Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Special Agent

by guoboism - Compo Entry

You are a special agent equipped with arsenal of experimental weapons...
You are tasked to kill the target, not yourself...

Control:
J to shoot
SPACE to jump
A,D and arrow keys to move

There are only 3 levels now, but I will add more later

UPDATE 1.1:

Add 2 more levels, now total 5 levels
(Only the windows version is the 1.1, mac is still the one with 3 levels)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#125Humor3.68
#134Innovation3.78
#147Theme3.89
#191Fun3.56
#313Overall3.44
#1383Coolness47%

Comments

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:09am

Must say. very funny...

Zeriver says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:59pm

Pretty funny game and playable. I love that kind of puzzle games, reminds me of "This Is The Only Level". Art style is really nice to look at and goes well with the mood.

Really outstanding job!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:55am

I got a real chuckle out of this :) Great job, nice intro sequence and I loved the 'press J to fire' moment, very very funny. I would have loved a bit of audio, even just some SFXR bloops. That title sequence was just crying out for some sweet tunes! Anyway, very well done, I played to the end 10/10 would shoot self again :)

cicanci says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:56am

Great game! Nice job!

Phil Strahl says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:00am

Okay this is something different. I liked the intro, reminiscent of spy films and when you shoot yourself on the title screen, than that's a good setup of what to expect in the game. For the record: I wasted 38 agents until I finally beat the game.

The graphics are simple but recognizable, the walking animation reminded me of South Park. My only gripe with this game is that the first couple of times you are guaranteed to fail, because your weapon reacts differently in each assignment, so it's always a lot of trial and error. That's okay, because that's the game mechanic (in a way it's comparable to Spelunky in that regard), but a little faster movement would have helped me, so that I just could iterate faster on the puzzles.

There's a lot of room for more puzzles in this game, you should really expand it with some more levels or combinations of different weapons but with a twist (like, literally) ;)

seankimdesign says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:15am

That was really funny and clever! It appeared as an action game but it was actually a delightful puzzle game. A great take on the theme. Awesome job!

Aaranos says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:47am

The close zoom of the intro kind of hurts my eyes a bit but other than that pretty good game.

plams says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:13am

I really liked the puzzles :)

mokujin says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:29am

Great puzzles!

dvdking says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:36am

Was hard to figure out at first, but after that was quite easy to finish missions. Needs even more levels!

panurge says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:39pm

Lovely presentation and style. The puzzles were pitched nicely - just hard enough to make me think but not too frustrating. I really enjoyed playing.

crockid5 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:45pm

Had a lot of fun, some of the weapons made me laugh, very well done.

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:49pm

You seriously made me laugh out loud on the title screen. That is an impressive feat. And it was indicative of the game as a whole -- charming, hilarious, and really inventive. Terrific work!

MaesK says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:53pm

Quite funny! I didn't expected the gun to be such a disfunctional one! Awesome presentation at the beginning, I just missed some music and sounds in Windows version. Great work.

retrophantom says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:56am

very innovative, would definitely play it again when u finish it

Awpteamoose says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:04am

This certainly has potential.

Tuism says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:47am

It's really charming! Something it the comedic factor that really hit the spot. The subversion of expectations is really good, I think you may have stumbled upon something good given much more polish :)

Chris M says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:53pm

Love this so much, your sense of style and humour are a great asset. I was smiling from start to finish! With more levels and polish a game like this would win a lot of fans.

pikmin4000 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:19pm

This game made me feel like a genius finding out these puzzles. Very intuitive. Add more levels that require jump shooting and some aim and it would be super fun!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]