Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Space Boy

by Hyoga-3D - Jam Entry

Controls:
Control Ship - WASD / Left Stick
Shoot - Arrows / Right Stick
Dash - Space / RB

Space Boy, this is my entry for the Ludum Dare 32 made in 48 hours, a spaceship shooting game where you need to survive until kill the boss.
Super Startdust HD is a super game and this ludum dare were my change to try to simulate that perfect formula, I'm a programmer, but since this was the first game that I worked alone, I managed to make all the programming and art.

I'm currently on the last year of Digital Games university here in Brazil and here is my website(http://bit.ly/pabloamaral) if you want to see some of my other games.

If you could leave a comment it would mean a lot!

*Maybe web version won't work on Chrome. And music was not composed by myself.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#187Fun(Jam)3.55
#262Graphics(Jam)3.79
#277Audio(Jam)3.28
#279Overall(Jam)3.50
#548Mood(Jam)3.01
#658Innovation(Jam)2.86
#855Humor(Jam)2.09
#1012Theme(Jam)2.17

Comments

Alice says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:31am

This game is awesome! Only thing I would add is a player score, because I would want to try and beat my high score.

xandrucea says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:06am

Nice gameplay and cool design!

Birke says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:53am

I liked it. The graphics are good and mapping the game onto a spherical surface makes it stand out. The problem with mapping it to a sphere is that it is difficult to determine where your shots will go so maybe use mouse to aim and then get the direction you should shoot in by doing a raycast onto the sphere would work better.

DarkGrisen says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 1:14pm

Really fun game! I also miss the high score.

longshorts says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:14pm

Really fun little game, esp with the dash mechanic. Music and graphics are well put together. It does definitely need a scoring mechanism however as it needs to give the player feedback as to how well they are doing. Also, I'm unsure how this fits the theme.

Ilseroth says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:37pm

I love the spherical movement system, but at the north and south poles it has a tendency to spaz out and start spinning in a circle wildly.

Also I am pretty sure that music is copyrighted? Not sure. Any case. Pretty fun, the controls feel a little wird but it looks good and other then at the poles feels alright as well. Though with the number of enemies perhaps up the firing rate a bit?

Cheshyr says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:37pm

I quite enjoyed this. Some navigation weirdness at the poles. Good graphics, familiar music, and and a nice pacing to the game. Well done.

vortex says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:37pm

Really liked the gameplay and the music, but dude...
Give us a Score!!!

benmcnelly says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:38pm

I would have never thought of this, great idea and good work :)

PyroSneak says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:42pm

Really fun game. All of it was really well done.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:42pm

A highscore was on my task jobs, but since I worked alone, I ran out of time.

Thanks for the feedback guys!

plams says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:47pm

Nice! Zooming around the poles is fun, weeeeeeee! Thanks for providing a Linux version.

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:51pm

Wow, this was a lot of fun. Great job!

Finn says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:52pm

A very fun shooter lacking a highscore feature! Can't quite see how the theme fits into this though.

Geared Games says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:23pm

That was really fun! At some point the amount of screenshake was way too much though. It's hard to see what's going on with the screen shaking all over

MightyToast says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:23pm

Wow! I love the quick ramp up of difficulty. The game gets good fast, and plays quite well. Cool physics, great graphics, and MAN that song is catchy. Great work!

ManicMiner says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:26pm

Very solid entry - although it doesn't really match the theme. Zooming round the sphere feels good, and there's a nice range of enemies - I also like your sneaky explosion effect which looks WAY more complex than it actually is... that's smart game development right there!

Tselmek says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:57pm

I like the spherical platform idea, the game is pretty fun to play despite some spazing out already mentioned in another comment. Good luck!

ChronusZ says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:27pm

Pretty fun, I don't like how the movement has poles.

Ludipe says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:36pm

It's a very fun game and the different enemies/hazards add a lot of variety to the gameplay.

As some people already pointed out, this game is screaming for a score tracker :)

Rulrite says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:22pm

This is a super-fun game! It's very thrilling to see how long you can last. I really like the music and the visuals, too; all of it is presented very well.

FrederickK says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:05pm

So beautiful and polished!
Good work with the shaders!
As was said, a score would be very nice! xD
An explanation of what everything does would be good too, not a huge deal, but I miss it. It can be here, just to be sure that I undestood everything about the game.
Congratz man!
Always good to see more people on comp! :)

hercludes says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:20pm

I really liked the graphics and feel of this game, it's definitely a very nice game. Unfortunately the dash was really hard to perform. Not sure if I'm doing it wrong but it was very unresponsive and hitting space would not activate it most of the time.

lanza says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:48pm

It's a very cool idea, and the graphics are awesome.

Jordan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:12pm

Pretty fun to fight while navigating around the planet. Really loved it.

jordyadan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:24pm

Great design

Lyje says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:54pm

The spherical idea is great, and the graphics are lovely. Controls and combat could really use some polish though.

Marcus316 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:37pm

LOL, you had me with the BG music! Love it! ;)

All said and done, nice work!

I agree with the comments about a high score. That would be awesome.

skiper4e says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:45pm

Amazing game! Would really like to see this expanded. One thingi don't like is that you lose ALL your upgrades when hit. I think it's way too brutal since you still get stronger enemies

Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:54am

Pretty game! I like the final fantasy esq fight music. The ship is cool and I like its little trail that it leaves. It feels cool to play.

Havacore says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:48am

This was a lot of fun. Loved the graphics style.

SpeirCeol says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:26am

That is incredibly awesome! and for a game made in 72 hours it is really outstanding, very nice!

jprogman says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:35am

If asteroids become 3d and on a sphere, this will be it. As for the music, is that Final Fantasy I'm hearing? :)

trenchgames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:53am

Fun concept and really good visual style.

JakeL168 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:57am

Cool. Except it ticks me off that the bullet wasn't being shot from the forward direction of the plane, otherwise it would have been perfect. :)

peterkirk says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:19am

I've always had an interest with 2d games that operate in a 3d environment. The art style is exceptionally lovely. I had a good deal of fun with this one. Good work.

TailyILoveYou says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:26am

That was fantastic! I loved the graphics and the sound. Very well done!

cmcoto says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:30am

Wow amazing game! Way to go! I had fun playing it... got some trouble at first with the controls as you have to use both wasd and arrow keys. But great job!

paruthidotexe says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:31am

I love the concept and a different art style. But not interesting to play repeatedly, yea i understand with in the time limit this is very great work..

terryg says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:48am

Fun game. I like that I can shoot the direction I want to shoot regardless of the direction that my ship if facing. I couldn't quite see how the game ends or what progress I was making. Still a very nice game. Good job!

Pinpickle says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:15am

Really fun and easy to control. I'm struggling to see the connection with the them, though. Also, it's hard to click on the buttons to play/restart when you can't see the mouse.

Buzzwerd says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:16am

This looked awesome, but it immediately spazzed out. Tried refreshing, but couldn't get it going. Awesome music and art though.

Bitterdeath says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:19am

The aiming is a little strange but otherwise the game is really fun. Then I got upgrades and had even more fun. As mentioned, the scoreboard is lacking.

safran says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:36am

Music, graphic, game idea, are all good. The only thing that's missing is the theme. Aside from that, this is an incredibly addictive game.

bradur says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:54am

Not well-related to the theme, but a very solid shmup! Fun to play and challenging.

Luke Nizik says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:07am

Great looking game. Very good job using ascetic assets. Maybe shooting with mouse would be a good idea.

GTA LUDUM V says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:11am

Must say that this is pretty amazing for a game you made alone. Though I'm not sure if this game fit the unconventional weapon theme.

Kaijuu says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:00am

Awesome!

Kaijuu says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:09am

Really awesome!

ccglp says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:11am

Nice game, pretty impresive to be made in 48 hours

Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:26am

very cool! being on a sphere really make the game interesting. my favorite is the dash though. its so fun to speed through hordes of enemies.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:10am

Nice looking, simple and fun.
It reminds me of the Geometric Wars series.
I had some movement problems on the south pole.

PurpleApes says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:44am

Nice Concept!

Deal With It says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:00am

Very cool!

jukimv1986 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:04am

I agree with others that a high-score would really fit your game. Very smooth to play, nice graphics, but I do not see a connection with the theme. Nice effort!

BermudaCake says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:24pm

Really cool! Gets a bit confusing when you go over the 'poles' of the sphere. I'm amazed that you did all the coding and art in 48 hours.

adnzzzzZ says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:34pm

I played this for a good half an hour. The progression feels just right and getting more powerful feels good too. General effects when you get hit/hit something also feel good and the the way things control (with the globe and all) is intuitive. The only thing I wish was different was that when you get hit you should, instead of losing all powers, just go back 1 or 2 levels, in my opinion. Other than that this was really great.

kivano says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:55pm

Very nice and polished game, Had a lot of fun playing it! I love this kind of 'arcadish' feel. Love spherical movement and the number of obstacles. The only bad thing is I can't really see a 'unconventional weapon' theme here.. Maybe I haven't progress enough to get that weapon?

rgehan says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:05pm

Very cool. I really enjoyed the way we can improve our ship, even tough I didn't understand at first this was the point of the red boxes.

Good graphics, good music (is it yours?), good gameplay.

The only problem is the weird behavior of the ship at the poles.

Destruktorrr says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:09pm

This was a great bullet-hell design! Never quite seen one like this, before! Great job!

Mekuri says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:18pm

Nice game. I got confused early on when I got stuck at one of the poles, and circled extremely fast. And then I was like "Aahh, of course!" - Great game, loved the controls and nice graphics!

gruhn says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:31pm

Another brazilian game! =)
With a few seconds, already had control of the attacks, making it easy to play.

Bom jogo.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:40pm

One of the better looking entries I've played so far and did enjoy the destruction of the enemies. Like that you were able to get a variety in the time limit.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:51pm

Cool little game you have here! It's cool the way the world rotates around and it's pretty fun when you start getting swamped by enemies

lochmann-apps says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:03pm

Awesome game, one of the best I've seen so far.

Flygamer101 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:16pm

Nice clean game, love the graphics and design. Really fun!

Nikteddy92 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:19pm

OMG I LOVE THIS!! Epic gameplay and nice graphic! This is the best so far! Well done!!!

p.s. I hope the player spacecraft is inspired by cowboy bebop swordfish! ;D

SadSmile says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:36pm

nice stardust hd clone! I miss the score tho :/

eott says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:50pm

A great game, not just for being made during LD, but in general. Unfortunately I could not see much of the theme in this game.

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:53pm

Looks pretty damn nice, sphere thing is cool, reminds me of the new geometry wars.

cbear_wallis says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:55pm

Pretty cool! ^_^ really responsive and looks great!

Jared Sartin says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:05pm

Awesome! Love the design. Would love to see scores.

PeterFonts says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:16pm

Great and addictive job!

SaintHeiser says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:43pm

Not fit the theme but I liked it. Very fun and adictive =)

funisfun8 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:44pm

Good game, not sure the theme was used that well as spaceship with lasers is pretty conventional. But the game overall is a blast to play.

Drauthius says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:49pm

Cool game. The mouse pointer isn't visible in Linux, but that's a minor issue. Couldn't seem to dash, but really fun nevertheless.

Chippington says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:51pm

It's a solid and fun game, very arcade and this game would improve significantly with a score system.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:02pm

This is a fun and pretty game, I enjoyed playing!
It becomes very hard when you die in a later stage, as you lack the powerups to beat the enemies..

I wish that the weapon was a bit more unconventional..

Wonderful colors and music, well done!

Mohagged says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:07pm

my favourite part is spinning at the poles @_@

kaa says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:34pm

Nice graphics!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:38pm

This game is great! I also missing a score, and perhaps see the shots. But it is very fun to play!

Reccy says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:58pm

Pretty fun little game, I like how all of the enemies and the player orbits around the planet.

daltostronic says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:10pm

This is great :) congrats!

callumW says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:10pm

Quite a solid game. Getting a game with a complete game loop (ie start and death retry etc) is quite hard in the time constraints. I think you could of done more with the theme though.

Dege says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:27pm

Awesome! I love it! It gets a bit weird on the poles but its really a great game!

fixitteam says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:39pm

awesome graphics and music :)

FistBumpGames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:50pm

Very cool space shooter! Nice graphics and sound and I really liked the depth blur around the astroids behind the planet!
Didn´t really get the unconventionality of the weapon though.

Hectigo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:12pm

Considering the other production values, it seems a bit odd that the game lacks any kind of explosions - this kind of action shooter would really benefit from some extra oomph. But it's really well balanced with a smooth difficulty curve and a nice pace.

mockthebear says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:25pm

Its a good game but i have seen nothing unconventional

Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:07pm

I Really dig the art, good job!

chanko08 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:51pm

I also had the issues with the poles of the sphere with odd movement. Really cool looking game nonetheless though, good job!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:07pm

Rad, rad, raaad.

DaveCarlile says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:09pm

Nice game. Makes me think of a modern Asteroids or something.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:41pm

This was a lot of fun! I felt strange whenever I was hit though: maybe the hit-boxes are too wide? It never felt like I was able to squeeze between things that it looked like I should be able to squeeze between. Does that make sense?

Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:45pm

Pretty good! I actually found this fun enough to play for a while. Although I usually don't care for scores, this is one game I believe needs them. Also, the depth-of-field effect where the objects farther from you are blurred was really nicely used. It just seemed to fit well with the game. Also, not sure if it's a bug, but my mouse was hidden, so I had to spam click around until I hit the play button. :P I really liked the "fighting on a sphere" mechanic, although I died multiple times from going onto the top of the sphere and getting stuck in a loop until I figured out how to escape. Also, it doesn't really seem to suit the theme. Great game, overall. :D

Split82 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:00pm

This was super fun. Took me a while to understand how it works, but then I enjoyed it a lot :)

esayitch says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:11pm

Music was good at first, but then got annoying. Graphics are pretty stylish. Gameplay is fairly solid, had to get used to the shooting directions at first but after that it was fun.

Cool entry, good luck!

xbcw says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:33am

I'm not sure the Final Fantasy II battle music is open source...

Reis Mahnic says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:14am

Great job! Really nailed the look and feel of Stardust, but still felt like your own thing visually. Loved it.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:25am

Hey guys thank you for all the feedback, It means a lot.

I have posted a new version, now you can play with a joystick and I also solved the north pole issue.

Keep Flying and Shooting \o/

Marjie62 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:35am

Excellent entry! The collision can feel a bit wonky / imprecise at times; perhaps due to the difficult-to-judge varying altitude of the objects?

ChuiGum says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:48am

Awesome music, and really nice clean graphics! Great game overall, I had fun!

goadrich says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:13am

Excellent graphics, and innovative world space! I wasn't sure about it at first, but I got used to and appreciated the ability to fire in any direction, especially when using multiple buttons at once. The music seemed a bit intense for the setting.

Budaniel says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:41am

Fun to play, at least with a controller. I did terrible with the keyboard. I like the sounds too, but I didn't really see any use of the theme.

Hammer Games says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:39am

One of the best games of the Ludum Dare 32!

Gameplay: Awesome!
Graphics: GREAT!
Theme: Failed to follow the theme
Sound: Perfect!

I suggest that you place a score with online leaderboards! We could play this game for hours! Congratulations!

strega says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:35am

Well done, you captured the general feel of superstar dust pretty well! I died a few times were it didn't seem like i hit anything though.

tmpxyz says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:40am

a sphere level design, really good idea.

iSamurai says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:44am

Awesome game! Cool graphics and music. Orbiting the planet is nicely done.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:59am

Really cool!
Would infinitely cooler with be better with controller support.
I had a couple of cheap deaths when an enemy spawned and fell down on to my head

benbateman says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:09am

This works really well and appeals to those who love games like geometry wars. Add a score system and this would be perfect :)

Switch says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:56am

Music reminded me Final Fantasy 9 battle theme :D

eskivor says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:18am

Nice game. Great music. A highscore system would be really cool. At the end, "Thanks for player" : WTF ?, I'm not a native english speaker but it's usually "Thanks for playing".

nopogo says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:27pm

I like the feel and look of the game a lot. Only thing not clear to me was when enemies were close enough to hit me.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:52pm

Really fun game :D

AlexDJones says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:26pm

Neat entry with some really great visuals.

fleegle2000 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:33pm

I like the graphics and the style, audio is decent. My only real complaint is I find it difficult to tell the difference between getting hurt and successfully destroying an enemy - they are not visually distinct enough, and until I figured out what I was supposed to do I was a bit confused about why I died. But overall it was a good experience!

commodoreKid says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:13pm

The idea is really good but I wish you could do something about poles.

xirion11 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:25pm

Great game!

x1212 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:38pm

Great game, I really like that graphic-style.

dunin says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:47pm

WOW, love this game, very nice shooter. My arms hurts so much now :(

jmborden says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:33pm

Very active game. You did a good job putting it together this "Robotron" game.

rodrigomotta says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:09pm

Hahah the Mini Super Stardust. Congrats to the prototype! Amazing work! Rated. Please, play and rate my game.

DKoding says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:35pm

Looks very cool and loved the music, Ufortunately I don´t have a dual stick controller so I could not really play it as I could not shoot properly it felt like. Liked the gameplay but not the most unconvetional weapon I would say.

ajopart says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:42pm

frenetic music ! Great job ! Miss a highscore. Sorry to ask but what is the link with the theme ?

Team-KwaKwa says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:39pm

You should consider put your game on anything else than your website, it is a so slow bandwidth.
For the game, it is nicely balanced, nice mood with the Final Fantasy (warning to not just take the melody if you want to avoid trouble). But I enjoyed my time playing it.

novadream says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:30am

Really fun, had to play it twice! :D
Would've liked to see some form of score though.

Elit3dGaming says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:37am

Very cool, maybe a timer and score would be cool and then display it at the end? Also I'm not sure if there is a way but a rare spawn on health would be cool too. Overall enjoyed the game a lot, replayed a few times to see other waves of enemy

lebrokholic says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:54am

It is an excellent representation of one of the most interesting and well-developed games on Ludum Dare #32. I am kin on playing that game and, frankly speaking, it is the first time when I put 5 stars as an overall score. Congrats!

jackrugile says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:59am

This concept is so cool ;) I had a blast. The blur on the far away objects looks awesome.

Dejvo says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:45am

really nice execution. i kinda didn't see where i was firing but that was a bug i assume. but the graphics are awesome and the music too. i could see this expanding into something big.

Prowler says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:41pm

As often mentioned. A high score would be nice. Its fun to play and the graphics are cool. You can do some really awesome maneuvers with that ship :D

Good job!

Toby Pinder says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:30pm

I really like what I'm seeing here. I think for the next one you should try to make or find open source/CC licensable music though, much as I love the Battle theme from FF2 :D

Camera work can be a bit jarring at first with the dashing, but I can see how it's intentional. Enemies are fun, graphics interesting, and spherical game spaces are always cool.

It doesn't feel like it's integrated with the theme though.

hbocao says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:43pm

Beautiful art, dude! Damn! Wonderful job at the gameplay too. Is the music yours? Because it's damn good.
Abraço do Brasil!

Tatsu Studio says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:47am

Really liked this game, the design is very cool! ^^ Good Job

AinoraZ says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:13pm

Probably one of the best game I have seen on here. Going to give very good rating! Good job!

Smiley says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:30pm

great game! my first five stars this year! :)

filipe.silva says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:21pm

I found quite interesting mix of asteroids with the face of the globe and new enemies. It was really cool. I also cool the fact the ship shoot the four independent directions which way to turn this ship.

Andrea says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:35pm

Great game with a lot of potential!
A little too easy to my taste, but that's about all the reserve I have on this title.
Great job!

abcdef65g says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:21pm

The graphics are seriously awesome. Seriously hard to believe this was achieved in a 2 days span, the graphical concept feels really cool. From a brazilian to another, it really is an awesome game which makes you want to beat yourself over and over. Oh and the final fantasy music helps to set the pace!

mildmojo says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 11:46pm

Wow, nice work! Very challenging. It took me a few tries to get to the UFO boss, but I didn't make it through. Good world design, enemy and player models, sound effects, and particles. The music was a touch loud compared to the sound effects and got a little repetitive, but the tone was right. Reminded me a little of Starfox music.

I played with a keyboard and felt like the WASD and arrows should be the other way around since arrows are more common for movement in PC games, but it worked fine as is. I didn't use dash much because it seemed more dangerous than helpful. A little like warping in Asteroids games.

I felt like the shield powerup should have a different color than the weapon upgrades, but that's a small thing. The weapon tiers were good upgrades in effectiveness.

It's awesome that you made this alone! Congrats!

Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:58am

Fun and polished game. Though, as others have mentioned, it doesn't fit the theme at all...

xhunterko says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:52am

Not sure what was the "unconventional" bit. The dash or the control scheme? Not for me I guess. But not bad.

NightShadow0 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:37pm

Nice gameplay and graphical style, but Final Fantasy music? Really?

Skiddings says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:28pm

A lot of fun to play and looks and sounds great, but it's not super linked to the theme. Good work!

sekaru says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:31pm

The graphics and gameplay are great!

SySaNiN says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:46pm

Very interesting idea!

efonsecab says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 5:06am

I loved it, interesting, good difficulty, and the music you used really keeps you in the mood to play it.

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 5:57am

This was fun to play, but I can't rate it highly in most categories because 1) you admitted it's a clone and 2) the music is definitely not open source or otherwise legal for you to use. I don't remember which Final Fantasy game it's from, but it's definitely Final Fantasy music.

Apr 26, 2015 @ 2:21pm

Awesome game, very addictive. The art style and the music fit very well. The only improvement I currently see is a better color coding of stuff. Right now, power ups, hurting rocks which contain power ups, the player and parts of enemies are red. I think it would improve the game if you color things which don't hurt on collision with another color than everything else. :)

DeadFragment says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 4:31pm

You really should make a comment about the BGM you're using as it's clear you're using this song https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b8TdhrqIc9c or some modified version of it as people will be rating you on your audio. The gameplay was smooth and fun and the game had a nice style to it.

-Neith

coderitual says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 7:28pm

Fantastic game. One day I would like to create something like this. I had similar idea how my game should look like. Gameplay is a little boring... but overall is much way better than mine :)

LeReveur says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 9:02pm

Well done ! I realy enjoyed play this one !

Squarlboy says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 11:53pm

this is really fun.

yuigoto says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 7:43am

The game's really fun and it really has that "Super Stardust" formula in it, though I didn't quite get the use of theme, unless the fact that "dashing" makes the ship the unconventional weapon. :P

Nice work with the stylized graphics and gameplay in general, feels pretty good to play the game! But, as everyone says, I'm missing some scoring here. :P

And, to finish: Bom trabalho! O jogo, em geral, ficou bem bacana! :)

Marek Lisý says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 4:39pm

Very catchy game, I kept playing again and again. My only (but a big one) complaint is, that it is definitely not connected to the theme, unconventional weapon. I mean, space shooters are one of the most common games. However, the game design and gameplay definitely wasn't conventional :)

jk5000 says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 8:54am

A fun game, which is based on a good idea. But The Weapon is not really Unconventional.

wooltech says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 12:27pm

Fun game, although I'm not sure how much it fits the theme. The gameplay was smooth and the graphics worked well. I wasn't sure what collecting the red blocks did, but otherwise it was very intuitive.

May 1, 2015 @ 4:40pm

You have some good basics here, but I experienced some unfortunate movement bugs when I was playing the game. I'm not quite sure how it relates to the theme either. The core gameplay is decently fun though!

MaesK says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 11:17pm

Nice game! Good graphics and interesing mechanics. Just a tip: red enemies might need another color as people may confuse them with powerups.

And... hey, is this music from a Final Fantasy? Sounds very similar, if so, be careful with using copyrighted material. It sounds great, but because of it I expected swords and magic, not planets and spaceships :P

May 4, 2015 @ 4:01pm

Pssst - you are in todays Ludum Dare to Believe! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5huV5G4H100

Lukbebalduke says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 4:37pm

Nice graphics style and gameplay =D

Krunoslav says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 5:35pm

Hard game or maybe it is not my style. Anyway, i like it. (nice enemies)

joe40001 says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 12:28pm

Very well made well polished game.
Almost perfect, only complaint is it doesn't do a good job with the theme. Space lasers are a very conventional weapon.

Otherwise perfect though.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 3:14am

very good game - lacked using theme and the keyboard controls were a little hard - overall great game

RARoadkill says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 12:51am

Had a ton of fun with this one. played it for quite awhile. Really well done

freeholdgames says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 4:47pm

A lovely little technical design. I'd probably like a little more feedback during the dash; right now it just jumps ahead in a single frame, which I think could feel improved. Awesome work :)

Menesetsu says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 3:24pm

Great entry! Not sure if it suits theme well but the overall execution is very good! Well done, sir.

BIZM says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 4:04pm

Great level of polish. Really liked the graphics and overall feel!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]