Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Puppet Guardian

by sebasRez - Jam Entry

Ludum Dare 32 Unconventional Weapon: Puppet!

A high intense action game much akin to super meat boy or 10 second ninja in speed, but now you must take out all the enemies at once by teleporting, punching, uppercuting, and ground smashing all in one swift movement.

You have been summoned by the lazy elder sages to clean up their house but you have to get there first and its full of magic and nasty baddies.

The controls for keyboard are:
A/D /or/ Left/Right to move
Spacebar /or/ X to Jump
Left Click /or/ Z to Attack
W and Left Click /or/ Up and Z to uppercut
Right Click /or/ C to send projection
(with projection out) S /or/ Down to Teleport.
(with projection out) Q /or/ V to Down smash.

Joystick Controller:
Dpad Left/Right to Move
A to Jump
Square to Attack
Up Dpad and Square to Uppercut
Y to send Projection
(with projection out)​ Down D Pad to Teleport
(with projection out)​ B to Down smash

Esc to quit the game.

-Sebastian @sebasrez//Danny @dannypixel

The music was not done by us (Craig Stern - The Sorceror's Tower) so when rating the Audio please only consider the voice acting and sounds.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#88Humor(Jam)3.80
#99Fun(Jam)3.75
#108Overall(Jam)3.80
#116Theme(Jam)3.95
#170Audio(Jam)3.54
#191Graphics(Jam)3.96
#222Mood(Jam)3.48
#294Innovation(Jam)3.43

Comments

leafo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:11am

this is pretty cool, the camera is pretty jerky but the controls feel pretty good. liked the intro

siryakko says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:04pm

Nice concept, a lot of fun and smooth controls

Borkleby says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:19pm

Awesome! Love that Kermit voice and "Purple Guardian." The camera really did a number on my eyes, but not too big of a problem. Lots of level design, I'm impressed!

BubuIIC says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:47pm

Very cool game. Nice theme _and_ cool mechanics. Also great animations.

BubuIIC says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:53pm

I fell through the wall/floor.
When I kept spawning a projection and also kept pressing down-forward I ended up inside the next wall.
Then I could walk all the way to the exit :-).

Fabraz says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:56pm

Pretty nifty. It's only an unconventional weapon in theme though. As it plays like a gun/sword. It would have probably been better without the VO too. BUT as a metroidvania type of game, this is quite solid!

jemalexander says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:03pm

Not able to jump in Windows 7. Tried multiple times. Not sure what's going on!

Hope this is fixable. I really want to play it.

TeamFlare says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:09pm

The Intro was so cool and added a lot to the mood. I had some problems to figure out how to get through one of the yellow barriers. The puppet is just cool. Great Job!

MacMC says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:34pm

art and animations are real smooth. Camera was a bugger, but still okay. The beginning dialogue added a lot of character to the game as well. Great job.

Madball says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:59pm

That's some serious plot! Seems like you are going to continue developing it, aren't you?
Controls seem a bit weird. But I liked the multitasking aspect and the main idea of killing enemies at the same time. I think there could be much more to it.
But graphics and audio is awesome. Voice acting is a rare thing for LD!

sebasRez says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:35pm

Hey Jemalexanger, have you tried with a joystick? hopefully that works because that is a real bummer!

Wevel says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:48pm

Nice and fast paced

jtpup0 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:31pm

Well done game very cool atmosphere and hilarious voice acting, the fact that the weapon is a dainty frog puppet is neat.

Embalaje says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:48pm

So good done!
It`s a professional game, brilliant animations, good music and effects and perfect programming.
The "select your weapon" was a funny thing.
Make a big game of this!

MoogleSensei says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:28am

It was intense and the different attacks were well thought out. Warping me back to the start of the whole area seemed a little harsh for failing once. The graphics were alternatingly very smooth and frozen for 3 seconds during some of the purple particle effects. It was still quite fun to play and the voice acting was very good.

nevet says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:29am

AWESOME GAME!!! Hurray for sock puppets :)

Yword says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:03pm

The actions and effects are so cool! Well done! But it is quite difficult for the keyboard controls.

Wdavemart says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:38pm

Amazing to say the least, although I wish it worked better on my computer.

sebasRez says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:45pm

Oh no Wdavemart? can you let me know what was happening?

And if this happens to anyone else can you please let me know the issues so that I may resolve them. Thanks for playing everyone!

TeslaCoil says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:56pm

Pretty cool game. The intro was fantastic, like people said. The controls were nice and responsive, and beating up the enemies was pretty satisfying. I'm not sure what the goal was, though. I got to a part with three coloured walls that I couldn't get through, and figured that was the end. Let me know if it wasn't. :P

Other critiques... I couldn't hear some of the vocals because the music was too loud. That's pretty minor. Also, the difficulty was weird. The enemies were almost silly in how easy they were to kill, but some of them reappeared instantly, and going back to the very beginning for one death makes it unrewarding to try to try anything new. I wanted to figure out if there was a way past the three coloured walls, but interacting with an enemy in any way besides instantly killing them would just send me back to the start.

sebasRez says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:00am

Thanks for the excellent feedback. I will definitely revisit the tutorial aspect of this since I didn't manage to convey the gameplay properly. The reason they are easy to kill is because you have to kill them all at the same time depending on the location of colored zone you are in. Thats the only way to advance to the next area. Thanks again for the feedback.

Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:15am

My favorite play so far. Not a fan of the controls...they feel fine...just dont like the setup...not a fan of having to use multiple sources for control. Otherwise I really liked it. Camera jump is a hair strong, but i had the same issues in our game...time man. This game is great. Added to my library. Thanks for a great job.

hexdie says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:43am

I think there's a basis for a pretty cool game here. It definitely wasn't too bad. There are few things that irked me about it though: 1) The art had inconsistent pixel size, which made everything seem like it didn't together, 2) some of the combos were difficult to pull of (like the uppercut into a punch). I think something about the controls could be changed to make it more fluid. Despite that, like I said, I think it's a basis for a cool game. I also enjoyed the intro. Nice work!

Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:17am

Amazing concept, tight controls, rather humorous. Tenoutaten.

SmallPhil says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:27am

So cool ! :D The particles are marvelous !

2Bit says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:53am

All around an awesome game. Impressive art and the mechanics feel great to use.

lamogui says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:49pm

Chihiro ! So nice !

Tanser says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:57pm

Stunning entry, really. The atmosphere is amazing, the music and voice acting even better. The particle effects really give a lot to the overall aesthetics. The idea with the theme - well that is the best part. Good job!

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:58pm

Very impressive work, especially the smooth movement and slick graphics. It was difficult to figure out how the colored barriers worked -- this could be dealt with using clearer messaging or tutorial sections, but ideally you could just arrange the early sections to naturally lead the player down the path of figuring out how they work, without an explicit "tutorial section". Really great work overall, well done!!

runvs says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:58pm

Whoa. Nice entry.
Very nice graphics and sound.

Unfortunately the mac version did't work for me (did you choose x86 or x86_64? The latter would be better for recent Macs). Thankfully I got a Windows VM. :)

I also got some slowdowns when there were many particles. But that might be the VM again.

goblin says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:16pm

Really good game, great concept and gameplay. Great job!
Check ours too http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=44367

Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:04pm

Great entry ! I especially loved the fun and your take of the theme. Awesome Audio too, you did a really good job !

andrewkennedy says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:28pm

Fantastic entry! The camera made me a little dizzy, but I can overlook that.

Anshul Goyal says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:49am

Everything about this game is awesome. Definitely one of the best I have played. So well polished. Fantastic work!

jackrugile says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:24am

I wasn't able to jump on the OS X version.

sebasRez says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:32pm

That is very strange. I am running on a Mac and was able to finish the game...

nassi says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 6:37pm

Solid entry, but the camera could've indeed been smoother. I also felt like the flow of the gameplay got interrupted for a while whenever I came upon enemies, since it took a while to figure out how to deal with them. I don't know how to put it, but something just felt a bit "off". Couldn't hear some of the VO either.

At first I thought the barriers would hurt me, but I guess they were just going to block me if I didn't kill the enemies before them? I always killed the enemies on screen before proceeding so I didn't quite catch their role.

Spent a while in the first screen too trying to figure out why I couldn't jump and do the things mentioned in the description, but once I noticed I didn't have the sock puppet yet I realized that the game must be preventing me from doing those things.

sebasRez says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 11:08pm

I made some quick alterations which hopefully make the camera smoother for this version, as well as some changes with the VO to duck the volume of the music. As for the enemies, I think if we approached this as rooms instead of areas, it would've made more sense that these are meant to be challenges but that was definitely an oversight and issue of time. Thank you very much for your input to improve this entry!

Jasonsumm says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 10:11am

awesome mood and humour and nailing the theme ^_^

Leaghorn says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 5:42pm

Awesome graphics and mood.

vortex says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 4:53pm

Really nice game. Only problem I have with it is that the respawn didn't always work(for example the very beginning and once later on in the game were teleporting was introduced)

sebasRez says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 5:03pm

ahck, on mac? because I tested this extensively. Thanks for playing

Skiddings says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 6:48pm

Very cool and the particle effects really add a lot to the look. Found it very tricky to get the timing right, maybe it's just my ham hands though.

MrShoestore says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 1:55am

couple notes would be that I think the VO levels are a bit loud and the speed is just a tad too quick, but overall very nice. and i love the humor. I do like the vfx and particles a lot, but don't think it blends well with the rest of the art style (of course our game looks like 12 different art styles, so maybe I'm not one to judge :P ).

Apr 30, 2015 @ 3:22am

Excellent game, needed to get my controller out to get past that last set of dudes. (My keyboard-fu is weak with multibutton controls.)

May 1, 2015 @ 4:10pm

Liked the funny intro, nice explanation of the kermit weapon. The move set was also well done and liked trying to combine them.

micahcowan says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 5:08pm

Couldn't finish the game. Probably right towards the end, with three enemies, all up on platforms, with the tree between them. Just could not do it fast enough to get all three!

I love the unconventional weapon. What a great idea, and the voicing really adds a lot to it. Some of the mechanics don't completely make sense, like "sending" yourself or the puppet underground, when in fact you're no longer standing on the platform (so there's no way to reach it through the ground). But it comes in handy, even if it doesn't make physical sense. ;)

I didn't have trouble with the camera, but I thought the "send projection" thing was too finnicky. Kept missing my target and having to send it over again. Would be nice if you could left/right the projection or something.

Lovely game! Great work!

May 5, 2015 @ 7:46pm

Really good feel and I really like art - really cool way to start the game too.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 2:37am

really great game - love the idea for the theme and it was very well executed - outstanding!

elefantopia says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 3:01am

Smooth mechanics and incredible graphics. Very fun to play. Thank you.

KaiseanGames says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 4:14am

One of the best :)

Arche-san says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 10:28pm

Impressive work ! One of my favorite entries so far ! Well done for the smooth and punchy gameplay feeling.

Plustech says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 4:36am

Man a really nice entry mate, I really like how you introduce the puzzles in contiguous rooms and let me do all of the rest if I was stuck in one in particular. Love the feeling and overall entry, solid! respect!

Yoon says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 8:58am

Wow, the fast-paced action got me excited. I love that feeling of quickness and power, and also the puppet's voice is lovely.
The ending suggests there would be a sequel. If you plan to work on this game again, then I wish you best of luck with it.

Also, even if the game does not emphasize it, I liked the BG art. Very good entry.

Druid says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 10:32am

Wow! One of the best entries here! I really enjoyed this game!

May 9, 2015 @ 1:56am

Very cool game, controls were a little awkward at time bit it was still a very fun game!

BIZM says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 2:58am

Really awesome game! High level of polished, plenty of content, and absolutely loved the voice acting! :D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]