Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Sal and Papa

by McFunkypants - Jam Entry

Sal and Papa work for tips in a fast food restaurant.

Battle blandness by adding a shake of salt or pepper
to food by bouncing upside-down on it.

This a game you play with both hands:

WASD or ARROWS to move and spin Sal
IJKL or NUMBERS to move and spin Papa

NOTE: I had so much fun this weekend, but not much
time to work on my game. Even though this is
more a toy than a game, I thought I'd submit it
anyways. I'm not in it to win it, I just love Ludum Dare!

CREDITS:
I drew the food and made the music,
the background is by S. Neto, and
the voiceovers are my 4 year old son!

- Christer kaitila aka McFunkypants
- www.mcfunkypants.com
- @McFunkypants

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#75Audio(Jam)3.86
#132Humor(Jam)3.67
#147Graphics(Jam)4.09
#274Mood(Jam)3.41
#320Fun(Jam)3.31
#518Innovation(Jam)3.09
#524Overall(Jam)3.21
#708Theme(Jam)3.09
#1667Coolness40%

Comments

Josh Riley says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:40pm

Yay! Wee!

Chadivision says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:01pm

I like it, but I'm not nearly coordinated enough to play well.

The audio is awesome! Hats off to baby McFunkypants! ...or I guess pre-schooler McFunkypants now???

wg_phancock says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:21pm

Holy cow, this is hard to control lol!

The SFX from your son and the art are really cute. Too bad you didn't have time to do more on it!

HayBee05 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:51pm

This was really fun! I hope you are able to make time to add a scoring system and maybe levels (or keep it endless) later on. I would love to play a full game version.

Lady Beardo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:05am

This is so sweet and cute and just perfect. Its fun to bounce around and season food like a maniac. Voice over is adorable.

sugarbyte says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:10am

This is so great, love the art and audio, and how easy and fun it is to pick up!

Gaeel says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:24am

My girlfriend and I just spent about 15 minutes playing this. She was Sal and I was Papa, and we raced to try and please customers

WEE!

HAHA!

POW!

ArthG says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:01am

It's fun, and cute. Just like me. :3

sugarbyte says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:18am

GREAT AUDIO

Kitch says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:57am

Really like the two handed controls. Lotta fun. Presentation is fantastic, and the boy gets to add a voice credit to his name :)

Thanks!

mtanton says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:18am

Came for the funky pants, stayed for the audio. Good job!

boateye says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:31am

This game is surprisingly hilarious!

rojo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:13am

Haha, that VO work is great! Good interpretation of theme. It's fun to bounce around for a bit, but it seems like the collisions could use a little more fine tuning. Nice work!

srakowski says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:17am

Ha what a cute game. Love the sounds! Well done :)

Suvidriel says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:30am

Haha :D Such a cute game

Ossi says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:54am

The graphics are great and the sound effects are really cute! I really like having to flip the shakers over to get at the food. It was really tough to control both at once but it made it really funny to try haha! Great job!

spreadtheflow says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:48am

I have no idea of what I've done, but I've spent 10 min doing it! Graphics are absolutely cute. What else to say? Yay! Yahou!

ruerob says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:05am

Really nice toy! I like the art style and the sounds. The voice acting makes me smile. You are a great team!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:38am

Liked the art and sound a lot. Mechanic is rough, but this would be a neat thing to polish up someday as the idea of salting food is neat. Could see a great retro 80s arcade game out of it. Great that you involved your son.

bazld says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:31am

Super-cute. I know you ran out of time, but I reckon this is sooo close to being a very cool game; the 2-item control thing is strangely satisfying, and it fits perfectly with the salt/pepper idea.

Nikteddy92 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:37pm

OMG THE ARE SO DAMN CUTE!!! <3 <3 <3
10/10 I would eat them all :3

haha funny entry, well done!

Zanzlanz says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:49pm

Aww, very cute game/toy! I love the smiley faces on everything! :) :3 ^-^

fserb says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:25pm

fun fun fun :)

Kep says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:29pm

This is actually pretty fun, even if it is incomplete. I was expecting something a lot worse given your tweet. Nice job.

Jokerbomb says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:34pm

Nice work Christer! Sound work and art are great =).

Ludipe says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:49pm

As you already said, this is more a toy than a game right now, but the art and music were cute and controlling the characters was really fun.

This could evolve into a 1vs1 game with some work, and it could be awesome. Perhaps a duel to see who drops more salt/pepper on the food(with a particle system), that could be pretty hilarious.

By the way, I loved the voice-acting, really unique :)

klbrazil says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:07pm

YAHOO! YEY! the foods are getting excited to be eaten after XD

Drauthius says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:54pm

Haha, very cute game :3

Sundr0 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:10pm

Haha ! Nice audio and graphics ! =)

Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:15pm

Best voice overs ever! Rather good pixel art and music too! Had fun just playing around with sal and papa, then looked up at the clock to find out 10 minutes had passed by :P

Keeping it pro style I see ;)

jovoc says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:49pm

Love the idea, love the tone, style and effects. Wish you'd been able to take it further.

BeardoGames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:47pm

Haha, what a blast! I kept playing longer than I would have expected to. Adorable art too!

ChuiGum says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:33am

Awesome audio, and nice graphics too. Even though it wasn't really a game it was fun just listening and moving around. Again, I love the sound effects.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:26pm

It's a very simple game but a real fun one. I couldn't help but mash the buttons just to hear the audio sounds. Asking your child to help you out is a great idea XD.

Xanjos says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:57pm

I find the fact you're putting salt and pepper on things that shouldn't have salt and pepper (like donuts) to be truly unconventional indeed. Anyway, I loved the graphics and I think having your son do the voiceovers adds a really nice touch to the game.

Ludonaut says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:00pm

Super cute graphics. I ended up rolling up the walls to gain some air, which worked great but I wonder if that was intentional? Totally love the audio.

markusfisch says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:01pm

That's really fun! Cool voiceovers! And I like it that you have to use both hands! Quite unique!

lody says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:04am

this is amazing, sooo adorable! i love the sounds and graphics! great :)

Perjoka says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:35am

Quite hard to control but lots of fun :) Well Done!

Xaychru says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:27am

Haha nice toy, I really dig the music!

asobi tech says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:29am

Loving the pixel art, and the audio is hella cute.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:36pm

Very cute. I like the voice acting.

felipeberquo says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:11pm

lol, very cute and funny. Your son's voice did worked great in the game. Although the art is simple, the game looks great. Well done!

matestinha says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:32am

The mechanics are confusing, I couldn`t understand what I was supposed to do. But as you said, you had a lot of fun making this game and in my opinion that`s the most important reason of making a game.
Keep working on it cause you have such funny characters. Congrats for the job.

Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:02pm

This game made me smile, the art and sound effects were great. Very cute game.

Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:04am

Great entry, really enjoyed to play it with my brother. The perfect audio made it hilarious and the fun is awesome. Good job McFunkypants !

badlydrawnrod says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 2:06pm

Loved the graphics, and the pixel art details in the background were just awesome. It could be expanded by having a list of foods that you had to season to fulfil orders. Very cute game.

Jajo says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 11:37am

So random. Yay! Wee! Yahoo!

6DownStudios says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 7:42pm

Truly excellent! I love the groovy soundtrack, works great with the pixels (which aren't half as cute as the SFX, kid's got a talent for voice acting).

GaTechGrad says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 5:26am

The sprites are adorable and I got a good laugh out of the sound effects. Well done!

May 6, 2015 @ 1:17am

Yahoo! Congrats for the game, so much fun! And congrats to your son for the sound effects! Woow!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]