Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Velo-City

by TeamEagle - Jam Entry

Velo-City is an audio based high velocity game. Can you cover the most ground in Velo-City?

The theme is the fact that there is no weapon (and no killing) involved at all, which is unconventional for most games nowadays.

HOW TO PLAY
arrow keys - accelerate / turn
Q/E - dodge
space - speed boost

TEAM EAGLE IS
Programming - Benjamin de Jager (@m0rph3v5)
Programming/Art - Fedor Jutte (@fejuto)

TOOLS
Unity
Maya
Audacity

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#9Fun(Jam)4.20
#80Mood(Jam)3.86
#131Overall(Jam)3.75
#233Graphics(Jam)3.84
#598Innovation(Jam)2.97
#909Humor(Jam)1.83
#1054Theme(Jam)1.68

Comments

GFM says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:48am

The download link seems wrong... It actually points to google. ._.

TeamEagle says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:20am

Whoops, fixed now!

sararyCow says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:56am

I love the style! I really have the feeling of travelling.

dyfer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:59am

Don't know what's the weapon but the game is cool and fun. I really like your cutout shader.

TeamCalcium says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:47pm

Really nice! I especially like how the environment reacts to the music.

Diventurer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:49pm

I've been waiting for this since I saw your first post. It's as good as I expected. By the look of the .gif, you could see that this is a game that would feel AMAZING to play.

The controls are very nice, and the music and the way the environment reacts to it is incredible!

I love this, dude!

Very nice music!
Love the graphics style!

RyanNielson says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:52pm

Not sure exactly what the unconventional weapon is, but this game is pretty fantastic. The graphics are especially awesome, some of my favourite I've seen during this jam. The soundtrack is also quite great and works well with the game.

Well done!

indigo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:54pm

The tune and the environment responding to it makes this game! And it's really fun to play.

IMO the controls could be a little more responsive and objects on the horizon should appear a little earlier. But good job otherwise.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:56pm

It's the best game I played this LD so far, but it has nothing in common with the theme of the Jam.

Diventurer says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:01pm

By the way, I got 31.46km, and I had like 5 seconds left of the game. I ALMOST WON.

I'm addicted :D

Matsuki says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:12pm

That was a lot of fun, wish the source was up as I like the way the controls feel and would love to see how you did it, but overall nice job!

retrophantom says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:17pm

nice mechanic, maybe vr support would be cool

PanKamil says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:18pm

Even without gameplay, it would be still so damn pleasant to watch and listen to. Good job.

Why is there no rating for the Sound category?

TeamEagle says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:21pm

@indigo we did not create the audio ourselves within the 72h jam so we opted out of it

2Bit says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:29pm

Tight controls, good game feel. Very juicy, overall a nice little experience.

Malsanity says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:43pm

Very decent game!

eastes says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:50pm

Sweet game, Team Eagle! I love the low poly look and used it in my comp game too.

I love the attention to detail you went through with the object shaking in time with the music. Clever procedual code too.

lanza says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:50pm

Very cool game, graphics and the music music fits the game, well done.

Tuism says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:56pm

Aw MAN!!!

I LOVE THIS TO PIECES!!

I've always wanted to make a game that really captures the essence of speed. WipeOut just isn't quite right, but close. Swooping over fields, etc. Flower and Journey, wierdly enough, got close to what I was looking for...

But dodging - what you added - is essential to what I was looking for. Bullet time dodging, too.

My first LD game previous was going for that kind of feeling sans speed - bullet time dodging stuff (video: http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-32/?action=preview&uid=35114), it wasn't great at hitting the mark, but yours. MAGNIFICENT :D

Race The Sun had a bit of that but not quite. Not enough movement options.

The music/environmental mix is brilliant, do you just key off events to time along the soundtrack?

The biggest problem is that the keyboard struggles when I try to go right + E + space + forward. So I can't really feel the speed. Any chance of an Xbox controller build?

GFM says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:01pm

Yay, it's fixed now! Also, thanks for the linux support!

The game is gorgeous! I really liked the animation of the spawning geometry!
It's also so fun! I retried it a lot of times, trying to beat my best score (around 30 KM, never letting go of the boost).

The only thing that annoyed me was the lack of controller support. I could only rebind the movement (which, at least, enabled me to stop the sticking keys), but the other keys were hard coded...

mokujin says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:29pm

That was Epic music adventure

Insality says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:35pm

awesome game, love the such speed feelings! Great!
But i didnt using this dodge keys :D

Insality says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:56pm

Also, best way to count score: count how far is player from start
There is way to get highscore just at start point ;)

Cheshyr says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:21pm

fun little game; reminds me of Race the Sun. Music was excellent, and the music sync with the obstacles was cool. nice work!

Azure_Kyte says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:32pm

Fun game! Also woot, High Score!

Bemmu says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:36pm

Beautiful game with great music sync. I could see this being the start of a commercial product to appear on Steam Greenlight later. The environment getting gradually more threatening along with the music turns out to work great and really makes you anticipate how the melody progresses.

DarkwindMedia says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:49pm

The flying feels great and the music is great too! I had a lot of fun flying around, nice job :)

Druid says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:50pm

Omg this game is all 5 XD Sir, you made my day brighter! Thank you!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:50pm

Great experience ! thanks.

TideS says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:53pm

May be its not about weapons but the game itself is very fun and hardcore. Also i liked implementation of leaderboard.

lcarpentier says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:53pm

Great game. The leaderboard is a neat idea. Not sure about the theme though but it's jam, doesn't matter. Best experience I had so far

43iscoding says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:57pm

Very cool concept, neat graphics, and really bad-ass shaders & mysic synchronization! Well done :)

PyroSneak says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:58pm

Really good game, spent way too long trying to get in the top 10

Jack31081988 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:05pm

nice!

Hectate says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:06pm

This is amazingly fun. The public demands more music tracks!

coderitual says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:09pm

I really like sense of speed and colors!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:16pm

Nice, stylish, well-balanced and same genre as my game. Perfect combination!

Tipyx says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:18pm

So fuckin' excellent !
The music and the speed sensation are so good :3.

Jagang says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:23pm

Game feels a lot like "Race the Sun"
Great synergy of music and visuals. The world felt really organic! Why can't I vote for music? It was the best I heared so far!

cbear_wallis says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:28pm

Very cool!! ^_^ I loved the sense of speed

strawfield says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:41pm

Holy shit! This is very well done, great job guys. I love what you did with the music. Shame the momentum of the game just stops when you lose.

bror_charlie says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:41pm

Really enjoyable game! The pulsing of the obstacles was a great touch that really brought you into the world. It felt like I was going 1000 miles an hour which is a really difficult thing to achieve even for AAA games with years of development.

That being said it has nothing to do with the theme.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:50pm

Pretty cool game! Quite similar to Race The Sun. I'm not sure how it fits with the theme, but that aside its certainly an experience. I like the audio/visual synchronisation!

Leaghorn says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:53pm

Plays great. Sense of speed is good, but it's too simple in terms of cempetition. There shoud be some bonuses for dangerous flying, near misses, etc. Then there would be a field to improve. Now if you survive to the end without crashing you'll get 33.8km +/- 0.1 depending on how fast you press acceleration after restarting. Shame there is no gamepad support or at least custom keyboard mapping. Or at least couple of config to choose. My keybord locks when Space + arrow + a is pressed. The Space-boost is pointless. It should be turbo auto-ON. It misses some destroying of the ship on crash.

Overall its nice, plays good, but it has nothing to do with this Game Jam which theme is Unconventional Weapon.

Sanka.X says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:53pm

I don't understand what is the wapeon, but it's the realy cool game. Love the music and the wobbling effect on the piece of land !

nassi says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:00pm

Leaderboards? I love leaderboards! Too bad I wasn't able to take the top spot this time :,(.

Really cool game both aesthetically and gameplaywise, but the connection to the theme is indeed loose at best.

dix says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:04pm

nice game :D It reminds me of a game played a couple of ld ago. nice idea the leaderboard, it get's you keep playing :D At 30km it's pure madness :c

ManicMiner says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:05pm

Seriously lovely game - an amazing sense of speed. I'm actually working on a personal project that is trying to have exactly this feel and you are WAY ahead of me... really nicely done!

BubuIIC says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:16pm

Wow, this looks and feels amazing!! Really good job!

The-Force says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:20pm

This remindme of a similar game I thought long ago.
I really like it! good job!

RHY3756547 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:23pm

Very nice! Reminds me of wipeout, and the difficulty at the end is really intense. Everything before that is super easy though, and the difficulty seems to spike at a certain point. The flight controls are really satisfying too.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:39pm

I loved controlling the ship, and seeing the buildings and obstacles grooving to the beat is awesome :D Really good game, wish that I didn't have to input my name every time I crash to play again, a quick restart button would have been nice, and maybe remember my name by using playerprefs.

Now... I have no idea what is the unconventional weapon D: Seems like it doesn't have anything to do with the theme at all.

dcRfj15 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:24pm

This is a really fun game!

I really enjoyed watching the buildings appear, also the plane had controls which made sense, and made the game easy to figure out. It was cool seeing the plane be able to do crazy maneuvers when dodging the buildings. Watching the blocks vibrate at the beat of the background music was cool too.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:50pm

Awesome combination of gameplay and music, but totally haven't found any weapon.

DragonXVI says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:58pm

26th :D Excellent little thing. Add a few more procedural elements, landscapes 'n music and I'd buy the full version of this :D Only qualm is I don't see how it fits the theme, but as a standalone game I reckon you should keep goin' with it. Music good, sync'd elements good, visual style 'n controls good, challenge good and bonus points for competitive high score!

Suhvan4ik says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:03pm

Reminds me of Race the Sun and i love that game. So that means that I liked this one (=

AlexDJones says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:01pm

Not sure how it relates to the theme, but this was a really well made and entertaining entry! Loved the implementation of the leaderboard.

ehtd says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:37pm

A mix of race the sun and inception, pretty cool!

CliffracerX says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:35am

This is fun enough, not sure about how it fits in with the theme though.

Music volume adjustment would be good, it current blows out my eardrums if I wear headphones.

nicotuason says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:26am

dude. DUDE. So much epic feelings... this is PERFECT!

Kaijuu says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:28am

Awesome atmosphere!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:34am

a lot like race the sun - not sure what the weapon is - was it me?

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:25am

Doesn't seem to fit the theme at all, but I enjoyed the music, the pulsing blocks, and the feel of the game overall.

Sunsheen says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:27pm

33.89km, taking the #1 spot! Wooooooooo! The piano suspense build from 45s to 15s is so hype.

rmc says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:13pm

an Incredible game!

love the graphics, love how it has a good replay value!

i just lost some time trying to get into the top score (got only 33th =/)

NoxNode says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 12:16am

Pretty cool game, was pretty awesome when the boxes started vibrating lol. Doesn't seem to have anything to do with the theme tho.

SpringCabal says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:36am

I had great fun playing the game. The mood was also great but it seems the music wasn't yours sadly. The graphics is great despite the fact you're using simple shapes only (which is why it isn't perfect). I don't think it fits the theme well.

Ludipe says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:13pm

Really nice game! Kind of reminds me to "Race the sun". The art is fantastic and the gameplay is fun and addicting.

Apr 24, 2015 @ 4:05pm

The music is great and liked the way the objects react to the pulse of the music. Was a nice touch. Got past 30km so was happy with my effort.

rnlf says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:54pm

The game itself is pretty cool, but somehow I couldn't get the inputs to work correctly. My keyboard seems to have problems with left, up and space being used at the same time, so that I could not use speed boost and steer left at the right time. My XBox-Controller allowed steering, but I was unable to map any of the other functions to the controller. In fact, at first I didn't even notice there was speedboost and dodging, so my highscore of 21.021 was achieved without either ;-)

Nonetheless, the game was very cool, especially how the obstacles vibrate with the beat! Very, very cool. The visuals fit the game perfectly. And well... the interpretation of the theme is even for me a bit too lax, but still a great game!

LukeZaz says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 1:55am

Nice game. Very fun, though the theme interpretation felt very much lacking.

Lynx says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:34am

Very interesting game, and VERY addictive....... although in all honesty "no violence" is not a "weapon".... maybe unconventional.... but not a weapon. Great low-poly graphics too!

jhrrsn says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:10am

Cool game! The first time I played it I didn't really get it (it's very easy to survive if you go slow) but then I saw my score! Determined to get onto the leaderboard, I went in again and put in a respectable distance. The controls & vector-style graphics are awesome!

Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:20pm

Really excellent entry. Love the shader effect that brings the geo into visibility, a great solution to the popping/clipping issue. Love the art style as well. Having the geo shake to the music was really cool too. Great work!

KhaoTom says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:18pm

Love the sync with the music.

Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:15pm

Good one! I'm always looking for limits in games, here the limits ARE the game ! Well done

Snicklodocus says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 1:25am

Great atmosphere and sense of speed. I loved how the obstacles react to the music. Sometimes it was difficult to see walls against the sky, but maybe that's intentional. Also, it seems this game does not tackle the theme at all. Regardless, it's very fun. Good job!

Omiya Games says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 2:00am

Very cool, addicting game. I didn't necessarily feel I was traveling quickly due the lack of effects to convey that emotion. The big structures didn't help me grasp a point of reference to the speed the ship was traveling until I got dangerously close to them. Additionally, I think the camera should follow more closely to the ship, especially when it's traveling much faster.

Seriously, though, those dodge buttons are amazing! Had plenty of close calls with them.

MrShoestore says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 2:05pm

visually reminds me a lot of Race the Sun. doesn't fit the theme though. the mood is great, but it was game over for me without me knowing what happened. was it because the music was over? I didn't hit anything. I was a little lost as to why I lost.

May 1, 2015 @ 8:49pm

Really fun and nice entry. Great job. :)

crazyrems says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 10:03pm

I love musical games and this one isn't an exception.
I would like to play it with my own music but it seems that cube reactions are for that specific soundtrack.

Geckoo1337 says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 10:03pm

A good vibe. I liked the minimalist aesthetic and the sensations. In fact this project seems really poor, but it delivers many fun. Really hard sometimes. Thumbs up ++

coderitual says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 10:45pm

Three words. Race The Sun. Niiiiiiiice!

jmborden says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 12:49am

This is one of those games where you paid attention to detail. Just being able to quit the game with the escape button is something a lot of Unity games lack! I like how you have a leader board with this game. I like how the columns are built up out of triangles right before your eyes. Though maybe not the most impressive graphically in terms of textures, you did a great job building the scene with just columns. Nicely done!

lochmann-apps says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 6:32am

Nice one, really like the bouncing obstacles! Real nice entry!

Gunzil says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 5:51am

Good grpahics, I'm a sucker for low poly, especially when you have environmental elements pulsing to the background music.

There is no clear goal, I was able to figure I was supposed to just keep moving as few as I could by noticing a "distance traveled" gui item and a "time" item ticking down next to it.

I like the way the ship moves, and how you can do little tricks where it flies to the right or left. They're ultimately not very useful but fun to watch your ship do little tricks like that.

Having a more linear environment where you need to constantly be moving forward towards something would have given the game a much clearer goal. The obvious comparison here is race the sun.

TeamEagle says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 11:37am

@Gunzil that's exactly why we wanted to avoid moving to a single obstacle.

May 11, 2015 @ 4:52pm

Awesome gameplay and graphics! It's so fun to try to beat the high score. One time I tried the "spinning in circles at the start" technique, but it only got me about 10k before I crashed. The only downside is that it doesn't seem to incorporate the theme well. It feels like a racing game, although I guess even those nowadays usually have weapons involved.... Wish I could vote 4.5 overall.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]