Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

UNIVERSALIS

by Atmospherium - Jam Entry

Watch planets orbit. Collect energy. Relax among the stars. There's no winning or losing, just existing.

Controls are given in QWERTY, but AZERTY and Dvorak are available from the settings menu.
---CONTROLS---
Movement - WSAD
Roll - Q/E
Pitch - Mouse (or Up/Down)
Yaw - Mouse (or Left/Right)
Fire - Mouse (or Space)
Boost - Shift
Pause/Settings - Esc/Tab

---UPDATES (nothing game-changing)---
Disabled Unity configuration screen
Fixed left roll controls for Dvorak keyboards

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#16Mood(Jam)4.28
#106Audio(Jam)3.74
#191Graphics(Jam)3.96
#406Innovation(Jam)3.25
#784Overall(Jam)2.89
#994Theme(Jam)2.27
#995Fun(Jam)2.25
#1713Coolness39%

Comments

Blobo says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:02am

Relaxing, but not too entertaining. i really love the art and i feel like this could've made a pretty awesome katamari-like game.

01010111 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:44pm

Very relaxing, I enjoyed collecting energy. I also enjoyed shooting the energy pellets, even though they didn't really do anything.

I really thought the graphics overall looked great, but as individual elements, they kind of left something to be desired. Individual planet textures would be cool, or maybe even simplifying them to geometric shapes / platonic solids / toonshaded junk would have been cool.

Audio was great, but in a very passive way. I think more variation, more experimentation, etc. would have been more engaging.

Overall, it accomplished what you intended, I enjoyed flying around, flying far away to see the entire system, it's a really cool entry!

Crefossus says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:08pm

The mood is very relaxing and the art is great. Collecting the energy is somewhat addictive (nice graphics) but since there is nothing to spend it on or objectives it gets old.

Not sure what it is but maybe the planet texture is standing out as low res compared to the shaders/glow graphics.

There tends to be a bit of input lag or something where I can not press anything but it goes off on its own.

SonnyBone says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:07pm

This reminds me of Flower for obvious reasons. I would've enjoyed dynamic audio to go along with the relaxation of just cruising through the orbit, though. I like the aesthetic you chose, and the atmospheric(lol) music is spot-on.

Maybe I missed something but I didn't notice much of a connection to the theme aside from being able to 'fire' whatever it is that you pick up while in orbot... whether it's other planets or energy or whatever it is. Without having enemies, I guess it's hard to qualify that as a weapon.

While there isn't a goal or a 'purpose' or however you want to define, the experience still manages to be interesting enough to make you think and reflect. Well... for me, at least.

This was a pleasant break from all of the killing I've been doing recently.

Both in AND out of judging LD games.

ekun says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:32pm

I liked the ambient music, it added a mysterious effect to it all. The effect of collecting orbs and having them flying towards you to orbit your planet felt good.

I might've misconfigured my controls, but I *really* wanted to be able to change my pitch up and down to freely explore the solar system.

I really enjoyed slowly flying away from the center sun; watching it get smaller and smaller on my screen and eventually finally seeing the system of planets in its entirety.

Atmospherium says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:53am

SonnyBone - Yeah, the theme tie-in got lost in development. At one point the plan was destroy planets and use the debris as the unconventional weapon. That's how galactic destruction was always meant to happen.

ekun - You're able to fly around freely, but if you adjusted the controls in the Unity config those would have been overloaded in my code. I disabled the configuration screen and posted the controls in the game description if you want to give it another shot.

MartianGames says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:37am

really neat visual FX .. kinda unique like i haven't had experience quite like it before
thanks for your contribution to the art form!

JenniNexus says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:44am

Beautiful relaxing music & game... really enjoyed just floating thru space after some intense computer hacking & killing games :-D

Zanzlanz says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:45am

Such a beautiful creation! :D I'd love to see you further develop this into some sort of art-based game. Keep it up :D

popcorn897 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:44am

Without objective it obviously lacks a bit on the fun side of things, but this game is so BEAUTIFUL. Flying through and looking at everything glowing and moving is so cool. It's got a nice chilled out atmosphere and I enjoyed it. Good work!

LukeZaz says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:38am

Not much to do. I also didn't have all the orbs right from the beginning, as I clearly should've, which was very disappointing.

Super Hamster says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:37pm

It looks quite cool. However I feel that the controls/view is a little awkward.

Omiya Games says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 4:39am

To be honest, as a healing/relaxation game, this leaves a lot to be desired. I feel the lack of objectives could work if the environment had something interesting to traverse through, a way for the player to invent goals. I thought there was a moment of interest when the trail of energy made me go around the big planet in orbit, but after a while, I didn't feel the need to do this.

An interesting entry, and one I appreciate for trying something different. At the same time, feels like a failure of an experiment.

hexdie says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 2:14am

I really enjoyed just about everything except for the sheer lack of an objective. The sounds were nice (though more sounds for shooting or when projectiles hit something would be nice) and I enjoyed the graphics. The controls took me a minute to get used to but once I did, I really enjoyed them. This thing just needs some objective of some sort. The lack of an objective makes this a pretty shallow experience.

WetDesertRock says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 9:17pm

I think you really got the spaceyfeel down. Loved the audio (although it somewhat seemed like a loop?)
The patterns created by the orbiting was nice. Almost wish there was a little more depth to the art style, I wasn't getting a definite feel for the style of art you were trying to go for.
I did love the ability to shoot energy, however they seemed unaffected by gravity and the bouncing off of the spaceobjects was a bit comical.

Overall I did like this game though, great feeling and I had fun exploring.

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 8:57pm

Nice relaxing mood. However, it didn't really keep me for long, as the movement made me a bit sick, haha!

May 1, 2015 @ 9:46pm

Really enjoyable game. Can't wait to see this done further

Alex Rose says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 2:51pm

Yeah, it would've been nice to go full katamari with this or have enemies to kill, but I'm sure you know that.

Control scheme was nice, orb absorption was pretty, the music was good as always and the concept was cool, just needed a bit more content I guess.

foolmoron says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 2:20am

First of all the visuals are amazing. Very unique style... the combination of the vast space with dreamlike glow and that cyber green color ended up with a really nice and striking look. The sense of scale was great, especially when you fly out a bit and you see all the trails with the spiraling loops from the moons - great moment. Music was nice and calm and fit the space setting. Some sound effects for flying around and collecting orbs would've been nice.

I used the mouse controls which were decent. Wish the sensitivity was higher. rotating with Q and E was really cool, added to the sense of scale.

What I really liked it how you just dump the player in the game. I flew around for about a minute before I realized I could collect the orbs, and then that became my objective. Collected orbs for a while until I realized they didn't do anything, but then I realized how to shoot, so I ended up shooting planets for a bit. If you gave instructions for all that, I probably would've been bored in 1/10th the time, so that was pretty successful.

Beyond that, there wasn't much to do, so it got boring. But it was nice for a bit to play around in the world.

caranha says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 3:20am

Hm, at first I didn't realize I was in a 3D environment. I moved my mouse around and was finding it funny that rotating left or right would change the rotation angle of the "sun".

Then I tried pressing some keys in my keyboard and everything clicked!

Still, it is a bit hard to get a good grasp of the depth, and figure out how far things get from you.

Gathering a lot of "pellets" around your body is really fun!

Thanks for the game!

vandriver says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 3:57am

This is relaxing. The mood is perfect and the weapon is already fun to play with, just needs something to do.

Getting up over the system and looking down was very satisfying, seeing the little looping paths the orbits make. Though I got flashbacks to the harder levels of Osmos.

Tilting makes the whole thing feel so much more real. I wish you could get caught up in the orbits. I'd love to see what patterns my little planet makes.

I lost all my energy when I left the system, and watching it from outside is quite surreal. I spent way too much time dicking around in here with nothing to do, so you should probably make something to do so I have an excuse to come back and dick around some more.

Managore says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 12:29pm

Wonderful setting and atmosphere!! I can't think of much to say about it except that it was really well done, and that it had a style all to itself. Both the visuals and audio are great. I especially like the spiral patterns formed by the energy left by the planets and their satellites!

I found myself chasing planets, wishing I could let go of the keyboard and start orbiting around them, or even around their satellites. I enjoyed shooting the planets and star, and watching the shots bounce off, although a part of me tried to find deeper meaning in shooting balls of energy at things, even though you warned that there is no winning or losing condition!

Overall a lovely experience, thank you for it.

TijmenTio says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 9:51pm

The type of game really suits your nickname hah. Although it's not really a game. But that's not a bad thing! It's more of an interactive experience and that's cool too. However I think that for an interactive experience you should amplify it more with visuals and sounds. The use of what I assume are shaders is great, but there is quite a lack of diversity in the graphics overall. I like the ambient sound, but in that too; I miss more audio. Sounds for shooting energy and moving would add so much to this.
Moving to the edge and looking back to see the whole system was breathtaking and I liked the movement pace. Not too slow, not too fast.

Jezzamon says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 11:16pm

Well, this is a *game* jam.

I'm all for little fun to play around with things like this, but.... where was the theme? Did you have plans that didn't eventuate this Ludum Dare?

It was a litle fun flying around planets and stealing their mystic orbs. It would've been nice if the orbs stayed the same size when you picked them up. But I don't think this would be entertaining for very long. It needs something else, some other mechanic for it to be interesting.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]