Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Panash & Plume

by tikilittle - Jam Entry

Update: check out the updated version below that I'm sending to IndieCade.


A hunting and grilling game. This is a game about some of my favorite things: gers, eagles, sheepies, wolves, and foxes. I got inspired by hearing a story of a 13-year old eagle huntress (http://www.bbc.com/news/magazine-26969150).

Enjoy exploring this world! I loved creating it.

Controls:

Panash:
--Move:WASD/Arrow Keys
--Rotate:Q/E
--Jump:Space
-----/|\-----
----Shift----
-----\|/-----
Plume:
--Look: Mouse
--Move: WASD/Arrow Keys
--Fly: Space


Music:"Saruul tal" by Arga Bileg
https://soundcloud.com/jiigeemusic/arga-bileg-saruul-tal

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#100Audio(Jam)3.76
#118Mood(Jam)3.72
#247Graphics(Jam)3.81
#261Innovation(Jam)3.49
#504Overall(Jam)3.23
#690Theme(Jam)3.12
#706Fun(Jam)2.77
#866Humor(Jam)2.06

Comments

Liam :D says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:25am

Neat! :D Subject matter I have not seen in LD games before! And voxel art, I love voxel art :D

ZQMony says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:49am

Cool game. I wish the camera was better placed on Panish though.

SuperKid says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:52am

Dude, this game is so fucking amazing! LOVE the idea of switching between the player and the eagle. I think it could become a fantastic game with a bit of time to keep developing. If you wanna keep working on the idea, let me know! :D
10/10

Cheshyr says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:04am

this is fantastic. thanks for creating it; really excellent.

uvwar says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:30am

Really cool graphics and world! Not much to do once you're out but the style is awesome, you should definitely keep going with this!

Ghen says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:38am

the music and the graphics definitely awesome, the idea of switching player/perspective quite good, but i do hope you fix the camera placement, most of the time i don't know where i look at or what

flwns says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:11am

Super cool! Once you get the hang of it. The Music really adds a lot to this game.

Dreyan says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 11:18pm

I really like the at style you've got going with this one, voxel graphics lend themselves well to the bright colours and aesthetic - really fun :)

Apr 24, 2015 @ 5:40pm

Really interesting game and world, the music really adds to the atmosphere.

Apr 26, 2015 @ 5:57am

Really awesome idea, the movement and camera controls need work though.

Kaijuu says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 6:08am

Cool! Awesome atmosphere

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 6:21am

Truly beautiful game. The mood and atmosphere you have down pat. I'm impressed that you included a day/night cycle. I almost got chills exploring the world and flying as Plume :) Thank you for making this

Davikin92 says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 6:24am

Hunting! In the LD32 games I have reviewed, this is the first one that uses that theme! Fantastic and original!

I wish Panash could do more. This game reminded me a little of Journey, I love the graphics in both as well as the music :)

Apr 26, 2015 @ 6:36am

You nailed the overall atmosphere and while the visuals and animations aren't always completely polished or pleasant in a traditional way... they really have a sort of unrefined quality that does something magical for the whole experience.

The music reminded me quite a bit of certain vocal elements from Ghost in the Shell. I actually went back to look it up, it's the first song in this video: https://youtu.be/ZtzMskOJgHA?t=5s

The music just really pushes the mood waaaaaay out there. It adds so much that I'd say it's one of those things that just defines a large part of the experience.

I didn't really play the game a great deal for the hunting aspect of it, even though I normally like that part of games with it included. It just didn't do anything for me personally. Controlling the eagle with that kind of precision became difficult, and it ended up with me gaining velocity... overshooting a great deal... sliding along the ground, and repeating until I caught a fox (I just caught that one fox). After that I sort of decided that aspect of the game wasn't really polished enough and lost interest in it. I did quite enjoy initially flying around as the bird with the music just giving me chills. And the animations for the person character were very well done... but I wasn't inclined to do much with them due to their slow mobility and general lack of use in comparison with the eagle.

I will note though, that in the building area at the start the character speed feels a bit fast. There needs to be some balance there with the movement. Everything felt slippery and stiff, and not much of the motion felt very natural. To me, that's the main thing I'd like to see improved. The eagle ended up feeling like controlling a piece of plastic with a rocket booster on the back. There wasn't a sense of natural gliding in the air or landing ability. The only games that I can refer to for that kind of flight model would be games that feature airplanes, ideally realistically modeled. Where gaining/losing altitude costs/gains speed... and of course wing flapping would need to be worked into that somehow for takeoff/landing. Complex stuff... but important for rounding out this kind of thing.

Great job overall establishing the mood. I'd love being notified if you update this at all.

Apr 26, 2015 @ 8:45am

Has all the best of established open-world art games, namely Journey, with an engaging and creative world to explore. I think this game has a lot of potential - good work!

tikilittle says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 5:46pm

Thanks everyone for your feedback. It's been very helpful! I'm working on a build for IndieCade, which will incorporate a lot of what you guys are giving me. Thanks again.

dyfer says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 8:02pm

very beautiful game, I really like the world you've created.

tikilittle says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 7:54pm

Added a new version of the game. See above!

jprogman says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 6:53am

It seems like I can move both players with WASD regardless of whom I'm playing as.
It's a vibrant explorer. Just I wish there is a mission somewhere.

Pat Kemp says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 4:30pm

Great concept, Todd! Reminds me of an episode of Human Planet I saw. I found the controls for both the human and bird kind of difficult to use, and I wasn't sure what I was supposed to do with the human. I just kept flying out of the roof and bringing animals back to the fire, but I wasn't sure what my goal was. Anyway, I hope you keep working on it. Good job!

Langouste says ...
Apr 29, 2015 @ 4:48pm

Super Game! I love it ;) Thanks

blubberquark says ...
May 1, 2015 @ 7:12pm

(@OhHelloTilman using the account to rate games) The first time I played I did not understand anything... To be honest I thought there are two people that have the mountain in between and need to find each other ;). also did not remember that you can rotate qith q/e, which made the game a bit strange. But I liked the atmosphere, and got intrigued. Played it more and understood it, really nice idea and atmosphere, but the character controls could be improved, and some in-game explanation would be nice.

Demy says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 12:10pm

Oh, my God, this music... Awesome atmosphere.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]