Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Symmetric Torpedo

by francoisvn - Compo Entry

Kill or be killed in a submarine-on-submarine battle.

Your torpedoes have a panel you can edit. Make this panel as symmetric as possible to boost the torpedo's damage and accuracy.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#33Innovation4.14
#81Fun3.82
#89Overall3.82
#158Mood3.52
#165Graphics3.79
#470Audio2.85
#728Theme3.14

Comments

Suese says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:04am

Superb!

Zeriver says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:05pm

Took me a moment to get how to "optimize" missles but when i got it, it was really fun to destroy enemy submarines.

BTW: that sound when enemy missle is approaching gets really annyoing after a while.

Sorak86 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:52pm

pretty nice idea!
Took me a while to understand it tho

helekopeter says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:44pm

AMAZING!

sbarrio says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:48pm

Really interesting puzzle game!

10FingerArmy says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:53pm

Loved it! At first I didn't understand to which axis the panel has to be symetrical to but I think it's the vertical one. Very well done and executed. All on one screen is also a plus :-)

CryoGenesis says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:55pm

Very interesting game. Incredibly well done!

Polyomino says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:16pm

really nice puzzle game

fleegle2000 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:41pm

I wasn't exactly sure what I was doing at first, until I read the rest of the page. Once I realized what I was supposed to do it was pretty engaging and challenging. Graphics are clean and crisp. I found that one sound a bit harsh on my ears (I think it's the one that plays when a torpedo launches?). Otherwise a great entry! Keep up the good work.

tppr2046 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:02am

Interesting!

mildmojo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:25am

This is lovely. The UI is beautiful (I'm a sucker for control panels). It took me a few games to get the hang of the symmetry and to learn to look at the damage and accuracy meters and launch when they were "good enough" rather than trying to squeeze every last bit of perfection out of the tube.

The sound did a nice job of keeping the pressure on, and I like how the auto-replenishing "reserves" limit you from just firing off endless mediocre torpedoes. I haven't been able to get through the second wave, but I'll come back to this one. =) Congrats.

Tuism says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:25pm

Really cool concept! The initial moment of *wtf* can be reduced a bit, but as soon as I remembered the title, things made sense. I think the interface doesn't help that matter - it would be good to remove/recede some of the clutter, and placing them in a more logical manner around the screen.

For example, what's the significance of even having a load button? There's never a reason not to press it, so you might as well make it automatic.

I love that here's a blocks game that has nothing to do with "matching" :) Good stuff! :)

Zielak says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:03pm

Very innovative. Sounds do really great job to make the whole experience more frightening. Could be very well played on mobile (and very easily ported #haxe hehe)

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:02am

I loved that mechanic. I got really anxious worrying about getting hit while simultaneously trying to balance risk/reward wondering whether it's best to launch now or optimize it further. It got really intense and I loved it. Definitely on my come back to play a second time list.

cgmorton says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:34am

Once I noticed there were bars measuring damage and accuracy, it started to make sense. But then it stopped making sense because I couldn't figure out why one configuration was considered more symmetrical than another...

I mean, great game, I just don't seem to 'get' it.

Jimjam says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:13am

This is fantastically original and was a lot of fun to play once I got better at the arranging. Love it!
My only issue was difficulty. The opponent's non-stop torpedoes meant I only got to the second level on try # 2, but I definitely felt that I was getting better at it over time, so maybe the difficulty is just right then.
Awesome game!

Pixel_Reaper says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:51pm

Very interesting, cant say I got the torps optimized though :P

madflame991 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 7:06pm

I honestly had fun. It took me some time to figure out what's what.

pythong says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:00pm

a bit hard to understand, but whn you get it, it's good. though not really fitting the theme

Lerc says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:01pm

I felt as though you should gain some hull strength between battles. By the time you get to the multi coloured patterns you are already on diminished strength.

TheFuntastic says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:33pm

Struggled to figure out the mechanic. Started by just playing. My first assumption was to try and create vertical rows of colours. In my mind this was the metaphor that you're clearing the path for the torpedo, so the more lined up things were the better it would travel. I then tried clumping colours together. Basically I went from connect four to match 3 mechanics. I re-read the symmetry instruction, but I couldn't figure out what the desired axis of symmetry was so I gave up and just tried the clumping strategy for a while.

I then tried spamming for a while and that's when I noticed that some torpedos actually miss. I then thought it would be nice to get some kind of info on how close I was to destroying the opposition. It was only at this point where I felt like I'd finished playing that I then ignored the clear an present danger of the other ship and tried to figure out the relationships between all the elements of the interface. This was the first time I actually "saw" any of these interface elements. This is interesting in that it shows you how effective humans are at filtering out information, especially when there is a clear and present danger.

So this was the first time I noticed the damage and accuracy bars. With this I started to build a model of the desired symmetry, but I still don't quite grok it. I also noticed that indeed there was a counter showing your oppositions health.

I did however really enjoy the feel of your main interaction. When I figured out how to use a six block area to move a tile to where I wanted it, that was a particularly nice moment. I enjoyed the sense of speed solving, and having to trade off how solved the puzzle was against just getting a new puzzle. I think there is something there and that the dressing around the game is completely incidental (eg its about the grid and not about smashing subs). This means that you could strip away the entire interface (I was ignoring anyway) and just have the grid. Would make for an interesting mobile game.

Also I think staring on a smaller grid with a target that doesn't fire at you would be a great way to gently introduce the concept. Also not regenerating health between rounds felt really punishing. ;)

fserb says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:38pm

I really loved the interface and the idea. The concept of "symmetric" is very confusing (I think in the end the best I could get was: "sequence of lines of red and blue" which seems to maximize the chance of hitting, but not the damage). If the board on the right made a bit more sense this would be one the best games I've played so far. Overall, good job. :)

jk5000 says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 8:40am

A nice game. But can quickly get tired of the sound.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]