Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Robo Limb

by ThreeUp - Compo Entry

You are a robot with regenerating limbs. Detach them and kill the other robots!

Everything except the head will regenerate so aim well.

Physics and aiming bugs are everywhere so you can use escape to back out.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#125Theme3.93
#198Innovation3.67
#434Graphics3.22
#608Humor2.62
#903Overall2.76
#941Fun2.51
#964Mood2.27
#1667Coolness40%

Comments

tomdeal says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:06am

Solid Attempt. It could be a very funny game, though I got a few problems with it. My limbs did not hit the enemy (at all?) and sometimes I've got stuck with parts I could not fire or cycle (like the hands) or Limbs did not regenerate.

jsmars says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:07am

Great looking animations and work, camera was a bit slow to follow and it was a bit hard to aim and shoot.. would be cool if there was a goal/challange :)

shyupuff says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:08am

Wow these graphics are really nice. Theme fits well, and it's super fun. Movement is a little bit jerky, but overall this was a really fun game (:

hercludes says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:36pm

I can't seem to throw anything. Was able to at one point, no longer now. Even when I restart it seems I'm not able to fire anymore. I think it's a bug but it might be an error on my part. I like the idea of taking your body apart and throwing it, and I think the graphics are beautiful, just needed more debugging.

Fanttum says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:09am

Fun idea, but the character is a bit hard to move around and the camera isn't great. Would like to have seen some more different things too.

Lacaranian says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:54am

A bit buggy. Nice models, from the looks of it. Fell off the edge aaaaa...

anokta says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:58am

the very best concept i have seen in this jam so far. it's hilarious yet fun despite the bugs and all! i secretly wish for a multiplayer spinoff for this one. amazingly done!! :)

ddalacu says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:15am

The concept is realy original but it is hard to shoot and sometimes thigs get weird parts become a lot bigger but if this had a lot more smoothness ,this would of be my preferate game.

Huo-cuo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:00am

Original and theme matching idea. Really good animations.

bradur says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:45am

Well made 3D! The idea and mechanics were well though out but the implementation was a little rough(understandably so for such a short time!). I was having a hard time hitting the heads sometimes. The animations and models were very well made.

kikijin says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:35am

Great idea but a lot of problem of camera

edve98 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:19pm

I can't aim st all in this game, it is very hard to hit something. I have experienced a few problems (falling out of map, not regenerating limbs)

43iscoding says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:02pm

The concept is unique, and walking animation is pretty smooth, but the shooting part is actually pretty buggy. And it's hard to understand what those pickup bonuses do :/

eddynardo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:45pm

The game looks preety good.
Animations are the best i ve seen so far.
Player control is smooth almost perfect( i had some camera problems).
Many bugs that need to be fixed (left click sometimes fails,limbs sometimes regenarate far from player)
Throwing my limbs to other people was really fun though :)

rplnt says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:47pm

Buggy. Great idea though! Work on it.

kristof says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:02pm

Funny idea. The controls are a bit unconventional. It took me a while to understand how to aim and shoot. But the game looks cool. Especially the character animations look great.

novadream says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:57pm

I think I get that you somehow shoot your limbs at the other bots, but it was tough to see what all was happening when you did.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:20pm

Got stuck inside a lot of the enemies and it seemed like my limbs never quite hit people or flew the way I expected them to. Great graphics and running animation though.

MasterOfNaN says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:28pm

Tremendous animations and realism in the robot characters, particularly given the time constraints. Nicely done!

oparisy says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:23pm

The walking cycle was very nice, is this a standard Unity asset? I liked the quality of the animation, and the global look/shading of robots. The games seemed fun, but the camera was painful (too slow in tracking player movements). No sounds? Some walking sounds and shooting noises would have conveyed some urgency, which was a little bit laking. Oh, I loved that there were bots/teams. Felt like unreal tournament :)

coderitual says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 8:34pm

I like the way player is moving (smooth). Also really great aniations. Well done!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]