didn't quite like:
- The knockback on all attacks
- Having half of my initial drops have n/a stats makes getting drops not feel rewarding. Swords with no stats aren't legendary! You could try making swords have more than one stat or effect once you're further into the game, that would help set them apart from the ones you get from the beginning.
- Enemies should be more aggressive when they're harder. Even when they have tons of hp, they're still really slow and can be kited to death
- No level indicator
- Picking up swords was a bit difficult
- The game is pretty long and doesn't have pacing so it feels quite tedious
- The +dmg stat > any other stat. After I got my first +dmg sword I didn't use any other sword with a different +stat. I think removing the your own knockback from your attacks would help make aspeed a viable option too, since right now by a attacking faster you just go farther away from the enemy and have to reposition a lot more.
- Takes a while to get to other parts of the map. Make the map shorter or make more monsters appear, since I have to take long walks to get to the next fight sometimes.
- I couldn't get to the end since there were no more monsters :(

Phew. That was a lot, hope it can help you make the game better :)

hercludes says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:17pm

Movement speed is pretty slow, even when getting a +mspeed item. Enemies did nothing special and didn't scale very well, and the weapon drops are uninformative and pretty hard to judge whether one is better than the other, and I had trouble picking them up. But it was a pretty good idea, just need a little extra to make the execution a bit more secure. Environment was pretty stunning though.

Huo-cuo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:09pm

Playing web version on Mac and the sound is OK. In fact the music is perfect. Very good work on the game.

TeamCalcium says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:24am

Nice concept! The controls are a bit weird, and i think swords are a pretty conventional weapon. Enjoyed the graphics!

Lady Beardo says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:42am

Cool style--nice range in swords in the art.

SimianLogic says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 7:41pm

Do enemies keep spawning? I feel like I ran out around Level 5 or so. I think the movement feels a little sluggish. Most of the flowers are taller than me. Swords are pretty conventional.

Nitpicks done! I really love the visual style and the screen shaking. This is a really promising start to a game I would totally play more of. Excellent job!

lamogui says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 10:48am

Did you create an algo for generating the sword sprites ?

May 7, 2015 @ 9:35pm

Cool idea - just gets at the essence of what's addicting about dungeon crawlers.

gillyadrien says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 10:20pm

Pretty fun game. Really too easy though. Also, I can't really give you points for the use of the theme, swords are extremely conventional.

But besides that, I actually enjoyed playing the game. The music is gorgeous too. Good work!

crazya02 says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 11:13pm

Neat concept, though it got monotonous. Also, I didn't know my mom owned an asi.

LadyEmaSkye says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 11:16pm

REally fun game, I enjoyed myself. That said, there were quite a fea flaws. First, on the title screen becauuse the text is in white it is hard to read against the also white background, so it took me a few moments to figure out how to start it. Secondly, it just drops you into the game with the tutorial onscreen. Which would be fine IF while it showed the tutorial mobs wouldn't attack me. Personally, I didn't enjoy getting attacked while still learning how to play the game. Also, on the subject of the tutorial, it pops up at the start of EVERY single game I play, regardless of whether I know how to play or not, thus it just limits my visibility. This could've been esaily fixed by having a tutorial screen as a seperate option. Next, I don't really see how it fit into the theme AT ALL. Personally, it seems to me huge swords with fancy waves coming off of them would be a very substantial weapon against hordes of monster. Also, on the subject of the sword, a sword swinging animation when I attack would've been nice, but I understand I can't have it all in 48-72 hours. Next, the mobs never really seemed to progress beyond the 1 above their head, which I assume is their level. It would've been nice if the mobs got harder to defeat as I grew stronger, so it didn't turn into a boring grindfest, but once again i understand I can't have EVERYTHING. And lastly, after advancing a bit mobs stopped spawning so I had to search over the entire map in an attempt to find them, not a fun process. Surely it would've have been that hard to make a mob spawn every 10 seconds or so? All that said, a delightful little game, and I enjoyed myself (contrary to everything I just said). And I must say, I did like the visual style too. Props to you.

dyfer says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 11:22pm

Quiet a good game but you could have change the swords for something more "unconventional", still nice entry!!

Artylo says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 4:23pm

[DEV] Thanks for your comments everyone!
Just wanted to say something about my take on the theme.
Unconventional has synonyms! Some of which are "rare" and "uncommon". I decided that that fit into a loot drop system.
Yes, I admit swords are a pretty mainstream weapon, but swords that summon cats, swing three times or heal you mace them distinctive and atypical.

lkpridgeon says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 8:17pm

I liked the idea at first but found no challenge in it overall. The graphics were nice and it was interesting. However I managed to get stuck off the screen at the bottom of the map. Also can the knock-back be reduced a little... With a little improvement this could be a nice little game to play.

May 9, 2015 @ 8:36pm

Cool idea, I like the variety of weapons on offer. I think the pace of the game is a bit slow and the constant knockbacks don't really help. Also despite the different weapons, the gameplay isn't quite varied enough to keep things interesting while grinding. The graphics are quite nice and the music is pretty chill. Definitely a good entry overall, has a lot of potential.

TeamSpatch says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 8:48pm

A bit too easy, I was almost unable to die ^^.
The inertia of the character is breaking the feeling of power I got while slaughting mobs. Idem for the stop while swinging.
Good music.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]