Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Oops... I killed my neighbors

by Tork - Jam Entry

Oops... in which the weapon is a house building editor. Have fun sapping people with toasters on swimming pools or exploring your own ways.

The team:
Art:
Daniela Coyotzi @dunia_50
Angel Gonzalez Parra @AngelEGlezParra

Programming:
Joe Dorado @jdv_null
Aldo Turati @aldo_turati

Audio: Playonloop.com SoundBible

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#91Humor(Jam)3.79
#116Theme(Jam)3.95
#214Fun(Jam)3.48
#490Mood(Jam)3.11
#492Graphics(Jam)3.35
#535Overall(Jam)3.19
#658Innovation(Jam)2.86
#1856Coolness35%

Comments

Tork says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:16am

Didn't test on OS/X and Linux so if it doesn't work please tell

Malsanity says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:06am

Love other Unity devs using the cartoon FX asset :)

Also, please enable fullscreen for the webplayer

Tork says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:09am

Just enabled it, not sure if it is buggy or it is my computer but once I click on the game it goes back to web view screen, still hope that works for you :)

Havacore says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:43am

Not a lot going on here. I like the idea you had with the theme, very unique.

Sim00n says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:44am

Nice idea, definitely unconventional. My chat had something similar in mind but they wanted to make a game about playing tricks on your neighbors and that would we the weapon. Good job.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:45am

Seemed to be no penalty for spawning things, so it was impossible to lose. Was score just how many you could combo? Wasn't clear. Would be funner if there was a bit more strategy to it.

bossmojoman says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:45am

Killing people with the toaster is strangely satisfying. Only complaint is the window is really small on a 1080p screen.

Tork says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:49am

@monkeedude1212 we didn't have time to make the items with a cool down and add combo particles but you do get higher score if you kill them in different ways.

Spoiler: you can electrocute them with the toaster while they are near water XD

jacketsj says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:49am

I was considering trying for the high score... and probably will later.

th4t says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:49am

Quite fun game and pretty unique idea :)

nassi says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:53am

Got 100k points. Toasters 2stronk.

Pretty light gameplay wise, probably more of a novelty app than a game. But who am I to categorize, good job!

benjamck says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:00am

The exploding cows gave me a chuckle, reminded me of the infamous cow level in Diablo. Fun little game, it felt a bit like popping bubble wrap, if that makes sense. That or a bloody version of the Sims, without the building or the relationship stuff.

sathorn says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:01am

Nice game, love the soul animation. However it lacks depth and game-ness.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:18am

Seemed to be no penalty for spawning things, so it was impossible to lose. Was score just how many you could combo? Wasn't clear. Would be funner if there was a bit more strategy to it.

CowShark says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:34am

I actually cackled playing this.

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:27pm

Great use of the theme, and totally on point for me. The Sims was basically a creative murder game to me.

PanKamil says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 3:00pm

The Sims Hardcore Edition.

Pretty unique and satisfying gameplay, with a nice usage of the theme.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]