Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Long Live The Great Leader!

by iSamurai - Compo Entry

Long Live The Leader!

Experience the life of a soldier in East Gorea!
We love the Great Leader!
We would do anything for him!
He is the Father!

Long Live The Leader!


-- Controls --
WASD to move
LMB to aim & shoot
R to reload
E to pickup ammo

Try not change the screen size after launching (like go full screen), as it breaks the light effect ;p


-- Tools --
- Unity 5 Game engine
- Home-made lighting: 2D Light of Sight: https://github.com/f15gdsy/2D-Light-of-Sight-Unity
- Art: Pixen + Tayasui Sketches


Thanks guys for all your reviews, they are very helpful :D
I was trying to make something too ambitious for 48 hours, it fails to deliver the theme. There should have been more stories going on in the base to imply the brainwashing policy of country in the game.
But I'm still satisfied with this outcome though :) Hope it brings joy to you all!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#412Graphics3.27
#631Mood2.84
#676Humor2.49
#739Overall2.96
#770Fun2.80
#1076Innovation1.98
#1120Theme1.60

Comments

resty says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:59am

move speed seems too slow
and a (perhaps) bug:
when you kill the last boss, you lose control, but enemy is still attacking you...

Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:31am

I like the way the top down perspective looks

strega says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:34am

Got overwhelmed and died. I didn't make it to the boss. Neat lighting effect and use of parallax.

ManicMiner says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:36am

Think "brainwashing" as the unconventional weapon is a bit of a stretch - but the game was quite fun.

JakeL168 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:42am

Would like a run button, as the pacing is so slow. Encountered the same problem as @resty, kill the last boss, lose control, enemy attack you, you die.

iSamurai says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:09am

@resty, thanks for the review! the bug is fixed ;p
For the slow movement, i'll probably improve that in a separate build later :)

iSamurai says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:23am

@JakeL168, thanks for the review! the bug is fixed ;p

hunttis says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:27am

Didn't really see any brainwashing, but the game was still fun :D

Really liked the superblack walls esthetic, it made the game look almost like it what you can see is calculated with raycasting.

morgondag says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:47am

like the roughelike lightning

mokujin says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:08pm

Good graphics style!

TwiiK says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:02pm

Overall solid game. Loved the shadow effect. You seem to have forgotten the theme though. :p

lucidsheep says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:43am

I liked the blood splatter on the screen as an indication of health. clever

Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:51am

The shooting battles feel really fun to play. The screen shake is done well and I like the little doods head bob. I kind of wish the training mode could be a separate playable mini game mode. Its actually kind of fun all by itself. This is fairly ambitious for the time allotted. Good Show!

colludium says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:52am

Great game, but I am not sure about the theme! Good lighting effect and graphics.

Pixel Heart says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:03am

Graphics: 5 stars.

pkenney says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:15am

Cool game, the lighting and LOS effect were very effective at making a mood. Combat was maybe a little too simple or slow but the setting was great. Also liked the main character and the way he moved and looked around.

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:03am

The top down parallax effect is terrific. The weapon does seem pretty conventional, but the game is definitely really fun to play. Nicely done!

shimage says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:57am

Control feeling is very good. Is the shadow a black high building? Nice idea!

esayitch says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:57am

Aside from the movement (too slow), and actual lack of use of the theme, and the lack of music, this was a great game :) Graphics are excellent, shooting feels good (the closer an enemy, the more accurate the shooting is, don't know if it was intentional but you got a risk-reward thing going with that). Makes me sad there are no sound effects at least :(

Good stuff, good luck!

gormed says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:59am

Cool Style, but lacking some innovation. Its fun for a while and as said: cool graphics!

iSamurai says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:17am

@esayitch, thanks for the review! You have a sharp eye, yes, it is intentional to make it more accurate to shoot a closer enemy, though it was meant to be a work around for another technical issue ;p

Aik says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:32pm

Backing away while shooting at enemies isn't all that fun, really. Surely given the theme of 'unconventional weapon' something could have been done about the weapon being an extremely conventional gun.

Lancelot Gao says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:28pm

第三关,反复玩3遍,终于通关,技巧是别打大毛虫,他跑得慢,没必要浪费子弹。
我觉得和theme挺相关的啊,玩家是被送去做人肉炸弹了吧,不玩完游戏看不出来。
游戏打击感和射击细节做得很不错,画面也到位,可以吸引我一直玩下去。
总体我觉得是一个完成度满高的游戏(抛开音频),我建议你可以用音频和音效生成软件,加音频很快,而它能带来的效果提升是巨大的——属于是“投入产出比”极高的一项工作,因此建议你下次将音频的优先级提上来,绝对会让你觉得“超值”!

iSamurai says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:22pm

@Lancelot Gao,非常感谢前辈的建议!

Embalaje says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:33pm

Good work at the design and programation!
It works really smooth for me. The gameplay have a very good feeling.

nutcrack says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:39am

Nokia 2004 lol, really liked the enemys! Maybe add kind of a dungeon map, running mode (movement is little slow!)

Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:25pm

Great, the graphics fit well. Would have liked some audio, but hey, time limits a bitch sometimes :)

Great job

pistolshrimps says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 2:37pm

Do I smell Teleglitch and Monaco?

iSamurai says ...
May 2, 2015 @ 3:32am

@pistolshrimps, yes! They inspire me a lot in terms how top down view can be awesome :)

01101101 says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 3:19pm

I like how you did the FoV effect, clever :)
Gameplay is basic but fun enough, no bugs, good feeling overall.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]