Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

What Have We Created?!

by Ranmara - Jam Entry

No really, what have we created?!

Perhaps the world is simply not yet ready for our genius. The called us fools! FOOLS! Their lack of vision will finally be their undoing when they face the might of our LAB GROWN GENETIC ABERRATION OF ULTIMATE DESTRUCTION!!

Using the power of SCIENCE you can now create your own monster, and set it loose upon the unsuspecting inhabitants of the city below. See its fire breath as it brings burning oblivion to your enemies. Watch as it topples the tallest tower block. Gasp as bullets deflect off its mighty armour.

Warfare will never be the same again once the most UNCONVENTIONAL WEAPON of all has been unleashed! How long will it survive before the pitiful weapons of mankind bring it to its knee/s?

Programming/Design - Alex Greenwood
Music/Sound - Becky Conning
Art - Samantha Turner

Made using Unity 5, Inkscape, Ableton Live.

If you like the game but want to play a more polished version, here is a link to our ongoing development build. Thanks . http://ranmara.itch.io/what-have-we-created-postld

Edit 21/04/2015 :- Added credits and downloadable link for those who can't play on web.
Edit 2 21/04/2015 :- Added ongoing development link.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#97Innovation(Jam)3.83
#232Audio(Jam)3.38
#252Theme(Jam)3.73
#258Humor(Jam)3.39
#343Mood(Jam)3.31
#346Overall(Jam)3.41
#361Graphics(Jam)3.59
#473Fun(Jam)3.13

Comments

fixedgerald says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 1:27am

Very cool idea, but confusing building mechanics. I cant seem to figure out how make a working monster. The pieces I'm allowed to use are randomly picked and I cant delete a piece I have placed.

mortus says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:30am

Fantastic! I just love such games where you can create something monstrous using basic parts! Will make sure to get back to it and have more fun.

Suvidriel says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:02pm

Awesome idea :D

Agram says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 12:04pm

Very original and fun idea. Great job !

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 2:49pm

High marks for this one :D A bit random on the construction but really good fun to watch. Some minor control over the character would be great. Excellent work

alpha_rat says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 3:34pm

one of my favourite entries so far, great job !

ManicMiner says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:39pm

Far and away my favourite game, not just of this jam, but that I've played this year - nearly perfect in every way!

MasterOfNaN says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:55pm

Very nicely put together. My only minor criticism is that the monster battle stage can be quite long and slow to progress, given the lack of interaction. Nice work!

zwartraider says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:56pm

This is a really cool original concept! Building a monster out of random parts and then unleashing it on a city is quite fun!I also like the look of the lab, but I'm just a sucker for liquid tanks and wires :)

ObscenelyTrue says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:18pm

Excellent concept! A lot of fun...

Roysterini says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:37pm

Love the concept and the deranged happy face of the creature that is created.
I too found the building of the creature a bit cumbersome, but got there in the end.
Demolish 8 building and lasted just short of 3 minutes.

Big thumbs up!

tentabrobpy says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:41pm

Could you add a windows standalone version? Web player is funky on chrome :(

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:47pm

Really original, nice one! :)

peejaygee says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 11:37pm

Fun game once I got a grasp of what I was supposed to do. Reminded me of a variation of Rampage

Horsed says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:46pm

I can't pick any body part. I can flush the tanks and get new parts but I the can't be moved to the plugging-are :-(

TTFTCUTS says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:27pm

Randomness of parts was frustrating, but otherwise really neat.

Bensonance says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:28pm

Very cool "Miami-like" game. The bullets blend in a lot with the brown tilesets, an issue of their tonal values, but otherwise an admirable Ludum Dare entry

Wevel says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:41pm

It would be nice to have a bit more control over making the monster

Deity says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 4:11am

Very cool concept and the graphics look good.

The implementation of creating your character was a bit frustrating though. An 'undo' last attachment would be good. Also, getting the right part with the "Flush" option seemed a bit like the lottery and I would have preferred a scrollable list instead.

jhell says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 11:04am

Really cool, it took me a few tries, but I finally managed to down 1 building x). One gripe I have is that in the green tubes, we don't see the outlines of the blocks well enough, so sometimes it's hard to understand why a block won't fit where we want it to.

Liked it!

Ranmara says ...
Apr 24, 2015 @ 10:29pm

Hi, thanks for the feedback. As is the nature of LD, there was a lot we wanted to do with the game that we didn't have time to do during the jam. I've found time to do a little bit of bug fixing since then, including weighting the tiles so that the most useful ones are more common and making there more of an indication of how they should fit together. Play the latest version here http://ranmara.itch.io/what-have-we-created-postld

Benjamin says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:41am

Once you destory the front buildings, no more red windows appears... My mosnter is still wreaking havoc as I type this :) The concept is really fun I love it.
The problem is you want claws as low as possible because most buildings are small one. So the higher the claw the less efficient it is. It spoils a bit the build mechanic.

Also at some points, building dont play their fall animations when they collapse and just vanish.

reiknight says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:46am

I liked your idea! The monster "pieces" placement seems very confusing to me. I think you need to add some kind of "highlight" to the positions that are correct. Good job!

CScribes says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 5:19am

Loved it! Such a cute face for an evil abomination xD!

xbcw says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 4:20pm

That was fun. I would have liked a free mode where you can build whatever you want with unlimited pieces.

Danman9914 says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 7:13pm

The monster building was a little janky; it was hard to tell which pieces fit together and how to attach legs. Despite that, this is my favorite game of the jam so far. The art and music are fantastic and watching your creation tear down the city is humorous and satisfying.

mildmojo says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 7:57pm

Cool idea.

The monster building part was nice, though it was difficult to tell by looking at a piece which way it would attack. I understand the green border system, but it didn't quite communicate enough to me. Pushing the armor art more toward the edge of the tile might help.

I had a really hard time using the parts I rolled to make a monster with more than one leg. The minimum height of a leg plus the armor block joining it to the body means you can't effectively attack short buildings. When I finally built a monster that had enough pincers to do some damage, I spawned in a city that was mostly short houses that I couldn't reach. It might help to have the city be all tall buildings, like Rampage.

The art and animation was good. The lab screen served its purpose, though it could use a little more polish and maybe some animation. I'm glad I was able to re-roll the available monster parts, but it often took too long to find what I needed.

I think a better strategy for the grid would be to allow you to place monster parts anywhere and remove them on the fly. When you hit "launch", any disconnected parts could just fall off. There were a bunch of times when I knew where I wanted to use a part, but I didn't have the intervening parts to get there yet. I wanted to place the part in the monster grid and use later parts to build the connections.

The text and the UI could be dressed up a bit. Using a non-system font would go a long way, and Unity's new UI system is really nice for creating good-looking HUDs.

Once you get a monster built, it's satisfying to see them tear through the city (at least when they have enough teeth). The "build it and watch it go" element is fun to play with, and you could spend a lot of time designing monsters if you didn't have the supply limit in place.

Nice work on the art and the monster building in general, though. That's a lot to get done in a short period.

Apr 27, 2015 @ 1:03am

I had fun builing my monster and watching it destroy the buildings, although it took a bit long. Nice graphics!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]