Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Sepulcher of the Unicorn

by Jon Fisch - Jam Entry

Thanks for checking out my game! (Hooray for last minute, mostly [almost completely] unrelated titles.). Any feedback would be greatly appreciated, and suggestions are always welcome. For this game, I used Unreal Engine 4, Blender, Photoshop, and Audacity. I haven't used UE4 for very long, so I saw this as an opportunity to get acquainted to it.

Controls:
Use WASD to navigate
Use the Mouse to look around
Use the E key to interact
Use Spacebar to jump

Controllers: (You will need a mouse for the main menu)
Use the Left Stick for Navigation
Use the Right Stick to look around
Use the left face button to interact
Use the bottom face button to jump

Jam version updates:
Fixed a rendering issue with the second set of light bulbs so they would actually be visible in game.

Post-Jam version updates:
The water wheel paddles now looks wet where they touch water
The bottom of the cave now looks slightly wet
The waterways now look wet where they touch the water
Fixed a graphical error with the waterway material in the pump area
The waterwheel generator actually has the proper textures now
Waterwheel rotation has been replaced with animations to fix a problem where the wheel turns backwards
The waterwheel lever can now be turned regardless of whether or not the pump lever is on
The second lift now turns off when the power is turned off.


In the interest of fairness, please play the jam version when voting.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#49Graphics(Jam)4.45
#123Mood(Jam)3.70
#172Audio(Jam)3.53
#447Overall(Jam)3.31
#724Fun(Jam)2.75
#736Humor(Jam)2.42
#805Innovation(Jam)2.56

Comments

theeu says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:53am

I had totally forgotten there was a theme until the end.
The "puzzles" could be better, the door puzzle is pure trial and error, it's just guessing.
I did enjoy the environment, it's intriguing and pretty.

binarycoder says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:09am

Very beautiful game! Puzzles were decent too.

SuperKid says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:15am

Loved the graphics. The unconventional weapon was great! xD

Squidtank says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:25am

Not bad! I did feel a bit dumb for a few minutes when trying to figure out what to do but I got it eventually. I still think I only made it through because of luck but it's better than nothing!

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:37am

Super impressive art and audio. Makes for a really atmospheric experience, nice work!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:56am

Cool graphics. I couldn't really figure out the puzzles. Maybe I'll sleep on it.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:29am

Gah this is absolutely amazing in both the visual and sound department. You really nailed the whole atmosphere, and I mean NAILED it. This may be one of the more impressive Ludum Dare entries I've seen, ever. But definitely most impressive I've run across for this one. It really carries a Myst-like quality overall to the feel in general.

Obviously the visuals are really nice, but I really love that you did such a great job including appropriate sounds also. I'm not sure how much of the assets were done during the jam though, but the fact that it all went so well together is just great.

The puzzles weren't amazing or anything, but the final door puzzle was engaging enough to keep me at it for a bit.

(Spoilers for those who haven't played it)

It took me a while to figure out I needed to go to the area where you flip the water wheel switch. By that time I had seen the light bulb sequence on the other machine and could figure out the door sequence pretty easily.

I noticed someone mentioned the door puzzle was just trial and error, but it's sort of funny because that door puzzle is only guesswork if you don't look for the clues haha. Good job with that part, though I guess ideally you'd want puzzles people wouldn't be able to brute force figure out without the clues.

As for the ending, well... I suppose it's an alright justification of the theme... but let's put it this way... I can see why you'd opt out of the rating in that department.

Great job overall, seriously impressive atmosphere.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:53pm

Very atmospheric. Could've had more content, but is good for what it is.

OrkyOrks says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:11pm

Puzzles were pretty good, graphically impressive. However you missed the theme of the jam.

Jon Fisch says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:43pm

@theeu
Thanks for the feedback! For the doors, look at what CriticalMammal said.

@binarycoder
Thanks!

@SuperKid
Eh, it's alright... ;p

@Squidtank
You still succeeded, so thank you for giving it a shot.

@TheMeorch
Thank you!

@mike.cullingham
Thanks for trying it out; keep at it! :)

@CriticalMammal
Thanks, I really appreciate your feedback!
With the exception of textures and sounds, all assets were made during the jam. That said, I heavily modified each texture (Originally from cgtextures.com; resizing, recoloring, baking to specific models) and sound (Originally from a royalty free sound library; chopping up, changing speed, and making some into separate sounds to make seamless transitions) to actually fit the game during the 72 hours available. On top of this, creating normal, roughness, and ambient occlusion maps for each texture. Not the most fun process, but I liked the results.
If you have any suggestions for guiding the player to the water wheel switch, I'm still trying to figure that one out. ;)

@chikun Dev Team
Thank you. Perhaps I'll add more soon. :)

@OrkyOrks
Yeah, I was a bit dissapointed to have to end it the way I did after my original idea didn't pan out.

Cosine says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:03am

This. Was. Amazing. Thank you so much for that. The graphics, sound, and polish were on a way-beyond-LD quality. It blew me away. The atmosphere was amazing. I just loved being in the game. It seemed very short for me... I would have liked more than one puzzle.
PS: I should learn UE4 :)

Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:12am

Of course, great work on the visuals; they're the most realistic I've seen of any entries so far. Also, the audio fit nicely. I didn't even realize I was solving puzzles until reading comments, I thought I was just playing around in an environment.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:14am

I like your idea of unconvinced weapon. And this is interesting idea to use UE4 for decent visual. It really outstanding in comparison with pixel art and lowpoly art. But need to admit that it strikes on amount of content. Your game also very short. As idea, you could make maze sequence near the final by using existing content. It will make your game longer with keeping main idea.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:25am

@Jon Fisch No problem, that's very impressive that you were able to pump out so much polished content in such a short amount of time. Finding and editing proper sounds normally takes me about half a day alone. They also didn't feel overused or anything, which is surprising.

As for the water wheel issue... I dunno. I kind of like that it's this thing you pass by at first oblivious to its importance. The pipe-work that leads you around to the parts of the puzzle are good subtle hints. The main problem is that there wasn't much in the way of a small piece of information hinting that I may have missed something (aside from the door puzzle not working). After I was pretty sure I was doing it right I started backtracking and found it. But that process was a tad lengthier than I would have liked personally.

Perhaps have some sort of indication when the player correctly has the levers pulled? Like turning on the little light in the elevator (though it's hard to see if you aren't inside it). That way they could know they need to start looking elsewhere?

Drauthius says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 8:52pm

Beautiful! It looks very well made. :)

Catwheel says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 2:54am

I figured everything out fairly easy. It was very cool. The graphics were stellar. Very awesome myst mood to the overall game. I enjoyed this.

Jon Fischer says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 5:41pm

@Cosine
Thanks a bunch! You definitely should give UE4 it a go!

@crazyninjamofo
Thanks! They're not really the best or most obvious "puzzles," but I'm glad you figured it out.

@Yaroslav Kravtsov
I'll admit, I'm much better with graphics than I am with super in-depth content, but I'll take your suggestions into consideration. Thanks!

@CriticalMammal
That's good to hear; I was worried that I'd get sick of them in testing alone. :P
I've been working on an update that should hopefully make it more obvious to the player where they need to go, but I've been extremely busy recently, so I don't know exactly when it'll be ready. I'm also completely reworking the lever puzzle, so it should (hopefully) be much more intuitive and understandable for everyone. Your feedback is much appreciated, and I'll definitely be taking your suggestions into account. :)

@Drauthius
Thanks!

@Catwheel
I'm glad you liked it!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]