Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Unconventional Tournament

by dylanigan - Compo Entry

WEBPLAYER NOT RECOMMENDED. MAKE SURE IT IS FULLSCREEN IF YOU DO USE IT.
MAKE SURE TO EXTRACT THE ZIP FILES IF YOU DOWNLOAD IT!

Unconventional Tournament: An Arena Deathmatch First-Person-Shooter
3 Lifelike Maps! 7 Abnormal Weapons! State Of The Art Graphics!
Unconventional Tournament (UCT) is a Unity based First Person Shooter game that was made in about 30 hours. It uses the new fifth edition of Unity3D, which had to be learned during the competition. There are many (8) unconventional weapons such as:

-The Teleport Gun (You are the Projectile)
-The Gun That Shoots A Gun That Shoots A Gun (Yes, seriously)
-The Frisbee Launcher (Launched Frisbees, defies many laws of physics)
-The Random Gun (It shoots either left, right, or forward)
-The Laser Pointer (This isn't your dollar store laser pointer)
-None (The weapon you start with, it doesn't actually exist)
-The Peaceful Gun (Doesn't shoot anything, but heals the player)

It features handwritten AI that is smarter than most people[citation needed], rotating health pickups, an announcer with a deep voice ("HUMILIATION!"), several walls, two turtle doves, 8 bit sound effects, credits, a tutorial and lots of orange lighting.

Instructions:
WASD to move, mouse to look, spaaace to jump, shift to sneak and left mouse button(LMB) to shoot. Run through an object to pick it up. Never stop moving. Get 20 kills to win. Don't die. You will run out of ammo. Don't be afraid to switch weapons. Good luck.

I hope you enjoy my game! I loved making it!
This was my fourth Ludum Dare.
Timelapse Of Development Can Be Found Here: www.youtube.com/watch?v=-gimTXPVrH8

Fixed In V1.1:
-Made mouse faster
-Fixed some resolution bugs




Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#397Humor3.00
#553Audio2.70
#608Theme3.28
#738Fun2.84
#859Overall2.84
#899Mood2.44
#920Innovation2.53
#943Graphics2.35

Comments

frondeus says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:46am

OSX 10.10 - can't open file

dylanigan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:33am

frondeus: Did you extract the Zip?

Ilseroth says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:16am

Was interesting but a little awkward to play. No sense of impact when you are hit. I like the concept of weird guns.

ndebruyn says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:19am

"Excellent", I see a definite influence of Unreal Tournament. I love the level designs and the audio,
I don't like the controls. Mouse movement too slow.
Other than that, "Impressive"

j_peeba says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:22am

I guess it's kinda the shtick of the game but the game was extremely confusing when you're thrown into the middle of it all. A tutorial stage (and/or text prints that would tell what a weapon does when it's picked up) might have been helpful.

It's got a nice amount of content though and the basics do work well: it's just difficult to get hooked on the game since it takes effort to get a good grasp of how it works. :)

SkyWolf says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:26am

FIGHT! I love when people put their own voice into a game (and that's why i try to do it myself everytime).
Nice entry overall.

tentabrobpy says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:41am

The gameplay was a chaotic blur, but from what I can make out this game is A+! Despite its crudity I think the look works well and I also enjoy your voice acting. I wouldn't really say the guns are unconventional so much as they are just goofy

dylanigan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:45am

I shall fix the mouse movement. I think it is too slow, but other LDs people complain about it being too fast.

MJaawa says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:04pm

Pretty neat, provided a challenge and the weapons were fun, nice job!

Figglewatts says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:31pm

Hahaha this was good. The title is perfect.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:53pm

Definitely fit the theme. Lots of trigger happy AIs to shoot. Great work!

Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:57pm

This is fun. I love the improvised quake sounds. Some of the guns are certainly unconventional especially the one where it works kind of like electricity jumping to the left and right only its like red electricity. Its a bit claustrophobic and I its not clear when I am getting hit sometimes. Good show!

Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:58pm

Great arena shooter! The weapons were all very creative. My favorite has to be the hoop gun. The teleport gun was also really neat. Only real complaint is the lack of a target radical, but that's not too big a deal. Maybe that was an intentional design decision, idk. It would be cool to see this fleshed out with more maps and weapons and such.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:01pm

Nice variety of weapons - pretty cool!

Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:39pm

+1 for excellent voice acting. Not bad, a little clunky but I like the idea. Good job having a tutorial as well, although I would have taken more time to explain the unique parts instead of saying 'play like any other fps' lol. Still, well done.

n8 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:44pm

Neat weapons and I loved the voice acting.

nov1kk says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:08pm

So funny, i laughed when i heard the voices.. good game, if you make a multiplayer will be awesome

Embalaje says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:45pm

Strange and funny.
The idea is interesting. And now it´s better with the mouse speed fix, thanks!

TeamCalcium says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:58am

Gameplay felt a bit floaty and the enemies don't look very good, but I liked the concept and the environment looked good!

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:48pm

Nice AI, good job

Jakob37 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:49am

My weapon sometimes shot 90 degrees of from where I aimed.. Otherwise, fun game! Well done :)

TobiasNL says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 9:35am

Quite good, but the weapons missed a little feedback. They lacked 'feel'. Well made though!

Apr 28, 2015 @ 5:49am

fun, but buggy. great voice acting XD. you can exit the map with the teleporter.

01101101 says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 2:21pm

Like the voice tutorial and comments ! ... Theme fit good.

FistBumpGames says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 1:11pm

in my opinion the weapons did not fit the theme, but they were pretty fun. It is a good try for a 48 h game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]