Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Mystical Youth Amy

by NIGIC - Compo Entry

The Soldiers of Solitude are at it again! Use Amy's power to spread the love and lead them back to a path of righteousness. If all else fails, you still have your trusty KillSat 2000 (tm) ready to lend a hand. Or you could always just wait it out peacefully. They ought to calm down eventually. Your choice!

--------

CONTROLS

WASD - Movement
[Space] / [Left Click] - Fire
[TAB] / [Right Click] - Orbital Strike
[Esc] - Pause

--------

CHANGE LOG

2015/04/19 1.1
- Corrected some inaccuracies with the Survival mode. (Strike Charge was maxed out from the start, score was inaccurate, game was not properly set tp Expert Mode.)

2015/04/20 1.2
- Added sound options to the Pause menu.
- Added legal information and an Exit button to the Title screen.
- Slightly optimized graphic assets.

--------

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#287Graphics3.53
#296Fun3.37
#334Audio3.11
#411Overall3.32
#416Mood3.09
#680Humor2.48
#830Theme2.97
#1001Innovation2.32

Comments

Borkleby says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:39am

Despite there being no explanation of controls I figured it out quickly. I like cleanliness and the style of it. I REALLY like the hyperbeam!! Lol!!

redding says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:07am

I like the art a lot!

GhostBomb says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:07am

Really liked the game. I was surprised how far into the game new mechanics were being introduced.

Couldn't figure out how to use the hyperbeam, but I managed to do fine without it.

MiniBobbo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:19am

I think the guys with the Jetpack were overcome with love and embraced peace... and then splatted on the ground because I removed their jetpack when they were miles in the air!

I also never figured out how to use the strike that I charged up. But the game played very smooth and looked good. The only thing I would mention is that the music became repetitive quickly. A mute button would be a nice option so the sound effects would still be heard.

Good job!

NIGIC says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:27am

Thanks everyone, and sorry, being a bit late on updating the description / writing a readme file. I'll at least add the controls right away.

Glad you liked it!

@MiniBobbo: Yeah, the music IS a bit repetitive... I'll see to add a little something to that effect in the pause menu when I can.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:34am

a pretty cute shoot 'em up. Slightly basic, but it does everything a good shmup does. Nice enemy variety, good sense of speed in the background, cool music. Well done.

sharpcoder says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:42am

Awesome game! I liked the "death" animation for the humanoids.

rantt says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:05am

Got 174,000, fun game. Really liked the art style, the controls felt good, difficulty ramped up at a nice pace and there were lots of different enemies. Oh, and that strike attack is awesome. Music, got repetitive after a while, but really fun game, nicely done :)

stoarch says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:27am

Pretty graphics and sound. But homing spikes is difficult to overcome.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:33am

Pretty solid shmup. good level variety. I felt the hitboxes were a little too big, and I'd like to see more types of power ups, upgrading existing ones (like getting 2 gold stars = spread of 5 hearts)

ianburnette says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:55am

The weapon has a really solid feel to it - the sound effects and explosions make it really fun to use. Nicely done! Kept me engaged longer than most shmups.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:34am

This was a really nice entry, and an awesome departure from the shmup genre.

Kazura says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:15am

Nice art and funny game too !
It's a shame for the HUD and the background but it's a very good game overall.

keyboardsan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:25pm

Very good art and addicting gameplay.
And maybe try adding diagonal movement too. It will make the gameplay smoother. Try adding different types of music too. :)

HolyBlackCat says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:56pm

This site lacks 'for girls only' flag for games. :D

This game is simple, nifty and interesting to play! I really liked the graphics.

Lady Beardo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:10pm

Super cute!

NIGIC says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:33pm

Version 1.2 is up, adding some audio control among a few other adjustments - see description for details.

As always, thanks for playing and leaving feedback! Glad you enjoyed!

@stoarch: Patience you must have, my young padawan. Better to bait 'em than try to kill 'em.

@Jack Zackowitz: Yeah, colliders are top priority in stuff I have to fix later on. And definitely going to play around more with the power-ups.

@keyboardsan: Diagonal? You mean dedicated keys? Hm, that might be something to try... And yeah, fun fact, half the time I spent on music was on the boss theme, which ended up not being used at all. In hindsight I should have put it into the later levels as BGM. But doing it now would be cheating, wouldn't it?

@HolyBlackCat: I know, right? Definitetly titling my postmortem "This LD gave me cavities".

slowfrog says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:02pm

Good polished entry. Very nice looking. The unconventional weapon hides very classic shoot-them-up mechanics, but done well and working perfectly.

w1n5t0n says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:50am

Fun game, I loved the music!

DaniDK says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:43am

Wow. This feels very complete, I love it. I managed to get the 3 way shooter thingy I got so hyped but then I got damaged and could get it again. Awesome game I thing is design is good with the variety of enemies and the ramping up difficulty

Robotic-Brain says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:43pm

The "Auto fire" if you hold the mouse button is a bit slow, so I put my Gamepad on Rapid fire mode - is that cheating? :P

Liked the Game overall. Kept me engaged longer, than it probably should have.
I don't know about the Theme though, since it is just a basic shoot'em up...

NIGIC says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:35pm

@Robotic-Brain: Yes. Yes, that's totally cheating. And I didn't even think of that when I coded the inputs, so it's fair game.

And yes, there's hardly anything original here; pretty much every single element has been done (better) by some Touhou game or other arcade shooter. And it's on purpose: the goal here wasn't to reinvent anything, but to make something that I actually felt was in a finished state. That said, I don't believe this has any impact on the use of the theme itself. (Rather, I'm expecting a big fat zero in innovation. Hehe.)

As always, thanks for the feedback everyone

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:45pm

Great game! with a few great looking graphics you have made a very playable shooter. Good work!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:20am

very impressive piece of work here - one of my favorites - great job!

Ventura says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 9:24pm

I liked the art and the fast background, also the enemies.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]