Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Captain Vocab - MMO Spanish Vocab em up!

by dcolgan - Jam Entry

A freak storm has stranded your pirate ship on an island overrun by scary monsters!

Fortunately, friendly grog-swilling pirates have erected cities as safe harbor against the monsters. Their scientists have discovered that the monsters only speak Spanish and they become magically hurt when you counter their words with English translations.

Fight your way across the island, learning Spanish along the way!

Defeat 10 monsters to advance to the next level. The pirates in the next city over will not let you in until you are strong enough!

Made in 72 hours by @denaje and @davidscolgan with lots of Coffeescript and some PHP for good measure.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#147Innovation(Jam)3.70
#252Theme(Jam)3.73
#448Humor(Jam)3.00
#504Overall(Jam)3.23
#648Mood(Jam)2.88
#687Fun(Jam)2.79

Comments

soyrandom-1 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:08am

Suerte!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:20am

I thought I was done with my Spanish homework D:

Seriously though, good job!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:34am

The grinding gets a bit tedious. I wish there was a combo system where flawlessly answering a certain number of questions gave you a damage multiplier.

rjhelms says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:36pm

Nice entry. Not every day you see an "edutainment" title in Ludum Dare.

Movement stuttered a lot when my browser was maximized (Chrome 42 on Windows at 1680x1050) but went away when I made the window smaller.

Backlund says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:05pm

Lagged alot in Firefox, worked better in Chromium.
I have Linux

Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:06pm

Muy divertido ! (i think that's right?) :) It was a nice and unexpected game/lesson. I think the words could've been mixed up a little more as it seemed like I got the same ones more often than not. Cool stuff here though

wood.innis says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:06pm

Spanish class MMO.

I'd love to see co-op or PVP spanish battles.

lizard455 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:12pm

Es bueno! :D
I was surprised to see that it was an MMO, also pretty educational!

efux says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:13pm

I really like the idea. I leveled up until level 5 and then I got a little bit bored, because I already know a little bit of spanish. But in my opinion it's an idea which could be developed further, but with a little bit more diversity in the fights (instead of just multiple choice questions).

But nice entry overall =D

Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:29pm

Dora the Explorer with murder.

Aside from the learning and trial and error, some more challenge via refined RPG mechanics could have been nice.

DarkwindMedia says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:48pm

cute MMO!

UltraRat says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:21am

haha... More fun than flash. And finishing multiplayer is always impressive in a gamejam.

Wish I could just move by mouse click.

TeamQuadratic says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:05am

Solid foundation. I can see how a game like this could certainly be used to practice Spanish. It did get kind of redundant quickly, but nice leveling system as well.

seraphki says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:16am

=D I really like this concept! An MMO is a really ambitious thing to take on for a game jam! (At least I think it is, I guess I've never tried to build one)

I'd love to learn languages this way, I hope you guys take it further!

The4thCircle says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:23pm

I enjoyed this and would have played it all dia were it not for the fact that in area dos the monsters seemed to keep disappearing and reappearing. I couldn't get any of them to engage with me.

I'm guessing this is because it's an online type thing and another player (whom I couldn't see) was taking them out.

Don't think it needed to be online.

Benjamin says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:36am

the difficulty curve is very good. I go to lvl 7 then get bored but I had time to learn a lot of new spanish words thanks to you :)

BIZM says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 2:39am

Very interesting game! I can see this being very useful for teaching beginners some Spanish. :) I really wish I could run a bit faster, though!

Apr 27, 2015 @ 1:54pm

Pretty nice entry overall and amazing job for a 72-hour work (first MMO I've ever seen in a LD) ! It's really interesting, congrats :)

TeslaCoil says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 1:29am

Ooh, very cool concept. I have to admit, though, one thought going through my mind the whole time was "why did I need an account for this?". I wouldn't have minded if it made a little save file somewhere, or even didn't save my progress at all. Making an account for such a simple game just seemed kind of silly.

Another bit of confusion came from the enemies - I wasn't sure what I had to do to fight them. At first, I walked into them and the fight started. Then, that seemed to stop working. I refreshed the page, that solved it for a while, but then it stopped working again and the fights seemed to start way after I walked into the enemies.

Fabraz says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 2:02pm

Always good trying to teach language through games, but this might be too direct of an approach? Teach indirectly, like this the player won't even realize they're learning but are just enjoying the game.

Atmospherium says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 8:55pm

Now I Spanish so good.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]