Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Warp Wizard

by PizzaPranks - Jam Entry

Play as an apprentice Warpomancer who must use their warp magic to get through a series of obstacles to reach the end of the stage. There is an "Adventure" mode that gives out the powers one at a time and requires you to reach the end of the stage and a battle mode that starts with all powers and tasks you with defeated all the enemies.

You can warp into platforms and get stuck a bunch, it's no big deal, working as intended.

Controls
A(qwerty), Q(azerty): Move left
S: Switch between qwerty and azerty
D: Move right
Space: Use basic warp
1,2,3: Select active ability
Left Mouse: Use active ability
R: Use Rewind

Powers
Basic Warp: Move in the direction of the mouse and on it if close enough.
Self Swap (Hotkey 1): Click an enemy to swap places with them.
Enemy Swap (Hotkey 2): Click one enemy and then another to have them swap places.
Rewind: Return to the position and hp you had at a previous state that resets every 5 seconds.
Bubble (Hotkey 3): Create a field that stops motion. Click on enemies and freely drag them within this field.

The most important thing I have learned from past jams is that your game is not a self-explanatory as you think it is so hopefully this is helpful. Still may be poorly balanced for difficulty though.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#935Innovation(Jam)2.26
#958Graphics(Jam)1.71
#1014Fun(Jam)2.17
#1016Theme(Jam)2.13
#1029Overall(Jam)2.42
#1601Coolness42%

Comments

CreamyBacon1 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:50am

Harder then Dark souls! Good job! But I only made it in 3 rooms.

Tanser says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:17pm

Cool game; i like it :D

Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:27pm

Not bad. A bit difficult. SFX didn't feel right. Art could use a bit of work but got it done.

Secret_Tunnel says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:24pm

Really cool idea for a mechanic! I would make it so that you can warp all the way to your cursor's location, rather than just a little bit towards it.

gv1351 says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:56pm

I don't like it when it is a installer give me a normal runnable game

Cosine says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:02pm

Pretty cool, complete game. I like the mechanic. I couldn't even figure out level 2 :(

Cosine says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:04pm

Oh also just so you know, for LD I prefer a portable version because I will be playing so many games I don't want them all installed in case I want to get rid of them later.

Andy Gainey says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:07pm

Couldn't make it past the wide spikes on the second level. I have a suspicion that I'm suppose to warp once, then swap places with the enemy on the platform, but I don't have the agility to pull that off.

I can understand the feature of getting stuck inside objects when warping, but one thing you might experiment is having a bit of a forgiving margin of error: When a player warps into a solid object, if there is open space within a certain distance above the warp location, then set the resulting warp location to that open space instead of within the solid object.

Alternatively, or in addition to that change, try making the click location correspond to the player sprite's *feet* rather than the sprite's center. That would make it easier to accurately determine where to click in order to teleport just above the ground without getting stuck in it.

KhaoTom says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:12pm

Nice choice of unconventional abilities. Very difficult for me to get very far in the game though, like you said it's not well balanced. There are some really rough collision issue that make it frustrating to keep retrying, such as getting stuck in the floor. I'd also suggest distributing the game as a zip file rather than an installation, and to make sure the program matches the name of the game instead of "LD32" or what have you.

BubuIIC says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:28pm

Very, very hard. But then again I suck at platformers...
Couldn't make ist past level 2. After like 20 tries made it through that Teleport - Swap thingie. But then again? Haha, not gonna try :D.

Tatsu Studio says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 3:24am

Nice game, i like it! ^^

Jezzamon says ...
May 9, 2015 @ 1:00am

This game is completely impossible.... you need to somehow teleport and then click on an enemy that you can't see before you teleport before you land on the spikes?

Sadly the level design made this game unplayable. I think next time if you try to get some people to play your game before you upload it, you'll be able to get an idea of how difficult your game is.

Also, whilst I'm OK with reading instructions on the game page, I much prefer it when the instructions are in the game, it makes the game seem much more polished.

The game mechanic itself didn't seem that fun, but this could possibly be remedied with a better art-style, background music, visual effects, and most importantly: good level design!

Hope you can use this to improve for next time!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]