Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Waffle Warrior

by Super Hamster - Compo Entry

You are a character running away from hungry fat people. Why? They want waffles. Click to throw waffles at them before they get to you so they will be satisfied.

Use either WASD or arrow keys to move around.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#152Humor3.58
#412Theme3.51
#452Fun3.16
#579Mood2.90
#614Audio2.55
#676Overall3.05
#695Innovation2.89
#810Graphics2.62

Comments

Toby Pinder says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:32am

Matches theme, feels polished. Enemies can spawn directly above the player which feels a bit cheap, and some of the ledges don't work great with the player character's move mechanics.

Other than those fairly minor issues it's a fun little game, can see the kills feeding in to a high score mechanic etc.

oranebeast says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 3:46am

My god that was brutal! Maple syrup everywhere, Imaine the stains. Fun lil' game.

ZQMony says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:21am

Good job! The game is fun and hilarious. Jumping can be a bit tricky though.

amras0000 says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 5:54am

Getting eaten by the enemies is an interesting way to go; main complaint I have is a lot of ledges just barely out of reach, but that's nitpicking. solid little game.

stuffedgravy says ...
Apr 20, 2015 @ 4:23pm

Pretty good game! You have some good mechanics to prevent camping and keep the game dynamic.

One quick tweak would be to reduce the falling speed of the enemies; it's a bit hard to react to someone falling down on you. But hey, I had fun! I played a few rounds of it and tried out various different strategies :D The waffle looks really good by the way!

AtomicVikings says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:51am

Nice game! Was really funny to play it but a bit to hard after a short while. Good work. :-)

aeveis says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 4:52am

funny, throwing waffles was interesting!

fauge says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 5:33am

Wafles and exploding syrup hmmm...If this game used a physics engine and possibly a game engine it would be amazing! Keep up the good work!

Mouch says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 9:48am

Better AI and levels with puzzles and the game would be awesome!

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:00pm

I think I'd prefer to be one of the fat guys :D

Great work :)

snesgaard says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 8:06pm

I am never eating waffles again...

Pretty fun little game, thought controls were pretty responsive too.

Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:38am

I really liked your entry, great use of the theme, I enjoy waffles so was quite happy to play ^^, I wanted to travel alittle faster than the game allowed, but it was quite fun :D

DugelStudios says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:16pm

Cool game :D. Also I responded to your comment on my game so don't forget to see it.

TimBeaudet says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 1:37am

I felt a bit confused on how to play for the first minute or so, could not figure out how to throw the waffles as I had intuitively started using arrow keys and didn't realize the mouse was needed. The animations worked well and the movement was pretty solid. I was quite confused at first on objective and "where to go" but after finding it was a little playground for high-score I easily found myself getting above 50 points. Good job.

Dreyan says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 5:05am

Super tight controls and really impressive considering no game engine was used. Technically impressive, and those arms are glorious ;)

calavera says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 3:18am

Great! I would make movement (besides jumping) a bit faster to match the jump speed, but overall this was awesome.

guigrillo13 says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 6:33pm

Great game my friend!
Really fun and smooth graphics

SpringCabal says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 5:46am

It's interesting, and innovative. Audio isn't bad but there's no music which ruins the mood. It's kinda hard though and frequent deaths can be frustrating.

TeamFlare says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 10:13pm

Yummyumm waffles :)

Flayk says ...
Apr 28, 2015 @ 6:08am

The game kept a consistent mood, and made me crave waffles. It was funny to see the bad guys happily eating waffles until BOOM they burst open. The graphics could have been a bit better, but they did their job. This was spot-on with the theme of the jam, and I like that the character puts the waffle down as opposed to throwing it. It was pretty fun and innovative, but overall I don't think there is much more I can say about it.

lucentbeam says ...
Apr 30, 2015 @ 11:52pm

Haha, pretty great little game. Maybe a little morbid, but in a funny way :)

lucidsheep says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 3:17am

As I laid silently in the corner with my waffles, thinking I was safe at last from the assault, a fat man dropped upon me from the sky. And I was eaten. Funniest game of this LD for me, great work :)

May 4, 2015 @ 4:34am

Collision Detection could use some work. the mechnaics are pretty simple, would like to see this designed with some levels. Bonus points for waffle weapons.

dreamlogician says ...
May 5, 2015 @ 1:10am

Tough but fair - like Dark Souls, but superior because it had waffles.

spindizzyMR says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 11:54pm

I made a pitched defence on a platform, setting up my waffle walls of defence on either flank, alas ammo began to run low, they all ran around below, maybe I can wait it out, but then around 8 all jump up onto the platform at once OH GOD...

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]