Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Hallway Hero

by Croze - Compo Entry

Hallway Hero is a game about a student who is really good at making paper airplanes and runs around wreaking havoc to the other students by defeating them with his harsh papercuts! Dodge and weave spitballs as you try getting as many kills as you can, and make sure you avoid teachers or risk getting expelled!

Controls: WASD, Left mouse button

I have many post-mortem plans, so stay tuned for post-mortem links and other info!


FAQ:
Q: Where are all the enemies?
A: They take around 30ish seconds to spawn when you start the game, give it some time

Q: Why do teachers keep giving me demerits?
A: Teachers will chase you and give you demerits if they can see you and your bar is about half full

Q: Why do some of my airplane go faster than others?
A: After your bar turns green, it continues to expand horizontally for a more powerful shot, dealing more damage.

Q: Why are some of the class rooms not lighting up?
A: There are many unimplemented rooms such as the Cafeteria and Gymnasium, all of which will likely be implemented post-mortem

Q: How did you come up with the map?
A: The school in my game is actually based on my school called Hononegah, it's around a 1:1 ratio but not perfect of course.

Q: Who came up with the name and idea?
A: My buddy Tylor came up with the name, and my dad and I came up with the idea.

Have a question not answered here? Post it in the comments!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#243Theme3.73
#270Humor3.28
#480Audio2.83
#531Fun3.08
#661Innovation2.93
#746Mood2.70
#770Overall2.93
#888Graphics2.46
#1305Coolness49%

Comments

amras0000 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:07am

110MB is a bit big for a download, any chance you could split it up into zips for each platform?

JohnGalt says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:12am

Interesting concept. Well designed map. Amazing enemy behavior. Aim is little bit hard. Feedback make it better.

Croze says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:14am

Went ahead and added the seperate downloads, 110mb was very overkill. Thanks for the feedback guys!

NIGIC says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:44am

You might want to make the colliders on those doors a bit larger; getting into a class works fine, but getting out is a chore.

Nice concept that's pretty well executed. Good job on the AI, too.

tentabrobpy says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:30am

Fun game, a bit too difficult for me though! I enjoy the lines and voice acting. One thing this could benefit from is maybe some background music!

met44 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:10pm

Hey man, gave your game shot too !!

I liked the idea but you should set the game to fullscreen by default, when the mouse exits the window it breaks aiming, took a couple minutes to figure it out ^^'.

Anywas the charging/aiming system was a good idea and it was cool to have AIs playing the same game so you have my vote for that ! ;)

Croze says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:23pm

@tentrabrobpy Sorry for the confusion, you actually don't leave the classroom on your own you wait 5 seconds and get automatically teleported out. I might need to disable the door colliders when you are in the class!

Croze says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:24pm

oops that was supposed to be @NIGIC

roving-stone says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:00am

"You, stop!" made me jump the first time haha. Nice AI.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:19am

I loved the mouthcrafted sounds, I did something like that for the LD31, that fits really well in the game.

TeamCalcium says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:11pm

Enemys behave really funny, it was a challenging experience!

lochmann-apps says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 9:16am

Funny game and nice gameplay. Think I saw your stream on Twitch at the beginning of the contest. Cool final version!

OadT says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 9:32am

I love these voices :D Nice you implemented a tutorial. This concept has a lot of potential

Norgg says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 9:54am

Nice. I found it strange that the ammo was used as currency in the shop, it meant that you're actually discouraged from shooting ever if you want to get upgrades, turning it into a game about looting and dodging (which is fine, but didn't seem to be the intention).

I found that quite often that when leaving a classroom a new student would spawn right next to you and instantly shoot you, which was frustrating because there was no way to avoid it at all.

jprogman says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 6:41am

It's rather agonizing that my airplane throw meter resets each time a teacher attacks me. I take it that they're immune to paper airplanes.
Glad you have added a shop so I can upgrade; especially since those kids are a pain and my weapon at the start is too slow to shoot. I like the voice work.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]