Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Scary Faerie

by jojocanard - Compo Entry

DO NOT ZOOM in or out or the graphics will bug badly ! Have fun !
----
Edit : READ THIS ONLY IF YOU DON'T FIGURE OUT WHAT TO DO :
The point is to scare the dwarfs by separating them from each other and then, when they are alone, scare them.
To separate them :
- click on them. They will be disoriented for a little while and separated from the others.
- click on the fairy in the tree. One of the dwarf will fall in love for her and be left behind.
To scare them :
- use the night. If they are far from the other dwarfs during the night, they will panic and run away. Especially if you used the raining cloud on their torches.
- click on the herb monster when they are passing by
- click on the tree of life to invoke the evil Totoro

Good luck !

----

Made with haxe/openfl + flashdevelop
Photoshop and flash for the images
Music from Fake Music Generator
sfxr for the sound effects

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#190Audio3.38
#273Mood3.28
#398Graphics3.31
#440Innovation3.26
#490Theme3.42
#530Humor2.74
#629Overall3.09
#855Fun2.67

Comments

arrenyu says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:12am

Nice game! I liked the music : ) The monster that came out of the tree at then end reminds me of an evil Totoro.

tsameti says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:07am

I wish I had more control of the camera. Otherwise, nice.

Tipyx says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:13pm

The music is pretty cool :)

Buko-Studios says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:14pm

I'm having trouble with this. The environment is cool, and I like the changing day cycle, but what am I doing?? :D

Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:21pm

Nice little game. Awesome music, totally matches the theme and mood. The night is a little too dark and confusing though.

Suvidriel says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:29pm

Really nice graphics and music :D

esayitch says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:28pm

Heya, pretty solid game all around. I liked the humor in this one... Took me two tries to beat, so it is a little on the easy side :P

nassi says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:55pm

Also finished on my second try. Nice atmosphere. A restart button would've been cool and I felt it was somewhat pointless to use enter to start, when clicking the mouse would've worked just as well. Good job nonetheless.

fluidvolt says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:53am

I didn't really get it, but I had fun seeing what I could interact with. My favorite was getting the cloud to rain on 'em all! :)

suppi says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:16pm

It was a very interesting game, The idea was unusual but I liked it. graphics and audio are also well done. the game is a little bit lacking in terms of game play, but good work! i liked it!

jojocanard says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:19pm

Thanks all for the feedback !
@nassi : my code was becoming such a mess and I was so tired that I was afraid to add a restart button that may add a bug ! You are definitely right about this and the enter key.

@arrenyu : definitely an evil Totoro. I was wondering what should be the ultimate faerie of the tree of life and it came to my mind. I hope I didn't break a rule by doing this.

@ all : yes the game is pretty simple once you understand the way to isolate and scare the ennemies. It is more about mood and discovery. A kind of family friendly game for Ipad I guess...

grillaface says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:52am

Graphics and music are awesome but I couldn't really figure out what to do.

borgi says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:21pm

Cool idea! I could not figure it out without the description neither

Drauthius says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:30pm

Nice game, but a little bit hard to figure out what to do. The music is great and the graphic are nice too. :)

Ossi says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:53pm

I really like the scare mechanic and the strategy behind separating the dwarfs. Nice music and good use of the theme, great job!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:06pm

Nice concept, I like the idea of play with my enemies' fear. I like the atmosfere.

ehtd says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:47am

Evil totoro was a great addition to the game!

peterfsat says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:27pm

I liked the mechanics! Night time was a little disoriented but ok!

micahcowan says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:34pm

The graphics are fantastic! Can't believe you did 'em all in 48 hours. And the music. Guess the gameplay's not complex enough to have needed much programming, though, so guess that'd leave you the time you need.

Neat game, neat idea. :)

Apr 27, 2015 @ 2:10pm

I sucked the first time I played cause I wasn't sure what I was doing. But once I figured it out and played a second time I started to get the hang of it. Still took me three turns to make it through but that's probably just the style I was playing in and it's a good sign that I wanted to play through three times. Liked the concept, thought it was cleverly done. A restart button would have helped but can understand you saying you didn't want to add it at the end in case of bugs I had the same issue almost.

zatyka says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 12:15am

I managed to win my first time playing. Figuring out what to do was part of the fun for me. My only complaint is that I was hoping there would be a bit more variety to the gameplay. I liked the monster at the end most of all.

RealityCheck says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 9:17pm

Interesting concept, and while confusing at first, well executed. The graphics are stunning for a 48 hour entry. Music matches the mood of play well. Good job.

DrPrettyPatty says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 2:58pm

Nice work! I really like your 90s style pixel graphics and the music/sound was impressive for 48 hours too! I love the Totoro. Your instructions were helpful for understanding what to do, and I gave you a high mood score for having a really cohesive game with the graphics, sound, premise, and gameplay all matching the fantasy theme. Great job!

greytram says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 9:06pm

Nice entry! Graphics are cute and the music is entertaining! I loved the concept of using all the spirits of the forest to scare away your enemies. Well done!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]