Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Full Frontal Combat

by Toestee - Compo Entry

Controls - Movement

A - Move Left

D - Move Right

W - Jump

Controls - Combat

Mouse to aim

Left click to attack


Tips:
The Axe is the fastest weapon.
Double Click to attack faster and deal more damage.
If you get stuck in another weapon, just wait out the timer.


Edit: I am aware of issues with the player's location after spawning, and I'm working to solve them.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#14Innovation4.26
#49Humor3.96
#111Theme3.96
#194Graphics3.72
#201Fun3.54
#208Overall3.58
#373Mood3.14
#1634Coolness41%

Comments

zillix says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:41am

I got excited when I saw the race options, and you delivered on the awesomeness. Fantastic work! The combat is great.

plams says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:54pm

That was a fun take on the theme :) I got stuck in the other weapon though

tikilittle says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 6:09am

Cool idea. I like how you have made the weapons like humans. I might change race to class. That way it's a little more subtle at the beginning and the realization happens as you start to play.

dyfer says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 7:56pm

Cool idea, weapon vs weapon, the ancient long sword killed me!

Apr 29, 2015 @ 1:31am

Love the idea of the weapon fighting other weapons. Cute and silly game! I included it in part 7 of my Ludum Dare 32 compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/Cnio28O-EgI

Tselmek says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 11:34pm

Very nice game, the mechanics are very interesting and the switch between platformer and arena fight is very nice. Some enemies were really tough and I couldn't win against Axel. Btw, during the fight against Axel, the axe and my weapon got stuck together for a little while and it happened a few times.
Nice graphics and it would feel a lot more satisfying with some music and badass sound effects.

uberscientist says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 1:29am

conventional weapons in unconventional combat! I like the interpretation of the theam, fun!

dcRfj15 says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 2:36am

Great job. I loved the take on the theme, and the concept is amazing. I loved the 'races' of weapons. That was a clever idea :)

I experienced a bug regarding the conditions at which the player will kill the enemies. There were a few times where I insta-killed some of the enemies, I am not sure whether that was intentional or not.

Sublustris says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 4:49am

5 for GFX, but controls during fight are bit erratic.

adamk33n3r says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 7:14am

This was surprisingly very fun. Great job!

Mechamew says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 8:51am

Absolutely mental! Lovely take on the theme, very very original indeed!

GarethIW says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 9:20am

I laughed at the race selection, and then even more at the combat. Great idea!

May 6, 2015 @ 10:32am

It's a nice concept that I hope you continue to develope but at the moment it lacks some depth, it seams as if you can just spam click and win.
A bug I encounterd was that I automatically lost the match when I enterd.
Otherwise it was a fun game.

May 6, 2015 @ 11:16am

Brilliant idea, well executed. And theres so much content for a compo entry!

Against some weapons the controls could use some tweaking to stop you getting locked together, but I really liked that often you could figure out a weapons attack pattern.

myachin says ...
May 6, 2015 @ 11:21am

great idea and game!

im stuck at The Grim Reaper.
white screen bug at battle

May 6, 2015 @ 12:40pm

The art and animation are incredible, it looks like a production-ready game! I had some trouble with the combat controls (I'm using a touchpad), and there were some serious bugs (I had to abandon the game because the characters were spawning outside the screen), but despite that, it's a 5 stars entry! Congratulations! :D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]