Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

respire

by zillix - Compo Entry

under the sea, alone.
your only tool is your breath.
explore the forgotten trench.


-----OBJECTIVE-----
dissolve the jellyfish with bubbles.
collect their cores.
return the cores to your ship to extend your reach.
discover all 4 endings.



-----CONTROLS-----
ARROWS - move
SPACE (hold) - bubble

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#31Mood3.97
#41Innovation4.08
#59Overall3.92
#116Graphics3.97
#131Theme3.92
#181Fun3.58
#198Audio3.37
#551Humor2.71

Comments

zatyka says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:08am

Visuals, game play, and audio all fit together to give texture to the little world. A seemingly simple game with far more depth than what's on the surface. The exploration and discovery kept me interested (got all 4 ending). Keep up the excellent work.

KedumeBits says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:32pm

Very cool game. Nice scenario and game logic. I love the movement of the elements, the red tube,...

Matt Tuttle says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:35am

Took me a few minutes to figure out how to extend my "leash" but after that it was a great experience. Really neat idea!

dyfer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:36am

I love your pixel art style. Underwater dog's air bubble as weapon agains't jellyfish? That's very weird and I like it :)

PixlWalkr says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:36am

Nice little game, I like how the red tube gets longer and longer as I progress on the game :)

mockthebear says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:38am

Man, this game is amazing. I felt like a child playing this.
i have no words... +fave

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:39am

Really cute! I loved watching the tiny animated dog!

EwChap says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:40am

Very fun. Love the leash mechanic. very neat idea and implemented very well.

dydx says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:41am

Great atmosphere and really neat game mechanics. I enjoyed it a lot, nice work!

graebor says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:46am

Nicely packaged little game with a unique feel. Swimming through the seaweed is very satisfying and fun. Perfect short and sweet jam game :)

danidre14 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:50am

Nice little game. It was fun going back and forth to my ship. After I found the chest, I won! XD
Thank you for participating.

Travis Root ! says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:21am

This game is absolutely fantastic.

Fascinating and original gameplay, great unconventional weapon, fantastic visual/audio design and atmosphere. Very mysterious and dangerous.

A little frustrating at times, but overall the game is wonderful. The [R]elease part was a thrilling moment.

kabutakogames says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:54am

I love the little narratives like this that get built in flixel games - the multiple endings and the tone are so great. In my first run through I didn't realise you could activate speech, so I just collected the jellies until getting the crown. After that though I had to go through and read it all :)

alvivar says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:47am

I always enjoy your games! <3

igoramendola says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 8:02am

Very interesting entry and the graphics are adorable. Took me a while to realise how to go deeper haha... I just needed to pay more attention ^^ And finally, I got the 4 endings :D

Apr 28, 2015 @ 4:05pm

Psssst - you are in today's Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yCpIrD_PaBM

sputnik says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 4:13pm

Simple and complexe at the same time. Really nice entry!

Will Edwards says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 7:57pm

Absolutely exceptionally brilliant! I admit I saw came searching after watching the button masher review, so I kind of knew what to expect.

The game is very consistent - being able to detach from the air hose and have the air bubbling from the hose etc is top-notch :)

Really good code too - I went took a look and was happy to discover a nice bit of haxe :)

ChuiGum says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 4:28am

Great overall. I really liked the innovation, I liked how original it was! Very nice visuals and nice sound too. Would love to see more! Well done! :D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]