Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

100 Dollars Unicorns

by td2tl - Compo Entry

How to make extra money : Catch unicorns with your butt and sell them to robots.

You can check the score table on Gamejolt link.

Controls : Touch or Mouse

How to Play : Throw > Teleport > Catch a Unicorn > Land it > Get Paid!

When you catch a unicorn > Hold Click > goes LEFT else RIGHT

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#81Humor3.79
#128Graphics3.93
#188Innovation3.69
#195Fun3.55
#296Overall3.46
#349Mood3.18
#506Audio2.78
#515Theme3.39

Comments

megahold says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 2:23pm

the sprites got blurred out for me and the guy randomly diapered but when it did work it was fun. :)

Daporan says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 3:36pm

A little hard to land unicorns, but it was fun!

Blobo says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 4:06pm

Very challenging but fun! it feels kinda like qwop. i love it.

siryakko says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 4:28pm

Nice graphics and fun idea, a bit hard to get those unicorns to land

SadSmile says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 4:50pm

Very nice. Short question: Does the guy throw his butt?

Apr 19, 2015 @ 4:54pm

Awesome game you have here! :D

Kahztein says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 4:54pm

It's a fun little game, I could see it being a hit on the mobile marked xD

Apr 19, 2015 @ 5:26pm

Very hard to control unicorns, but great graphics.

metalfist213 says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 5:32pm

Pretty good game. I had some problems with the player falling through the ground, so I had to restart a few times. It is fun and nice, good job!

Bemmu says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 5:46pm

Really hard, I didn' manage to land any :(

Evgiz says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 5:46pm

Decent graphics and fun gameplay! Took me a while to understand how the game worked, but once I did it was a fun little game. Audio could have been better but other than that a good entry.

aeklad says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 5:56pm

Heh..heh it does look a little like the guy throws his but in order to teleport. That being said I love the graphics and gameplay. Very simple yet innovative. Perhaps its a bit too difficult.

Hexatin says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 6:21pm

Very fun, incredibly hard.

DasSnipez says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 6:22pm

Very fun but insanely difficult, really like the art style.

jpc133 says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 6:56pm

Very fun, Very difficult, very interesting.

brennen says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 7:00pm

Nice sounds, and the controls are simple yet satisfying.

Apr 19, 2015 @ 7:10pm

Great art, nice work.

Tapisama says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 7:20pm

Quite hard but addictive and looks and sound really nice. I dig it XD

wilpel1234 says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 7:32pm

Really fun game, Good graphics, very original. Good job!

Suhvan4ik says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 7:41pm

Great art but it's kinda hard to play (=

Apr 19, 2015 @ 7:44pm

A little hard to control, but very fun when you get the hang of it.

Potregon says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 7:45pm

Very funny game. I like the guy, who gives you money ;)

StefanDJagers says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 7:46pm

Beautiful art!
The game is a bit hard, but a very cool idea!!
Great work!! The sounds also fit very good!

stoarch says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 8:05pm

Very hard game. And permadeath. Good game. Thank you

Rick Hoppmann says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 8:10pm

my user journey:

Ok, the description involving butt-touching immediately got my attention.
...
Shit they are so hard to land. Missing some chiptune.
The art style is nice and the bouncy clouds
...
Yes finally got one! (playing with mouse)
...
argh, this is getting frustrating. Probably because of my mouse input. Mmm, ok, kinda good game with a crazy idea and lovely colors. Also nice touch on the theme.

(hope you can get something out of this somewhat different comment)

PabloLeChuck says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 8:32pm

Very hard game! I like the idea, and the graphics but it all happens way too fast to control. Thanks!

Domus Umbrae says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 8:37pm

I really enjoyed the restitution of the ass (something I never thought I'd say), and it was a well-animated game, but the unicorns were very hard to land.

Lord_Vinzz says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 8:38pm

Love it !!!

TheMessiah says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 8:49pm

Wasn't sure how to control the unicorns at first but the game was really hard and enjoyable. Really great sound effects.

ALLCAPSON says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 8:51pm

I like this game, the graphics look nice and it's a funny idea. My only issue is the unicorn landing process, but otherwise I liked it a lot.

spudbean says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 8:58pm

Really cool concept! I like it!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 9:08pm

A funny game which seems to me too hard. However it's a solid entry. Bravo and thx ++

jepp2078 says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 9:18pm

Pretty hard but pleasing game :) Good job!

Flygamer101 says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 10:54pm

Very Nice job, fun and innovative game, just a little challenging at first.

uheartbeast says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:26am

The controls are a little strange. Very funny though haha.

ehtd says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:26am

Nice art, very difficult

CogentInvalid says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:49am

Fun game! Took a while to figure out how to land a unicorn, but it wasn't too hard once I got the hang of it.

ALLCAPSON says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:49am

I commented earlier but that was before the rating.

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:10am

Awesome game! The unicorns were nigh-impossible to control, but I wouldn't expect anything less from those horned bastards. Great everything!

MattV says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:36am

the best game I've played yet! I CAUGHT ONE GOD THAT WAS SO HARD! IS THAT DUDES BUTT CHEEKS HANGING OUT? The pulsing of the butt cheeks made it look like I was fucking the unicorn after I caught it 10/10

helekopeter says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:00am

this is first unicorn landing game i have played!!!
so thats something.

DasSnipez says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:55am

Great fun but very difficult.

Sogomn says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:06am

Awesome!

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:53am

Utterly impossible for me to land the gits :p Think I managed a record of 1 :p Bonkers idea and nicely presented though.

elpaulo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:02am

Nice concept ! The Butt-Teleporter is so cool !

Buko-Studios says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:34pm

good and funny game. nice pixel art work. very tricky to glide the unicorn properly at first but you'll get the hang of it. is that his bum showing???? :D

rantt says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:57pm

Nice graphics, the teleport mechanic was really cool. I found the unicorns really hard to control. Fun game, very challenging.

xirion11 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:09pm

Pretty fun and ridiculous, also too hard

thumbgarden says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:57pm

Amazing game! Love it. Catching them is no problem but the landings can be a little hot. Great fully realized app.

Jakob37 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:22am

It was fun! A bit frustrating to land them after grabbing them, especially when exploding on collision with other unicorns. It would have been nice with some kind of difficulty ramp-up to get the hang of it, so that the first unicorn was easier to handle than later (but maybe pay less?). Anyway, I liked it a lot. Nice job :)

broknecho says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:50am

Neat concept. Super hard to land but all around a really polished experience. Well Done!

Squeka says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:57am

Difficult game, but managed to get some unicorns by getting from the edge of right or left and the lowest unicorn :).
Also, sometimes the butt went off from screen, it would be nice to have maybe a reset position button?

Hamsternator says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:24pm

I'd say that it's a bit too hard to catch even a single unicorn '^^
I love the use of the theme though and I think this game could be improved just by enlarging the play area so it's possible to turn after you catch the unicorns =)

sorlok says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:24pm

Cool game, lots of fun, and mechanics were pretty easy (though I think it would have been easier to play on a touch-screen).

esayitch says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:29pm

Very, very, difficult, I think I got 200 on my best try xD, and even that was while sticking to unicorns that are near the platform xD.

Graphics were great, so were sfx. Could have used a fun tune to loop in the background IMO.

Mouch says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:30pm

Strange game. It took me 5 min to figure out how to control unicorns, because the game ends way too fast. A life counter would have been nice. Other than that, everything's fine.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:33pm

A+

simon.parzer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:33pm

I like the gameplay mechanics. It takes some time figuring out the best way to land a unicorn. The game is hard, but not unforgiving. Without the instructions I probably would never have figured it out.

RafaCP says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:48pm

Fun game!

colludium says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:28pm

Hard to catch and land them... those pesky unicorns!

Anshul Goyal says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:02am

Hard to land the unicorns, camera angle messes up with your brain. But nonetheless, its a fun game. I made $0 :(

zatyka says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:13am

I finally landed a few unicorns. That was so ridiculous... I love it. Definitely fun to play, but a bit too hard.

Raiyumi says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:35am

This was pretty fun and really addictive. I've only managed to catch $300 worth of unicorns. :(

A nice pocket sized game.

Prowler says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:28am

Color set, sprites and pixel graphics, super! Audio is a 4 of 5 'cause I'd like to hear some 8-bit background music here :)

This is innovative, fun and it's difficult! It has all a flappy bird like game should have. Someone once told me: A good game can be played at any time regardless if you are on a coffee break or in a tram. This is such a game. It's challenging and fun and definitely worth rebuilding it for the app store.

Good job! Keep it up!

Pat

Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:57am

This is a very very unusual weapon!
Landing unicorns was so hard, but I managed to get one!

Horsed says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:19pm

Cool stuff. Not much to say about it. It's just funny. Good job!

dunin says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:17pm

Very hard to land unicorns. A bigger scene could help. Nice graphics and sounds.

Andre05 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:40pm

Pretty hard but pretty fun too, good job !

edve98 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:08pm

A bit hard for me. By the way, where's the unconventional weapon??

zakchaos says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:21pm

Very polished and beautiful, good sound design, would like some music, but over all great entry!

devilright says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:03pm

Hell. Who knew landing a unicorn was so freakin' hard!

Icelus says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:56pm

Great graphics and sound effects. Fun game.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:13pm

So hard, but I liked the 3-stage gameplay idea of throw > catch > land. It was pretty funny & interesting, but as others have said it was a bit too hard to land

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 12:44am

i had way too much fun playing this game - the controls sucked but landing that unicorn felt great!

MaesK says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 11:50pm

Landing is quite difficult, but graphics and sound are really nice. Not sure if unicorns should cost a little more, being nonexistent and all that stuff, but whatever. Oh, and strange weapon, by the way. I miss some music as well :(

May 11, 2015 @ 3:24pm

Super funny, cool game! I included it in part 9 of my Ludum Dare 32 compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/eqkTJc6zIls

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]