Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Dream Extension Finger

by NAL - Compo Entry

Clancy woke up one day to discover that, miraculously, his right index finger could extend and retract to a massive degree. Naturally, he did the only thing he believed was right.

He went around poking living things to the point of spontaneous combustion.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#13Fun4.17
#64Overall3.90
#85Graphics4.07
#103Theme3.97
#138Mood3.57
#161Audio3.45
#224Innovation3.62
#237Humor3.35
#1566Coolness44%

Comments

bpvelloso says ...
Apr 18, 2015 @ 11:49pm

Awesome game, awesome!!!! Very Funny game, and beautiful, fantastic. My high score is 1020. Thankyou for this game!

TaoPhoenix says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 12:52am

Harder than it looks. I think the "danger box" is so far away from you, it makes it tricky to see when you get hit. I think I'd have preferred if they fly all the way to you before it registers a hit.

By the way,

The DonationCoder LudumDare 32 April 2015 thread is here:
http://www.donationcoder.com/forum/index.php?topic=40573.0

It happens to be their 10th anniversary! So I don't program myself ... so I am unleasing Weapons Grade Enthusiasm!

If you stop by DonationCoder, please put in the code/tag LudumDare-Tao so they will know it's my doings that brought you in! I'm not

part of any of the site structure ... just doing my bit for my favorite site on the net!

Also over there, I post a few of my detailed reviews of some LD games.

--TaoPhoenix

SmallPhil says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 1:54am

Nice visuals, nice feeling when you kill the enemies, nice music & sounds. Nice game overall ! Congrats :D

megahold says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 2:37pm

A good simplistic game with a funny concept. :)

siryakko says ...
Apr 19, 2015 @ 4:48pm

Funny concept, nice graphics, just that i don't always understand why i died.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:25pm

Neat idea, simple but well made game, I enjoy controlling the sword like finger! I included it in part 1 of my Ludum Dare 32 compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/-ZkAqIe6FiQ

jsmars says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:44pm

Great execution and overall experience!

Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:48pm

I liked it very much! though I wasn't good at it... :)

rudra says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:48pm

Just awesome, specially the graphics - beautiful, simple, but yet not too much, cheers, keep it up ! :)
Will keep it installed after the jam ends :)

Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:48pm

Very fun type of weapon and really smooth graphics!

Artylo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:54pm

Looks great, plays great! Easy to learn but hard to master.

AlexDJones says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:57pm

Probably my favourite entry so far. Really really fun, well paced, satisfying gameplay. Great work!

Freebios says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:22pm

I love you game and graphics :)

CoRcHoX says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:12pm

Nice! This really is a unconventional weapon, excelent work

GanonsSpirit says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:28pm

Favorite LD32 game I've played so far. Got 1780 points.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:13am

Is 990 a decent high score?

I really like the visuals, good use of the theme and I found it really fun! This could work on mobile for sure (I'd play it).

Also, you set it on my birthday so extra stars for that.

Curial says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:03am

Haha, I liked this a lot! Simple, fun and catchy.

985 points at first play. Let's try again :P

oranebeast says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:54am

Nice game; very chill. I could see this becoming a mobile game.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:24pm

Man, this is awesome! Had a lot of fun, liked the core mechanic a lot.

Mantlair says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:57pm

Did 2060!. Nice game. I want to encoruage you to make a mobile version of this. It has the essence of crossy road, flappy bird, etc. Endless highscore gamesç I think people could could play a polished version of this. Like with different maps and stuff. Think about it!

Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:38pm

Loved the initial lead in and overall feel. This game had a lot of personality and polish for a limited and well executed mechanic.

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 4:01am

This is great. I love how the graphics are minimalist, yet provide a lot of texture to the screen while simultaneously making the different enemy types very distinct. It's easy to relax your eyes and take everything in, which is really useful when the game speeds up.

Snicklodocus says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 3:09am

This was fun! I loved the art and music. I think the difficulty curve was a little slow to build. I thought the scrambled text at the beginning was a nice touch. Good job!

Fabraz says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 2:10pm

Insane but fun!

John Vanis says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 10:23am

I like this graphic and nice game

ruerob says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 11:30am

My nose touches the ground because I bow so low! Awesome entry!

eddynardo says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 12:45pm

funny little game .Nice graphics and cool audio effects!

elpaulo says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 4:01pm

Gameplay is really smooth and fun, i apprciated to kill the good guys and not the bad ones !
For the bad part, nothing except it's a little bit repetitive. Maybe you shoud add some bunus of ather kind of patterns for enemies.

May 11, 2015 @ 8:05pm

Simple but veryyy addictive. I really like the music and it was fun to play, can't believe you did it in just 2 days! Congrats on finishing your game BTW =)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]