Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Geisterblut

by nuprahtor - Jam Entry

This is a game about ghost hunter.

WASD - movement
Left Mouse Button - shoot
Left shift - run

Music used:
Naked City - Batman
Naked City - The Sicilian Clan
Naked City - Speedball

For Ludum Dare 23

I used some of my old art assets as well as Naked City music, so I disabled Graphics and Audio voting categories.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#35Mood(Jam)4.08
#169Humor(Jam)3.56
#229Overall(Jam)3.58
#277Fun(Jam)3.37
#395Innovation(Jam)3.27
#815Theme(Jam)2.88

Comments

napoleon says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:29pm

Maybe one of the best games I played on this Ludum Dare - not kidding ! I only thought the audio to be a little bit too loud.

Ditto says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:35pm

Okay wow. Dude. What the hell just happened to me? WHAT THE HELL?

This game caught me off guard. It crams up the weirdness JUST until you're getting a grip on things, and then it vomits out something new to set you off! The graphics are disgustingly beautiful in their twisted way. Pacing is perfect and the music fits right in.

This game is art.
I fucking love it.
<3

TomBoogaart says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:02pm

that was weird!

rattower says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:02pm

breddy gud

kyyrma says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:08pm

Goichi Suda presents: Silent Hill. It's games like this that make me want to learn Unity.

Hectate says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:36pm

i DON'T KNOW WHAT TO THINK. Ooops caps sorry. It's more fitting though.

zwartraider says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:37pm

Oh man, this game got very trippy real quick :) The visuals are really cool, especially the beginning.

AlexDJones says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:40pm

Great atmosphere, amazing music, one of my favourite entries so far!

local minimum says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:41pm

I really didn't understand the mechanism when shooting but apart from that, the volume on the music and that there was a bit too much intro text, this game was a blast to play. It was weird and strange in a very nice way.

hercludes says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 7:50pm

Wow, a lot was happening at once. Even though the gameplay is pretty rudiment and it's not an inconvenient weapon at all, it's a lot of fun to play and I can only imagine the reactions some people would get from playing it.

Frenchie says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:28am

I'm at a loss for words, which is what I think you were going for :P

LuckyCassette says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:05pm

This is amazing. 5 stars for everything except theme since it's still ultimately just a gun even if you say it's a special gun.
That music is pro too.

ProjectX593 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:33pm

Probably the strangest game I've played so far!

SelfTitled says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:50pm

My head hurts and my ears are bleeding lol

Team-KwaKwa says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:34pm

Lol, great first impression. Would like to see it full release!

Simon says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:02pm

Crazy!

Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:22pm

really quite cool. love the feel of it

hexdie says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:14am

That was fucking awesome! Fantastic music (and music choices) and great artwork. It could've used a cursor of some sorts because it was a little hard to aim but still very enjoyable.

flwns says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:39am

well then...

panurge says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 7:20pm

I always like your games and this could be one of my favourites. I really hope you keep working on it - I do want to know what happens next! Fritz is a character deserving further development...

Anyway, great art, music and mood. The spinning targets on the ghosts were fun too.

OberynMartell says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 9:58pm

I don't think I really understood what happened there. The gameplay is fun and the graphics fits a lot with the theme.

Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:41am

Weird, crazy entry which was a fun ride. Loved the music you choose which worked really well with the whole concept you were going for. The dialogue was also great.

Apr 25, 2015 @ 5:22pm

Awesome! You're the person behind Composition 83. I love that game.

So much style and flavor and world building. Love the moodiness and the music decisions.

Horsed says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 8:38pm

Really creepy. Infact, too creepy for me :-) I couldn't play for long. But I saw it's uniqueness and awesomeness.

nassi says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 10:27pm

Certainly something different, but didn't really like it as a game. I don't really know what you were going for (the shock factor?), but the walk in the beginning albeit moody was just pointless and changing the size of the cursor based on the distance was a poor choice. Not that it wasn't hard enough to shoot at them with the red text spinning in place anyways.

Mase says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 6:57pm

Extremely unpleasant and abrasive.
Just interesting enough to taunt players with the sudden anticlimax.

Pierrec says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 2:17pm

Why did you remove the Audio and the graphics?!
Well...it's the least "nuprahtor" game I played haha and it's pretty rad anyway. You really suprised me here. I like to be surprised :)

nuprahtor says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 2:50pm

I removed it because the music is not mine and this game uses three graphic assets that I made back in January (I was out of time to make new).

phi6 says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 4:43pm

WTF did I just play. Wow. Can't praise this one enough!

alvivar says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 5:36am

Superb

kabutakogames says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 1:22am

Its got a cool upsetting style that catches you off guard, but I found it to hard to decypher the battle to get much of a rush out of it

Skiddings says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 8:45pm

Well... huh?

pstudio says ...
May 11, 2015 @ 4:56pm

Well that was interesting. Love the mood. Didn't get the shooting mechanic.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]