Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

A Horsecut in Hairtown

by JumbocactuarX27 - Compo Entry

A Horsecut in Hairtown is about a town under siege by bad hair!

Only the quickest Barber-horse and his trusty comb can set this hairtastrophie right!

How to play:
Click and drag to fix people's hair!
Use shampoo to clean dirty or greasy hair!
Make everyone's hair beautiful again!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#162Humor3.55
#330Innovation3.43
#553Fun3.05
#599Theme3.29
#651Audio2.45
#678Mood2.77
#752Overall2.95
#857Graphics2.52
#1713Coolness39%

Comments

boateye says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:19pm

Great little game! The final level had a great twist and made your game match the theme much better. I was about to give 3 stars on the theme but the final battle saved it.

Two things i would do to improve the game:

1) Add music. The game will feel more lively with music. the other sound effects are fine as they match and set the tone of the game.

2) tighten up the controls. The shampoo button was inconsistently responsive, and give a bit of visual an/or auditory feedback when you click the right area on the hair to start dragging from. Sometimes i would think i clicked and dragged on the hair, only to get deducted time!

Overall, a good entry, and I hope you get more recognition.

ARubino says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:19pm

Fun and innovative. The controlls and gameplay where very smooth. I liked the idea and had fun playing it through.

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:20pm

Nice art style, cool minigame concept. Great job!

TeamCalcium says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:01pm

Cool concept! The final battle was really enjoyable.

Benjamin says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 10:13am

I love it, especially the boss fight when you hav to undestand what t odo with no innstructions.
I just think yous should add some feedback when we use shampoo but failed to wash ( ex : just one bubble, or flashing hairs )

grillaface says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 1:29am

This is great! I've always wanted to make a hairstyling game and you implemented it very well :) I love your sense of humor 5/5++

TeslaCoil says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 1:16am

Well... it was an interesting game. I didn't think you really used the theme of the jam, though. You didn't even seem to 'fight' the robot, so I don't consider the comb and shampoo weapons. Maybe I'm being picky.

The game felt incredibly easy. I think I got perfect on every level... until the arrows disappeared against the robot. Then I had no idea what to do, and it was basically trial and error. That's never fun. A better final boss, in my opinion, would have kept the arrows and been time-based. Maybe the robot was overheating or something and you could only touch it and its hair for a fraction of a second safely. Or maybe just have so many actions that it's hard to do all of them in the time you normally allow for a level.

Well, it missed the mark for me, but I have to admit, a hairstyling game that ends in cyberspace doing a robot's hair for the safety of the world is quite possibly the best concept anything has ever had.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]