Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Unikorn

by Lo-X - Compo Entry

Unikorn

Grab your plush, little girl, it's zombie night! Use your telekinesis power (or your mouse) to draw the path your Unicorn plush must take and let it impale zombies!
Survive as long as you can and try to beat your friend's best scores!

Controls:
- Use arrow keys or AWD/QZD to move
- Use the mouse to draw the unicron path
- On the menu, jump through the window to start the game

About:
- Unikorn has been coded in C++ with SFML. I used SFXR, Audacity and Gimp.
- I made the art, sounds and audio myself, with my hands, my banjo and my microphone.

Thanks for the feedback you may give me!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#61Theme4.10
#218Innovation3.63
#255Humor3.31
#463Audio2.86
#471Graphics3.17
#488Overall3.24
#553Fun3.05
#596Mood2.88
#1713Coolness39%

Comments

Sluce says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:07pm

I love it! It is really simple gameplay but you can put some strategy into it especially when trying to throw your plushie in a good spot for the next pickup. However, I do wish it had some upbeat audio, it would really help the mood.

Lo-X says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:29pm

Hi, thanks for the review. Indeed the music need more work. I usually have better music, but this time I wanted to record it myself. But, yeah, I'm not good at it :p

bradur says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:02am

The main menu music was catchy :D.
The game was quite hard but I managed to reach 900 points. The bigger zombies turning red and becoming vulnerable was a nice mechanic, though at first I thought the game was bugged when they wouldn't take damage normally.

zsoltbartok says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:34am

I like the music too!

shrapx says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:15pm

I got the linux version to work by putting my self-compiled sfml into the libs folder. The game has a novel throwing mechanism, a scary metal vocal in the music, which has heart but doesnt fit so much for me. My first attempt i got 340 points. :D

shrapx says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:19pm

I also liked the unicorn and creepy girl graphics, and the zombies :3

thecord says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:07pm

Nice gameplay and catchy main menu music :D

Suhvan4ik says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:13pm

nice game mechanics, was fun to make loops, so unicorn will come back to me

lochmann-apps says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 11:02am

The drawing of the bulletpath is very funny.

Meta-link says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 12:14pm

Cool game !
A little bit hard to understand but once it's done, the concept is fun and it's really cool to kill zombies by throwing unicorns !

Apr 27, 2015 @ 12:51pm

Want to do a video for you. twitter @octopusmelange

Lo-X says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 3:38pm

@octopusmelange: Please, you're welcome to do so
@others: thank you very much for the feedback :)

May 4, 2015 @ 9:33am

I broke your game! ;D The game got too laggy with too many zombie on the screen (score was about 3740). Was very fun to play and the "boomerang" mechanic is a nice approach. Sadly the level doesn't reflect that well, as it is very horizontal. I hope you are making a post-compo version and check out what else one can do with such a mechanic! :)

Lo-X says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 10:37am

Hi! Thanks for the feedback!
The game was never designed to deal with such huge zombie waves :) So yeah, I can imagine it got laggy at such a high score :p Originally there were supposed to have different levels, some more vertical.
I indeed like the mechanic but the way I used it does not satisfies me. So yeah, I would like to re-make some parts of the game and extend it a bit.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]