Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

In Air

by sekaru - Jam Entry

In Air is a puzzle game where you control a character whose weapons of choice are paper aeroplanes. In each of the 5 stages of the game you are given 3 paper aeroplanes which allow you to interact with the various puzzle objects on the map. You can also recover your aeroplanes if you need to reuse them.

CONTROLS:
- LMB: Shoot aeroplane
- W/SPACE: Jump
- A/D: Walk

KNOWN BUGS:
- Bottom part of levels cut off slightly

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#264Fun(Jam)3.39
#298Overall(Jam)3.47
#301Audio(Jam)3.24
#301Theme(Jam)3.67
#322Innovation(Jam)3.38
#357Graphics(Jam)3.60
#511Mood(Jam)3.07
#546Humor(Jam)2.80

Comments

hexdie says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:56am

Nice work! I liked the take on the theme and the artwork! I have a couple critiques though: 1) I think restarting a level shouldn't count as a death because landing your plane right on those buttons is very difficult. 2) The platforming controls could use a little work, I fell to my death on seemingly simple jumps several times due to the controls. Still, nice work!

GameQuester says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:40pm

You have to be very precise with the planes. The platforming could be a bit more balanced out. But overall a good idea and a nice little game.

spin-down says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:04pm

I had alot of fun playing this and the graphics were very good. The controls were abit difficult but I liked the way the planes flew in the air.

The last stage had me going for awhile though. So much so that I got desperate and stuck a small sticker on the screen as to where the mouse needed to be to hit that top button. Not my finest moment but hey, it did the job!

DraKlaW says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:11pm

Nice game. Good job.

There is a small graphic glitch sometimes where tiny black horizontal lines appear for a frame when camera moves up/down. Maybe a roundoff error ?

sekaru says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 7:49pm

Yeah there is a small bug with the camera. It was meant to stop non-map objects from appearing 1 pixel above where they were meant to. It had some odd side effects I guess.

vortex says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:53am

Nice art style and idea. It was very hard to hit something with a plane first try, but apart from that great game

reheated says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:58am

Aaargh! Final throw of the final level http://imgur.com/qmrTeOh

Love it. 43 deaths. I found it hard but each level is pretty short so it doesn't feel too bad to restart. The art style suits the game well.

sekaru says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 12:08pm

Hah yeah that last level is a nightmare :p

bace1000 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:18pm

That was really difficult! I couldn't get past the 2nd level :(

morbidcamel says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:48pm

Hi sekaru. I've commented on my thread. Your game is sick. Well done mate. I can assure you though my game is not a guessing game it's a puzzle in the style of hacking

taviandir says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:49pm

It's a good game, but there are some design choices I do not understand. The movement of the character is very wonky and glidy. His movements are super sensitive and is more or less impossible (for me) to get a good handle on. That in combination with the very unforgiving level design in terms of pitfalls and recovery (ie there is no recovery if you fall down, which I did a lot because of the wonky character movement) made it so that half of the times I had to restart because the character would fall down somewhere rather than not solving the puzzle.
I can get behind the idea that you only have 3 planes to shoot. But when their trajectory is so majorly unpredictable, and you aren't really allowed to miss it makes the game frustrating rather than fun.
The fact that I can comment on stuff that's on this level is proof your entry is good! :) More planes, stable character movement and a more forgiving level design (in terms of movement) would've made the game even better. Cheers!

sekaru says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:00pm

I agree with you on pretty much every point there. I felt like more planes were unnecessary since you could pick them back up (at least the ones that you could actually get to). The character was originally meant to be made out of paper like the aeroplanes but we scrapped that idea and didn't go back to edit the physics.

Tselmek says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:37pm

Interesting gameplay, chill soundtrack and artstyle. Controls are a bit clunky at times but it still feels nice to play. Good job!

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:43pm

Very pretty game! I loved how you combined platformer, puzzle and targeting mechanics all in one game. Very solid and cute game.

PinkIndian says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:45pm

Overall a great game. The character controls were a bit floaty, but the throwing was precise. The last two levels were really difficult because of the perfect accuracy that was required.

jmborden says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:37pm

Game crashes and is unplayable on my Mac (OSX 10.9.5)

guigrillo13 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:38pm

great game play and graphics =D

mockthebear says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:47pm

pretty smooth. take me alot time to figure out that i have to shooot the planes XD
i was trying to double jump or something

MonoS says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:55pm

The last level is uselessly complicated that because don't allow any error to be made, also the platforming is to strict.

Cranking down the level of difficulty would made this game a bit better, but the lack of innovation can be see from a distance.

Frozenfire92 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:02pm

Really fun! The levels were a little unforgiving in terms of getting your airplanes back/getting more. Sometimes when jumping there would be weird scanlines/graphical glitches. Would like to see a more fleshed out complete version!

xtty says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 10:38pm

Pretty good! Cool game and the graphics make it very atmospheric. The controls seemed a little floaty but overall liked it a lot!

TeamQuadratic says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 10:40pm

Cool concept! I liked how the trajectory of the planes provided the challenge. My only complaint is that the controls in the air are WAY too slippery. Some air resistance is needed IMO.

sekaru says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:13pm

Just added a post-compo version to fix the Mac issues, the camera issues, the physics issues and the difficulty issues. Enjoy.

jplur says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 11:35pm

Very hard (but in a good way), nice mood too!

F. Wiktora says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 1:19am

Good work. Controls could use a little polishment (jumping feels wierd). Aiming seems good to me. Keep it up!

adamk33n3r says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 4:15am

Really fun game. Only critique I have is the physics. They seemed...off. It was really hard to maneuver in the air. Great way to use the theme, though.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 4:54am

Solid game! I had tons of deaths on the last level (117 total). There were some issues: the platforming was surprisingly difficult, I fell into the water a lot when I should be home free. The middle button on the last level was a bit temperamental, since the plane would usually come in at a slight downward angle, and there's very little you can do about that without shooting in the middle of a jump (although the platforming across the right side of that level might have been even more challenging). At the start of the level, when the planes drop down so you can use them, sometimes I've already moved, and the planes fall into the water. Just extra plane would make a huge difference on the last level. Also, sometimes it's easy to double-tap R and this counts against your deaths.

Solid concept, good execution, could use a few tweaks.

sekaru says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 2:39pm

In the post-compo version you're given 5 planes because yeah I understand that the last level is a nightmare.

Shivur says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 3:50pm

Very good game!

bobismijnnaam says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 7:29pm

Really awesome game! The graphics are pretty, and the mechanic is original and well designed. The only two cons I can think of are that at some point it kind of becomes trial and error, and the minimal resolution was kind of awkward (Yeah, I have a 1280x1024 screen. I'm poor like that). In my opinion this would look very good full screen, so maybe you can look into that next time. Also a big plus for the music! Not too distracting and matched the ambient of the game.

Marek Lisý says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 12:36am

Very nice game, I just didn't like the sliding on the ground, it didn't really add anything to the game and it was frustrating to lose the final stage just because of that. Even though I didn't complete the last one, I think I kept improving and I really liked how you managed to create the feeling of throwing the paper plane, it is very nice.

SamH says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 12:11pm

Very nice idea; like many others I got frustrated by the slippery character physics, and I could not finish the last level without cheating, i.e. recording where to aim.

I think you should completely change the rules: allow an unlimited number of airplanes, but reward the player who uses very few of them.

cyand1317 says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 2:19pm

It's great fun and pretty hard. I spent several minutes on it, and after 100+ attempts I gave up trying to finish the final stage (I fail to trigger the switches or fall down every time...)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]