Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Davis and the Helmet

by luke - Jam Entry

A very simple roguelike.
This is our first "finished" game
if you lose life, the game loses color
Shoot laser and kill aliens ~


W A S D - move
Mouse - shoot

Made by:
@Reylisten - https://twitter.com/Reylisten
@_mappache - https://twitter.com/_mappache


---
Fixed some bugs, sorry for these crashes :(

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#324Graphics(Jam)3.68
#369Fun(Jam)3.25
#506Mood(Jam)3.08
#524Overall(Jam)3.21
#586Audio(Jam)2.46
#603Humor(Jam)2.67
#889Theme(Jam)2.67
#894Innovation(Jam)2.36

Comments

Mateus Culpo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:43am

Muito bom, divertido ... o jogo deu "crash" ganho eu morri encostando no 1º boss ... fora isso o jogo ficou divertido.. Parabéns

Super Hamster says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:38am

Very strange, your game is crashing. Can't tell you much besides that I'm on a windows 7 and it instantly crashes. Sorry I couldn't play :(

Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:41am

The game works well here, but is very short and the enemys don't have anything diferent. Still, is fun to play.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:09am

Game crashes every time you die? Intentionally?

Nice game, I like the atmosphere! Too bad that shooting (even when coming from a helmet), is not very unconventional

The character looks funny, in a good way :)

GTA LUDUM V says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:22am

Your game is very short.

ironleonem says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:21am

Solid title, but I don't see traditional rogue like elements like procedurally generated content or rpg elements.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:36am

Fun little game. What was the unconventional weapon? Was there audio?

RoryD says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:38am

I like that you can actually finish this game. I didn't see the unconventional part of the weapon.

Teesquared says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:53am

I liked the art style and the controls. Simple and fun game. No crashes for me. Plays great. Good job.

camlang says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:55am

Nice stile and gameplay!

Davikin92 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:59am

It's fun, but I don't think you addressed the theme very well because, yes, it's a helmet, an unusual weapon, but it shoots lasers, a quite usual weapon. You could have given the helment a better use, like filling it with water to kills the aliens (or whatever substance would do), bashing them with it, cutting them... there are plenty of possibilities. Graphics are good but I felt like there were very few levels, or they were too short.

elpaulo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:16pm

Nice graphics, and smooth gameplay ! Needz moar levels !

Pixel Heart says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:11pm

Really liked the idea of loosing color!

conniejoern says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:18pm

Great little game. I was a little short but that doesn`t mean it wasn`t fun.
The rogue-element was didn`t make much influence on the gameplay, but I can see where you were goning with this.
The artstyle was awesome! And I loved that you shoot laser out of your mouth.

Fabraz says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:13pm

Very, very interesting idea about the loss of color! But what about the LD theme?

Dege says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:23pm

does not work. Here the LOG
Firma problema:
Nome evento problema: CLR20r3
Firma problema 01: davis and the helmet.exe
Firma problema 02: 1.0.0.0
Firma problema 03: 5535d9d1
Firma problema 04: Otter
Firma problema 05: 1.0.0.0
Firma problema 06: 5535cb6a
Firma problema 07: 355
Firma problema 08: 0
Firma problema 09: System.DllNotFoundException
Versione SO: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.768.3
ID impostazioni locali: 1040
Informazioni aggiuntive 1: 0a9e
Ulteriori informazioni 2: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789
Ulteriori informazioni 3: 0a9e
Ulteriori informazioni 4: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789

Ryusui says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:33pm

Short but sweet. Loved the graphics style. Could've used some SFX, though (but I'm one to talk, given my LD31 entry XD)

randoman says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:57pm

Got stuck in the wall right after I teleported to the first boos area :(
The graphics are great and the loss of color is a really nice idea. I don't see the helmet as an unconventional weapon though...

Benjamin says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:04am

This was short but good. I like the artwork style and the fact you desaturate colors when player get hit. On some level you spawn too close from monsters. The game would improve greatly with just 3-4 sounds. You should have a look at Bfxr ou Labchirp for next LD

TeamCalcium says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:08pm

Cool Graphics, really nice pixel art!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]