Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Ghost Alone

by PoQA Games - Jam Entry

You're a ghost. You find looters coming after some of your most prized possessions. You pass right through the looters... but you can push around small objects! Push everything you find at them to get them to leave!

Made in Unity5 by a small group of current and former game testers, and a guy who's good at drawing skulls and stuff.

PoQA Games
Victor Hallock - Audio
Tanner Johnson - Programming
Derrick Powell - Design
Tina Zhang-Powell - Art

Jonathan Drain - Art
Rye Johnson - Animations and particles

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#109Mood(Jam)3.75
#118Innovation(Jam)3.77
#139Fun(Jam)3.65
#152Overall(Jam)3.69
#187Theme(Jam)3.81
#277Audio(Jam)3.28
#341Humor(Jam)3.22
#531Graphics(Jam)3.27
#1566Coolness44%

Comments

doitle says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:09am

This feels pretty polished and stands on its own not even just as an LD48. I would think this could do well on a flash portal or other games site.

Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:45am

I. Love. It. All 5 stars.

cdrch says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:23am

I surprised myself by being able to beat this fairly quickly, only losing a level once (the third/next-to-last). That one seemed the most difficult, since the looters were on different paths. It's a well-polished game, especially for a game jam. Add more levels and play around with the idea a bit, and this could be a successful small web game. Great job!

Indiestry says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:05am

Really good and really charming, knocking around furniture was fun

okacat says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:12am

That was fun and original, I think you really nailed the theme.

Bsevers18 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:17am

Nicely polished game. Really fun! I loved just WRECKING my house haha. Fun concept and it turned out really well. Actually beat it!! Very enjoyable and straight forward!

Erfeo says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:21pm

Is destroying items good or bad?

PoQA Games says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:09pm

< Erfeo - it's just a stat. As long as you protect your loot (the glowing items), you've beat the stage.

PoQA Games says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 8:09pm

I'm working on an Android version!

pythong says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:13pm

that was fun! i'm a baaaaad ghost

calavera says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:30am

Sweet! very clean and great art. The level with all of the small rooms was tough!

syncxzoz says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 4:02am

cool.. now i know how to be a ghost..

Apr 27, 2015 @ 8:17am

Awesome, your pretty much did "choose your unconventional weapon". Found myself just bumping the ghost randomly around in whatever room the bad guys were in. Another mechanic that might work better could be clicking an item for the ghost to posses it, then do an angry birds aiming thing with that possessed item.

Park says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 11:28pm

Awesome. I'm a bit sad that the menu music doesn't play during more sections, because it sounds excellent!

Perhaps the ghost's smoke trails could glow more brightly, either in the violet hue it currently uses or maybe in a ghostly cyan. Partially for supernatural effect, partially for improved visibility.

The destructible credits were a great touch. ;)

Also.. high five for the good bookshelf asset. That piece of furniture demands quite a bit more time than other props to get right. I really half-assed it in my game. (⸝⸝^▽^⸝⸝)ゞ

Xanjos says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 1:17am

Seems pretty easy to kill the looters thanks to the physics system in the game but this was a really fun and addictive concept.

JenniNexus says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 2:11am

Endearing & love the art, level design, sound fx & music!! Very enjoyable... Wish the guys looked a little more scared when I dropped chandeliers on their heads lol :-D <3 Great work!!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]