Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

RoboFight

by Sri Harsha Chilakapati - Compo Entry

A simple one-one 2d fighting combat game, where you fight by throwing needles or stinky socks. The other robot (the dark one) is the enemy, and is controlled by the computer.

The controls are simple, use A/D to move, SPACE to jump, ESC to pause. Use RIGHT/UP arrows to shoot and the DOWN arrow to turn on the shield. You can use the F1 key to switch between Windowed and Fullscreen modes. There is a tutorial in the game which will teach you the controls.

Thanks to LD, this is my second completed game. My first one is also in LD too. Thanks a lot LD!!

This game is written using Java 8 and requires a GPU capable of OpenGL 3.3 or higher. Any decent card released after 2008 will work. There is an issue for mac users, they have to download the fixed mac os download provided. Make sure you download RoboFightMac.jar if on OSX. Windows/Linux build works fine on both platforms.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#457Graphics3.19
#547Audio2.71
#624Humor2.59
#856Theme2.92
#916Fun2.56
#935Mood2.36
#956Innovation2.44
#993Overall2.62
#1383Coolness47%

Comments

Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:28am

An interesting take on the theme. The game is a bit short though ?

Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:34am

Had nothing to do with the theme unless if I am missing something.

Jordan says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:42am

Hmm, I'm getting this error when launching the jar on Linux.

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: com/shc/ld32/game/Main : Unsupported major.minor version 52.0

Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:44am

@thedarknightdu78

You are right, I should have left myself some more time to add more stages. I have spent 15 hours on the graphics and two hours on the music. Thanks for your suggestion, I'll improve it in my next game.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:48am

@OmnipotentPotatoDEV

I think throwing needles and stinky socks are unconventional weapons and with the theme.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:52am

@Jordan

This game needs Java 8 in order to run. That message says that you have an older version of Java installed.

amras0000 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 6:04am

If anyone is having trouble running this, It's written in Java 8, so update that...

PaperBlurt says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 12:57pm

It's like that sock em' robots but digital!

mar3k says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:28pm

Interesting game, I love that it has the tutorial to make it easy to for player to figure out the controls and the AI, but it is kinda short unfortunately.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 2:49pm

@mar3k

I feel the same, I should have left myself more time to add more gameplay stages, I could have at least add waves of enemy robos. I admit, everything went out of my plans pretty quickly. I lost 16 hours (in two days) for sleeping, eating and other regular activities. Then I spent 15 hours for the graphics, and 2 hours for the audio. Then I lost 6 hours with power cut (the transformer in our street is damaged).

But it is, really really fun. I will be definitely participating in the next compo, and I'm pretty sure I can learn from this.

bentglasstube says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:35pm

Very easy to win and not much replay-ability but an interesting concept nonetheless. I enjoyed the weapon selection.

Wevel says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:17pm

Fun idea, it's a bit easy.

Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:26pm

@Wevel

Yeah, it's a bit easy, my AI is not perfect. BTW, are you chrislo27 on JGO?

DaGamesta says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:34am

Hey, I have Java 8 installed, however I am still getting the following error when I try to run it: http://pastebin.com/c1CbZti8

Domicuc says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:34am

Well.. :D its funny but short! xD
Also check my game please! x)

bitdecaygames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:18pm

I'm on a MacBooPro, OSX (10.9.5), Intel i7. The jar did not run when I double clicked, right click -> open, or ran from console with java -jar RoboFight.jar.

Stacktrace:

[INFO 04/21/2015 10:16:03 AM] Initializing SilenceEngine. Platform identified as MACOSX
[INFO 04/21/2015 10:16:03 AM] Running AWT fix on Mac OS X, needed for LWJGL to run
[INFO 04/21/2015 10:16:03 AM] Initializing LWJGL library. Extracting natives
[INFO 04/21/2015 10:16:03 AM] LWJGL version 3.0.0a is initialised
com.shc.silenceengine.core.SilenceException: java.lang.IllegalStateException: Please run the JVM with -XstartOnFirstThread.
at org.lwjgl.system.macosx.EventLoop.checkFirstThread(EventLoop.java:20)
at org.lwjgl.glfw.GLFW.glfwInit(GLFW.java:428)
at com.shc.silenceengine.core.glfw.GLFW3.init(GLFW3.java:47)
at com.shc.silenceengine.core.SilenceEngine.init(SilenceEngine.java:103)
at com.shc.silenceengine.core.Game.start(Game.java:188)
at com.shc.ld32.game.Main.main(Main.java:107)

at com.shc.silenceengine.core.SilenceException.reThrow(SilenceException.java:52)
at com.shc.silenceengine.core.SilenceEngine.lambda$static$43(SilenceEngine.java:53)
at com.shc.silenceengine.core.SilenceEngine$$Lambda$1/1418481495.uncaughtException(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.ThreadGroup.uncaughtException(ThreadGroup.java:1057)
at java.lang.ThreadGroup.uncaughtException(ThreadGroup.java:1052)
at java.lang.Thread.dispatchUncaughtException(Thread.java:1952)

ndebruyn says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:59pm

Too short

Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:24am

@DaGamesta

That error means that your GPU is not capable of OpenGL 3.3. That caused the GLFW to fail creating a window because it can't find the requested context. Unfortunately, I don't want to go back, because

1) OpenGL pre 3.2 is deprecated and
2) I had to rewrite the entire graphics API of my engine if I wanted to go back (149 classes and 12 shaders)

Can you post some more details about your GPU? Like the Make and model?

Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:33am

@Domicuc

Thanks for trying my game. Yeah it's a bit short, I should have left myself more time for designing the gameplay. Learnt a lesson this time, I'll improve myself in the coming LD.

Also, your game is cool. Go grab the 5 stars that I gave you. Thanks for playing my entry.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:37am

@bitdecaygames

That issue is the requirement of LWJGL3, the library I use to access OpenGL and OpenAL from my engine. The workaround for now, is to run it with the specified JVM parameter like this in the terminal.

java -XstartOnFirstThread -jar RoboFight.jar

Since this is bugging with several people on macs, I will now make a special mac build. Sorry for the inconvenience.

grillaface says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 2:42am

Yeah won't run on OSX for me, I hope you can upload a new version!

Apr 22, 2015 @ 3:59am

Hello developer here. I just uploaded a mac version. Make sure that OSX users download the 'RoboFightMac.jar' instead. This one is a fat jar which includes the fixes for LWJGL3 to work on Mac.

fauge says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:46am

too short, good graphics and good audio. needs some polishing

Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:29am

@fauge

I admit it's very short, and also very easy to win. However I have decided to extend this game once the judging is completed. Again, I've to thank LD.

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 10:36am

I really like the trees.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 1:24pm

Thanks @Crowbeak

Marcus316 says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 2:24am

Not bad, though I had to play through a terrible flickering of the graphics (my machine's issue, not your code, I think). Very short, and very easy, though.

Apr 23, 2015 @ 9:13pm

To bad the game is too short. A simple way to add a replay value is to count the victory streak, and add more and more powerfull enemies.

DaGamesta says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 10:03pm

@SHC Sorry it took me so long to reply, I've been busy with work. My GPU is just the GPU built on the motherboard, I have a rather cheap laptop. I will be replacing it within a few months, but I'll see about maybe borrowing a friend's computer to rate your game with at some point in the upcoming weeks.

Apr 24, 2015 @ 6:01am

@Mathieu Muller

Thanks for that idea, I plan to continue working on this game once the judging is complete.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]