Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Billy McMath Solves Problems

by Armanky - Compo Entry

Young Billy McMath has a lot of problems! With what weapon shall our young hero confront the challenges of violent bullies, peer pressure, and romantic misadventure? Why, his own mathematical prowess, of course!

Help Billy make his dreams come true in this educational adventure for all ages!

==========
TOOLS USED
==========
-Unity 5
-Paint Tool SAI == For the artwork.
-Intuos 4 Drawing Tablet == Paint Tool SAI's partner in crime.
-Photoshop == For some UI stuff and touching up random things.
-Audacity == Primary sound editor, used to record dialogue and edit sound effects.
-FL Studio == Used to write music.
-SGM V2.01 == Soundfont used to write music.
-PTCollage == Used for the "8-bit" sound effects.
-Press Start 2P (font) == Awesome old-school font. I love this font.

------------
EDIT 4/20/15
------------

SOME BUGS:
-A flipped comparison operator was deciding that everybody was perfect. I have fixed this bug and you are no longer all perfect. Please get over yourselves.

-Now you don't have to worry about accidentally selecting hard mode after emphatically declaring how bad you are at math.

-I'd left a developer hotkey that manipulated the timer. I wonder if any of you even noticed it? Well it's gone now so forget about it.

Also, I've added OSX and Linux builds. I don't have either of these operating systems, so please yell at me if anything is broken!

------------
EDIT 5/4/15
------------

I've written a post-mortem for Billy McMath! If you're interested, please take a look!

http://ludumdare.com/compo/2015/05/03/billy-mcmath-solves-problems-post-mortem/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Humor4.66
Coolness73%
#5Audio4.53
#16Overall4.18
#24Mood4.08
#25Fun4.01
#61Theme4.10
#160Innovation3.73
#214Graphics3.68

Comments

Havacore says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:49am

I don't know how to say this, but I think it's official... I'm bad at math. I told the game I was good at it and, well, turns out, nope.

This was interesting though, sort of like an interactive movie, and a cool play on the theme. I really hope that you weren't alone in your place when doing all of these recordings, at the very least let me know you had a cat or something silently judging you.

vini60 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:33am

I died laughing at this game, legit. Makes you feel stupid for not knowing 9+10. Really good sounds.

stuffedgravy says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:36am

Can I give a 6 for audio?
Gameplay-wise, it's pretty limited as an interactive story that isn't that complex, but like who even cares because the narrative was hilarious and compelling. Great job!

Interface says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:37am

This was really funny, great mood with the voice acting and the music - lol.

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:09am

Creative, but the voice is annoying, presumably on purpose. :P

SolomaZ says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:12am

Crindy Lou will be MINE!!

SolomaZ says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:26am

Your overall style and presentation is spot on for learning math. Although you might benefit from studying similar interactive story games like Call of Duty. #CrindyissoLumpy

BraindeadGeo says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:50am

This is amaaaaazing. Are you like a professional voice actor or something? Might not be the best game but man I want some kind of cartoon where we follow round Billy McMath

Garris says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:52am

Break out the five cannon! Seriously. This was great in pretty much every way.

seankimdesign says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:54am

That was outrageous!!! I loved the cringe-inducing (in a good way) voice acting as well as the hilarious drawings. Awesome!

Azure_Kyte says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:12am

Just a heads up, but the Windows download link is faulty. You have linked only the .exe. In order for Unity executables to run they need to be accompanied with their _Data folder, as well. zip both of those things and reupload, and it'll be fine.

Armanky says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:16am

Thanks for letting me know. It should be good now.

Yamzho says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:35am

Great acting !... ;)

headchant says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:58am

Is it me or does Bill sound like Morty from Rick and Morty?

Almost says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:00am

This is hilarious, and a pretty original idea. I got the max score. The love interest sounds like a man though.

SilentNight says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:35am

I loved it. Definitely funner than I initially thought it'd be. Love the usage of the theme in this.

KedumeBits says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:55am

Very funny game. Nice speed graphics. I love the dialogues too. Congratulations.

TheBigShot says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:57am

Great game. Very intereting how it maes me feel liek an idiot hahah. Good job

syawqy says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 9:28am

I'm bad at math
I never get the question right, how am I going to do now with my life...?

Figglewatts says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 11:32am

This is one of the best games I've played this Compo! You need to make more!

Joystikman says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:30pm

Nice but hopefully I don't need maths every days >_<

Ditto says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:42pm

Oh my goodness, that was the sweetest thing I ever saw! I love all the details in the drawings, so cute! Haha, and the characters are so lovably stereotype! I've never played a set of quick time events that I actually enjoyed before and it made me burst out in laughter at several occasions, great job! :D (ps. the "I'm in a dangerous mood" line is perfect xD )

maunovaha says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 8:15pm

wow. I was amazed how good this game was when I started it.. I was first skeptic about the graphics, but it worked brilliantly with the game! :D

Managore says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 10:14pm

It's like Morty meets Lumpy Space Princess and it's amazing!! I wish I could give you a 6 for humour. Wow.

gruhn says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:05am

Fun game and with a very interesting proposal. The graphics, even simple, are efficient, with good feedback. Personally, I just think that the story is a little time consuming, but nothing detrimental to the game.

Park says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:32am

That was absolutely fantastic. I'm still laughing, everything is perfect!@!

Hambone says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:37am

Neat game!

I like how we both went the educational route!

AtomicVikings says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:29pm

The story is funny. Loved to play this game. Continue this great work. Sounds are AWESOME!!!!

BabaJaga says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:33pm

Awesome voice acting! And the graphics really fit.
Im absolutely sure this game will win in Humor section.

Sogomn says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:36pm

This is too hilarious to be real.

Xgor says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:37pm

This is with no doubt the funniest LD game I've ever played. Laughed the whole way!

S0lll0s says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:39pm

Extremely cool voice acting, nice art, funny gameplay.
Innovation not so much, rather generic interactive novel and no real choices.

There's almost nothing to critisize here, maybe the "HUD" could use some work (the hearts).

Rulrite says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:49pm

A wonderful game - I had no idea that maths could be enjoyable! The voice clips and the images are very funny, and the music is surprisingly well done. One of the best games I've seen so far.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:59pm

I loved this, the voice work was seriously top quality. The drawings seemed to fit with the voices well too. I'm not very good at maths, but it was a cool gameplay mechanic to advance the story

jk5000 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:16pm

A+

Jan Marcano says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:51pm

All my stars are belong to you, this made me laugh way too much

UannaFF says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:54pm

This is a great story man!! I loved all the characters and the voice of crindylou is so beautiful xD

Azurency says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:58pm

Really funny game! And that acting!!

nassi says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:42pm

Tried to get all the different scenarios, but I couldn't manage to catch the football (handegg?) even on easy, although I managed to rest on hard :(.

It was actually kinda neat how the ending played out when you failed compared to the "ideal" situation.

This was perfect. Thanks.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:36pm

Wow, this is really something! I've never really seen a piece of interactive fiction like this before. Great job!

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:19pm

That was amazing and hilarious! I love how you pretended to have bad art but it was easy to see that the artist was incredibly talented. With your unique style for each character and how well you were able to articulate every moment (like the moment their fingers accidentally touched) The writing and dialogue was great. I could go on and on about how happy this game made me :)

aquisenberry says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:02am

THIS GAME ROCKED MY SOCKS!!!! major fan

Wertle says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:04am

Super great work and hilarious drawings and voice acting! Even though I was terrible at the math, it was still fun to see what the results would be. My one piece of feedback is that when "OK" appeared I thought it was a prompt, so I was trying to hit enter or click on it and panicked a bit because I thought I was doing something wrong. Otherwise, I thought it was a clever interpretation of the theme and made me feel like I was terrible at math (but that's okay because I still learned an important life lesson). Well done!

Ludipe says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:18am

This is very fun game and the voice-acting is really awesome. Adding math problems instead of the typical QTEs.

The narrative and the art were hilarious. Good job!

allanolivei says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:55am

5 x Humor

Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:55am

This was astonishingly hilarious.

wg_phancock says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:11am

I like how it was basically nigh impossible to not get hit in the face with the football! True nerd power right there.

Voice acting is superb, story hilarious. I love how you just went for it and didn't hold back on doing all the characters, even C-C-C-Crindy!

Omiya Games says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:29am

Take all my stars, now!

In actual criticism, the game is basically a bunch of math flash cards, but the ever-changing and comical scenarios are just too absurd NOT to laugh. Those negative formulas threw me for a loop. Overall, nicely done.

MrShoestore says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:58am

wait.... is this Frog Fractions 2?

Nobutseriously, these beans never taste right.


(I think this is the first LD game that I will walk away from with quotes I'll randomly say. impressive)

ss64games says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:45pm

Bahaha... I thoroughly enjoyed this. Reminds me of the good ol' days of flash games. Difficulty level was ridiculously high when the player does claim to be good at math. I'm good at math but apparently I'm slow at it haha.

nonetheless says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:56pm

Sweet audio :)

Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:28pm

That's one of the funniest things I have ever played.

cdrch says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 9:25pm

This is probably one of the best math games I've played in a very long time. (Not that I regularly play math games...) I normally don't like games with timed challenges between cutscenes, but I liked this a lot. Good job with all of the audio, from the music to the voice acting - it really made the game enjoyable when added to the humor of it all.

A game with a complete story? That is actually pays attention to the story? And ends up being funny and enjoyable? You deserve applause for that alone. Good job!

iapc says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:19pm

I laughed my ass off on this game. Great theme, unique (enough), concept and a very catching story. The gameplay itself is a trip down memorylane for me, it's a bit like the educational games we played in primary school.

Good job!

Bashabookoos says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:29pm

Great drawings, great characters!

Dorgam says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:33am

The funniest game I played here so far XD

SonnyBone says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 2:43am

I mean, I can sit here and talk about how awesome this is and how entertaining it is but instead I'm going to take the time to say that the high school cowboy outlaw is the best character of all times. ALL TIMES.

TrickGames says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 3:00pm

This is great!!! Good stuff!

badlydrawnrod says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 5:43pm

Is it wrong that I kind of wanted the ending going the other way with all of the hearts breaking? An excellent game - made me laugh a lot! My wife thinks the bully looks a lot like Iggy Pop. Highly enjoyable.

mildmojo says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:57pm

There's a lot more to this one than I expected based on the screenshots. Great job with the whole script and voice acting, even for the failures. I played it a few times to hear everything you had. That football scene kept kicking my ass, even on easy. =)

My favorite art part was the pirouetting football players. There were lots of clever background gags, though.

It's a pretty straightforward series of linear scenes with math problems in place of quick-time events, but in that respect they were tied into the theme of the game pretty well. Cute adventure.

EthanWebster says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 8:34pm

Easily one of the funniest games I've played in some time, really enjoyable. Math sure is an unconventional weapon.

Jakob37 says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 9:33pm

This was awesome. Really hard. Feel a bit ashamed to admit that I failed to calculate the 2 - 1 in time..

Tselmek says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 10:23pm

What to say except this is one of the best thing I've ever played. Amazing job!

omaha says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 10:51pm

5/5 across the board. This was the best game I've played since Nuclear Throne. Nice work.

Apr 28, 2015 @ 7:18pm

Amazing programmer art here.
Maybe there is too much waiting time between math questions.
The story is quite entertaining, and the voice acting is sublime. Specially when the nice girl talks and sounds manlier than the protagonist.

Apr 29, 2015 @ 1:28am

Love the handdrawn graphics, and sound! Cool weapon! I included it in part 7 of my Ludum Dare 32 compilation video series, if you would like to take a look :) https://youtu.be/Cnio28O-EgI

jprogman says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 3:36am

Love the story. Great creative writing too. Reminds me of some flash animations but with interaction.

Sometimes the math problems only last as few as 3 seconds. At least I'm alright with math.

I take it you done everything yourself, including the voices? Otherwise, very impressive array of skills.

RyanNielson says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 6:48pm

I love the hilarious drawings and voices, one of my favorite games so far. Well done!

May 4, 2015 @ 3:57am

Really like how the math problems changed to fit the situation. reflecting the main character feeling based on the complexity of the problems was pretty. fun little game.

stoarch says ...
May 4, 2015 @ 4:30pm

Best game I ever see and play (in ld32 :) Mood is unspeacable. Story is interesting and fast math solving make game tense but interesting.

broknecho says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 3:19am

This was great! Amazing job for 48 hours! Great job! Voices were incredible! Deeper love story than Twilight.

Simon says ...
May 7, 2015 @ 9:34am

Great entry and great use of the theme :)

May 8, 2015 @ 12:37am

Played this game on stream. This game is GLORIOUS. 5 stars across the board.

May 8, 2015 @ 12:51am

Hey there! This is Taunia. :)

Okay, so, first of all -- I am horrible at math. I'm not even ashamed to admit that I clicked "NO!" faster than the Unity plug-in could process it.

That said, I was undoubtedly, entirely, completely entertained by this. In fact, the gameplay almost took an auxiliary back-seat to the amusing story, the quick but articulate (in terms of visual storytelling) sketches and the amazing audio/voice-overs.

This was basically a really long cut-scene with math-related QTE's, but by golly was it ever a super entertaining really long cut-scene with math-related QTE's. I began really loving the character and his situation, and looking forward to the result of all my hard work solving elementary-school-level math problems.

While not entirely innovative, it met the criteria for the theme, and certainly had a really big heart and soul. I found the MSPaint graphics to be really expressive, believe it or not.

Great job, guys! :) I had fun!

May 8, 2015 @ 2:16am

Wow. That's my biggest surprise of LD so far. Excellent storytelling, amusing graphics & voice acting. Thanks for making this.

Mach60KAS says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 4:32pm

Probably the funniest game I've ever seen at a ludum dare - Billy's life just seemed like utter chaos in the best possible way. The comedic art style and voice acting completely sealed the deal for me, and Billy's crush reminded me so much of Lumpy Space Princess that I had to laugh. Picking hard mode was maybe not the best decision, but I still got a happy ending! Keep up the good work, that was a fantastic entry! :)

May 8, 2015 @ 4:44pm

Man this game is GREAT! My only complaint would be the lack of variety in the gameplay department but it definitely doesn't take much from the game overall. The music is great, the humor is top-notch, the voice acting is superb and the story is entertaing! GOOD JOB!

RHY3756547 says ...
May 8, 2015 @ 6:16pm

Amazing. What an experience. Reminds me of Gitaroo Man for some reason...

grillaface says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 10:17pm

Really great. I love that the horse had a gun :) Bravo!

IamAcoconut says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 11:27pm

Best. Game. Ever.

Pixel Heart says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 11:33pm

The art and the idea were really impressing!

Zeriver says ...
May 12, 2015 @ 12:00am

Hhaha really funny game, i'm glad i didn't miss it :D

BTW: Did you hire voice actors from Adventure Time? xd

MegaBrutal says ...
May 12, 2015 @ 12:32am

At the last few questions, the game didn't allow me to type answers. Is it intentional, or something went wrong?

Anyway, at first, I thought, I wish it was true that you could beat bullies with your Special Interests. It reminds me when I daydreamed that once I'll humiliate my bully by knowing what is Program Segment Prefix while he doesn't know it. OMG, I haven't told this anyone, ever...

In the end I got friendzoned by the girl – it's pretty much how it used to happen in reality.

Actually, being a master of your SI really brings some confidence, and it can really help you to face real-life troubles, so in this sense, your game is quite realistic. The girl friendzoning our protagonist is also realistic, and telling him that he doesn't always need to be perfect is also very nice and true, this is the lesson of this game. I wish the best of luck for Billy for the future. :)

I will surely replay this game, but for now, I must hurry with rating more games...

ShaunJS says ...
May 12, 2015 @ 2:59am

I'm so, so, so glad you got first place in humour. <3

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]