Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Jammie Dodger

by dreamlogician - Jam Entry

Jammie Dodger* is a basic shmup with a twist: all of your ship's movement is performed by firing your weapon.

As the pilot of the Jammie Dodger, your mission is to guide your tiny ship along the two different-colored tracks to avoid being hit by flying asteroids.

How long can you survive?


[Instructions]
- Move the mouse to aim your laser sights.

- Click to fire your laser. You can also hold the left mouse button down to fire a continuous beam.

- Your ship is the white diamond, and it will move each time you fire your laser. The movement direction is based on the color of the asteroid you hit:

No asteroid hit = move left
Same color as current track = move right
Different color from current track = jump to other track


[Credits]
Jamey Stevenson (dreamlogician)
Anthony Rossello (Brightstar)
Ampera


* a.k.a. "Star Track" (EU), "Shmuppet Babies" (JP)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#15Innovation(Jam)4.24
#298Fun(Jam)3.34
#346Overall(Jam)3.41
#563Theme(Jam)3.29
#1497Coolness45%

Comments

Omiya Games says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:25am

Interesting mechanic. There are multiple strategies possible to increase the length of your survival. The "anything hit line automatically moves character" part is incredibly brutal, leading to a lot of accidental deaths. Combined with limited controls, at times I feel the game can be unfair.

That said, the level progression is pretty darn good. Since it's so short, it's pretty darn addicting.

jackrugile says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:00am

I loved the concept, I have played anything quite like that before. I got 86 seconds. With some more levels, sfx, music, and little bit of graphic tune up, this game could go far. Nice job!

Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:15am

Really fun concept, and I like the way it was executed. Pretty cute :)

tummyache says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:34am

Didn't click at first and thought that the best strategy was to just sit in a corner, but once I got it I found it really intriguing. I think it's a really cool concept.

ajopart says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:46am

Truly an intriguing concept. Keep digging and you should be on somethinhg there. Perfect for a touch based gamplay.

Techblogogy says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:50am

Very good concept. Really enjoyed the game!

Dejvo says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:35pm

it's a bit confusing, but neat and original. good job

Taldius says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 1:20am

Good concept, I like the idea of the main mechanic. However it's really hard to play, but with some polish it could be a really good game.
I also love the minimalist style, it's simple but it give it a good style.
Good job!

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:34pm

This is a really cool and unique mechanic. It takes a little while to get the hang of, but once you do, it's a really fun arcade game. The one thing that frustrated me was asteroids appearing right next to one of the endpoints of the red or green line, since it's the one position where you have next to no time to react to the asteroid spawning. If the game screen were just a bit wider, this wouldn't be an issue. Either way, awesome game!

Gunzil says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:16am

Simple little gameplay prototype. Combining attacking with movement is interesting, but overall it felt a too unpredicatable regarding whether I lived or died. You can potentially make some very fast, dramatic movements that can end in you just skirting past an enemy or running right into them. Both outcomes were usually not planned by me and just kind of happened. Visualizing the trajectory of the player before they shoot an enemy might help with this.

steboots says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 11:57pm

Thank you Jamey for making a game simple enough that I feel I should be better at it. And thank you jackrugile for announcing 86 seconds... only 40 more seconds to go...

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 4:32am

Really fun concept. Neat ++

alpha_rat says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 9:44am

Simple and effective gameplay idea!

May 3, 2015 @ 2:09am

this is an extremely novel concept which came together impressively well! I'd be very interested to see if this could be expanded to work with hand-crafted bullet patterns at all.
The game does currently work very nicely with random hazards, however, and might even work well on mobile as a twist on the randomly generated endless runner.

May 5, 2015 @ 3:15am

Interesting and challenging mechanic. Can be frustrating at times because it never quite got to be an intuitive mechanic, but cool little game nevertheless. Nice job.

Crowbeak says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 7:01am

That's a really unique game you've got there. Well worth the mental adjustment in getting used to the mechanics.

NAL says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 11:26am

This takes some wrapping your head round! :S Unique concept, and for how simple the game is, deviously fun.

Larzan says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 8:26am

Wohoooww, this is difficult to wrap ones head around.
Interesting controls, not sure if they can work, for me it was quite frustrating to be honest.
But interesting concept.

Forlorn79 says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 11:29pm

The concept is good, and I think it could be improved with more polish and more variety. It is a difficult game with no win condition, but maybe that could change? See you soon!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]