Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Hedgegeddon

by Kinzata - Compo Entry

Hedgegeddon! Use hedgehogs to prevent the foxes from... eating you?

Throw hedgehogs, stick hedgehogs on your enemies, throw a large hedgehog that explodes into smaller hedgehogs! Even go bowling with hedgehogs!

----

WASD / Arrows to move
Q/E switch your arsenal of hedgehogs
Click to throw hedgehogs

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#530Humor2.74
#532Theme3.37
#537Fun3.07
#739Overall2.96
#877Mood2.48
#909Innovation2.56
#949Graphics2.33
#1383Coolness47%

Comments

Borkleby says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:51pm

I love the idea of this game, so cute! Its lack of music was my only real complaint. I also like how foxes can bump into each other and destroy each other with just on hedgehog.

pythong says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:52pm

game is ok, but the darker patches (where you cannot go through) are hard to see

EthanWebster says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:05pm

You should definitely expand on this idea, it's a fun concept. I felt this fit the theme very well, and it was fun to play. Other than music, you did a great job.

Kinzata says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:19pm

Yeah, I would have loved to add sounds/music but I just didn't have time. I really enjoyed working on it so I might come back to it and add sound and polish once I recover.

benmcnelly says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:36pm

I am going to jump on the expand bandwagon, this is a great start to something you can really play out. Nice work!

BraindeadGeo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:26pm

Haha, certainly an unconventional weapon! The actual hedges could have been a bit clearer

Jagang says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:27pm

I also liked the cute little balls of death :)
Would be great if you could restock them somehow (recollect them, drops, crates,...) to prevent shortage of cuddle balls :D

Lady Beardo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:33pm

Poor hedgies! But so cute. Very accessible & fun.

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:25am

Nice work! This felt very fluid to play :) Like others said, it took a while to realize the dark patches were walls, and it would be nice if the different hedgehogs were different colors to differentiate the weapon types. Had a great time for a few rounds though!

TeamCalcium says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:51am

Cool idea, the graphics could use some work.

Multiplexor says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 1:53am

Nice game,I like the controls and the feel :D It's a pity that there is no music!

Marek Lisý says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 12:18am

The game is bit too simple, but it has surprisingly good gameplay. The hedgehogs are pretty fun to shoot, but the idea isn't too original (it could be anything). Also, I just wasted all my hedgehogs and that was it. That felt incomplete to me. However cool game.

Fabraz says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 2:05pm

Actually kind of fun to play, well done! However, changing a bullet to a hedgehog is trying to make a weapon unconventional by theming. Gotta dig deeper than that!

Also, the trees don't register as solid objects and I first believed them to be invisible walls.

HEDGHEHOOOOOGS.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]