Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Blackboard Wars

by KedumeBits - Compo Entry

The idea is to make a classic arcade game into a blackboard. The unconventional weapon is a "chalk".

==CONTROLS==

Cursors: move
Space: fire
Alt: bomb

==CREDITS==

Code: @kedumebits
Gfx: @kedumebits
Sound: mediateca.educa.madrid.org
http://mediateca.educa.madrid.org/audio/reproducir.php?id_audio=5nq1e8wm66v12a5g
http://mediateca.educa.madrid.org/audio/reproducir.php?id_audio=gpvbrythz8au72cv
http://mediateca.educa.madrid.org/audio/reproducir.php?id_audio=sdw5qsto6ti9wed2
http://mediateca.educa.madrid.org/audio/reproducir.php?id_audio=95aquyarus274x52

Fonts: Marta van Eck
http://www.fontspace.com/marta-van-eck-designs/chalkboard-by-marta-van-eck

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#281Audio3.20
#309Mood3.23
#324Graphics3.44
#490Theme3.42
#548Overall3.18
#639Humor2.56
#719Fun2.86
#835Innovation2.68

Comments

MattV says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:18am

the design of the game is cool! i like how the chalk 'lives' are arranged in a little box. very cute.

morgondag says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:49am

Nice menu!!

fluidvolt says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:50am

Very sweet and creative spin on shooters. I like how you can hear kids playing in the background: it really puts you there, in the classroom, just doodling on the board in your own world. Good job.

minnouu says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:04am

Nice game. The combination of the graphics and ambient sounds really makes it great

GTA LUDUM V says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:19am

Unique design, maybe you add more enemies type it would be better.

ManicMiner says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:19am

Sweet idea. I liked the sound effects, very evocative. Wish it had an autofire rather than making me rattle the space bar like a fiend :)

KloudRazor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:20am

This game is awesome and fits well with the theme.

Multiplexor says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:24am

I love the mood! It feels very lively, the voices of the kids in the background are nice! The menu is also very nice!

In the game itself it could be nice if the speed increased after a while to make it more challenging

AlexanderTeaH says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:02pm

A very original take on the standard shooter. Ambient sound is perfect as well as the cute touches like transitions. Overall a fun game with an interesting design!

Stechas says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:07pm

That old good times when chalk was unconventional weapon in hands of profesor that was ready to shoot at student if they didn't pay attention :D Anyways, very nice concept making blackboard a battleground and kill the creatures with power of chulk. Well done!

syawqy says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:36pm

I got 382 points!!!

Leon75 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:39pm

Very well drawn graphics, a game theme that immediately gets you intrested from one picture. Unfortunately, the game part doesn't have much depth or fun to it.

Lukbebalduke says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:40pm

I did 404 points kkkkk. Pretty good game, I loved the graphics style =D

Vija02 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:53pm

The Audio is good! that's the first thing i noticed. it was quite fun, the chalk is so slippery tho.

KBF123 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:56pm

Cool game

Armanky says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:18pm

This is a very charming take on the space shooter! Fits the theme really nicely. The chalk movement slides just a little bit, which can make it tricky to control, but otherwise this is a really cute game.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:54pm

Great game! I loved the atmosphere it had being in the early years where kid screamed instead of talked. ;D

gruhn says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:19pm

A simple, but fun game. Interesting graphics and mechanics.

thumbgarden says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:21pm

I like the take on a side scrolling shooter. Its a challenging game. Good job!

Catman says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:34pm

Nice visual design, and cool use of sound, it works really well!

Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:45pm

very cool idea!

Havacore says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:25pm

Good score attack game, needed some more difficulty to it. I like the art style, it fits the theme quite nicely. It needed some background music. Would've liked to see another mechanic or something in there.

longshorts says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:25pm

A simple an original idea, presented in a fantastically innovative way. Loved the mood here.

peterkirk says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:48pm

I like the concept, but the children noises starting irking my after a bit.

Jadernak says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:17pm

What an original idea!

Ludipe says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:04pm

It's a pretty fun game, though hitboxes feel a bit unfair.

I really liked your take on the theme and how you put together art and sounds, by the way, the sounds add A LOT to this game, I loved them.

drludos says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:13pm

Nice entry, I love the general feeling - it reminds me of school :)

The graphics are superb, but the gameplay can easily be fooled: I kept firing at random height, and I sometime were able to kill enemies before they even show up on the screen ;)

frondeus says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:28pm

1. I'm not sure if you can use that sound as an ambient
2. Space as controll - not best idea cause when I hold it - it scrolls page.

LTPATS says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:59pm

I really liked this, the sound effects were nice and the kids chattering in the background added a lot to the setting. I would've loved to hear some kind of "whoosh" sound when using the eraser, especially since the chalk sound was so satisfying. Sometimes it got kinda tricky navigating in the small space and the controls felt kinda slippery which made it hard dodging bullets sometimes, but I got the hang of it eventually. The lives counter was pretty clever! Overall I liked it, great work!

dlowe says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:13pm

thanks for the game!

Hectate says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:59pm

Neat idea; yeah I felt like I was back in school again :)

skiper4e says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:49pm

Really ,really nice game. Five stars on almost everything from me.

Dhim says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:49pm

Nice graphics and ambiant noise. I find it hard to avoid the yellow projectiles, maybe the eraser could erase them. I enjoyed the game

Blobo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:17pm

i love the idea, but hearing children constantly in the background complaining gets old REALLY fast.

esayitch says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:54pm

I really dug the aesthetic for this. A small note: The chalk seems to be firing from its top left position... would be better if it fired from the center.

Aside from that, gameplay was a bit repetitive. With some powerups or different chalk behavior I tihnk this would have been addicting xD

Good job overall, good luck.

Kitch says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:07pm

Really well polished shooter. Everything felt great, and looked fantastic. I didn't rate on audio, as technically... it should be created as well for the compo. But it was used really well.

Thanks.

Fanttum says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:19am

Fun game, and love the art. Prob a bit easy cause you can just fire all the time if you want, but a really neat idea.

Yozz says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:29am

Really cool design!

fixedgerald says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:31am

Amazing graphics, not so amazing gameplay.

cgmorton says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:43am

The sound is my favorite part about this game. I love a good atmospheric soundscape. And the game is solid too. Nothing groundbreaking, but effective.

I felt that the movement of the chalk was a bit too slippery, which is frustrating when the main mechanic is dodging enemy fire, and then you accidentally slide into one.

I also happened to wind up in a situation where there were so many yellow shots that there was literally nowhere to dodge. I don't know if the enemies are random or what, but you could maybe do something to prevent no-win situations like that.

Funske says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:48am

Cool game. It was very charming you the graphics where good, and well done. However the audio could have been improved, but I know it was a compo game, so it's not a negative for me.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:50am

Not a bad looking game mate, well done :)

EwChap says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:09am

Very neat and well executed. Love the eraser effects, very nice touch.

Xanderzoo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:29am

Fun, but a little repetitive.

shimage says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:42am

I got 428pt. Pretty good art works!

hypothete says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:42am

Fun aesthetics, nice control feel. Scrolling shooters are fun!

Ossi says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:12am

Very cool game! I love the graphics and the dedication to the chalkboard theme, as well as it being the unconventional weapon. The sound effects really added to the atmosphere as well. I really like this!

Tselmek says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:12pm

Great game, perfect school atmosphere and awesome concept. Congrats!

natalye says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:43pm

Great game, really liked the thematic audio and the menu animations, really made it feel like a consistent world.
Could make the chalk "lives" indicator more clear (perhaps flash it when dying, or animate the chalk being pulled out of it).

Awpteamoose says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:04pm

Nice art.

jukimv1986 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:12pm

Nice take on the theme and very well designed GUI. My highest score was 354 points. Maybe you could add different enemies and mechanics, but for a Ludum Dare it is enough as is. Fun to play, would be a good fit for mobile. Good job!

KedumeBits says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:00pm

MattV, morgondag, fluidvolt, minnouu, KloudRazor, AlexanderTeaH, Stechas, Lukbebalduke, Vija02, KBF123, Armanky, Jacob Eriksson, gruhn, thumbgarden, Catman, swipefaststudios, longshorts, Jadernak, LTPATS, dlowe, Hectate, skiper4e, Dhim, esayitch, Kitch, Fanttum, Yozz, fixedgerald, Funske, davidcmcdonald, EwChap, shimage, hypothete, Ossi, Tselmek, Awpteamoose: Thanks!

GTA LUDUM V: Yes, more enemies and final bosses would be great. Not enought time.

ManicMiner: I changed it from autofire. I throught the sound of the chalk is better with normal fire.

Multiplexor, Havacore, natalye, jukimv1986: Yes. Not enought time.

syawqy: Good!

Leon75, peterkirk, drludos, frondeus, Blobo, cgmorton, Xanderzoo: Thanks for the comment.

Ludipe: Gracias :-)

SuperMsp10 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:10pm

Very nice sound fx

Nikteddy92 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:11pm

Hahahaha Your idea is one of the best! Great Entry! :D

fixitteam says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:14pm

really awesome idea. you sure did a great job for the mood category :)

CraftMuch says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:40pm

This game has got a really nice concept.
It does play a bit to easy for my taste, however all in all decent game.

suppi says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:46pm

really liked the UI, graphics and sound effects. great job!

coderitual says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:07pm

Funny idea :)

Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:45pm

Nice entry! The graphics look great, and the gameplay is smooth. The one problem I had was that whenever a few spaceships got on screen at once, it resulted in an almost unavoidable flood of bullets. Other than that, a really nice game! 4/5

Lady Beardo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:13pm

Great audio. I like that the eraser is the bomb.

steboots says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:14am

Easy 5 for audio. Easy. Difficulty could use tweaking, but the kids really kept me there.

goadrich says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:58am

I like the background audio, and your menu system is very clean. I felt like there should have been a penalty on the amount of chalk you have when you fire, I fired all the time with no consequences that I could see.

Leandrus says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:29pm

Cool little game.
Thanks for sharing.

bitslap says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:05pm

If you havent made the audio yourself and want to be in the compo you need to opt out of audio.

KedumeBits says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:10pm

bitslap: Ok, i forgot to uncheck it. Thanks for the advice.

slowfrog says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 9:25pm

Cute and polished presentation, but otherwise not that unconventional.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]