Ludum Dare 32 — April 17th-20th, 2015 — Theme: An Unconventional Weapon

chromenopePSA: As of Chrome 42 (Released April 14th), NPAPI plugins are disabled by default! That means Unity Player, Java, and Silverlight games will not work in the Chrome browser! That said, Flash in the Chrome browser continues to work fine (PPAPI).

To Developers: Consider using HTML5 and WebGL instead. Having troubles with the export? Don’t worry. See Ports below.

To Players: A workaround is to enable NPAPI plugins in your Chrome settings. Click or Copy+Paste this URL in to a tab:

chrome://flags/#enable-npapi

As of September 2015 however, this option will no longer be available.

Other browsers (Firefox, Internet Explorer, Safari) and Flash are unaffected, but FWIW there is no Unity Player or Silverlight for Linux.X

Back to Browse Entries

Frisbee Training

by ChuiGum - Compo Entry

This is my 6th time participating in Ludum Dare. I love Ludum Dare, it's always so exciting yet so intense.

Frisbee Training is an Endless Shooter? Launch your Frisbee back and forth to kill your enemies!

*Make sure you face who you're going to throw it to, and these guys are humans so don't expect a perfect throw when one of you is jumping. :)

You can either play this game by yourself and control both characters, or you can have a friend join you so it's not as difficult.

*I RECOMMEND THAT YOU PLAY WITH TWO PEOPLE*

Instructions:)
Arrow Keys to Move/Jump the First Player,
WASD to Move/Jump the Second Player,
& Spacebar, S, or the Down Key to throw your Frisbee

Hint:) If you jump on the painting, you can get to the top of train.

There's still some more I want to do in the game: Add more enemy images, enemy types (flying enemies?), more visual indicators that the player and enemies are getting hurt (more than just a health bar), and a lot more objects to place in each train cart. Anyway, I hope you like!

Click the "Support Me" link if you would like to make a one-time donation to me for my Game Developing! I'd really appreciate it!

Follow me on Twitter @ccolongames
&
Check out my website to check out some of my other LD's or my other Games!
ccolongames.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness80%
#70Theme4.05
#153Innovation3.74
#217Graphics3.67
#338Audio3.10
#450Humor2.88
#469Mood3.03
#570Overall3.16
#664Fun2.93

Comments

bpleonvong says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:18am

Playing catch by yourself is hard, game is fun though.

sentendo says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:25am

didn't get how to play and why do I lose?

Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:30am

Awesome idea.. very hard one player. Would love to try it with another person.

RoryD says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:31am

This is pretty tough to play by yourself. It's well presented, and I like the audio.

AdamW says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:39am

I really like the game. It looks good and is hard! My only complaint is that there is no visual indicator when taking damage (neither audio or graphics).

ndebruyn says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 7:10am

Nice little one on one game.

Jakob37 says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 6:52pm

Was't able to enjoy it fully as a single player, will try to find a friend to play it with.. I liked the visuals and music, and the mechanics flowed on nicely. Well done :)

Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:10pm

Great art and design!

Fabraz says ...
Apr 21, 2015 @ 10:11pm

Funny gameplay, I like it! I just wish there was a way to play alone without it feeling like a hindrance.

Shugor says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 12:03am

I wasn't able to play this with someone else, but it still made for an entertaining single-player challenge. It's nice how you have to balance keeping the frisbee on the screen with avoiding the enemies. I imagine it would take a lot of cooperation to do with someone else. As you said, it would be nice if there were more enemy types or different obstacles that were added later in the game. You still did a good job with the time you had~

Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:15am

Really good! My partner and I had a great time with this. Would love to see some power ups and stuff in later versions. Great job!

randoman says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 4:30pm

The art is very nice. The core idea is also cool but you should consider implementing a indicator of damage. Sometimes I would be just jumping around and didn't notice that I was touching the enemies

Apr 22, 2015 @ 5:54pm

Fun! I loved the art style. Never thought I'd have the chance to toss a frisbee around a train full of chainsaw wielding maniacs. Thanks for the opportunity :)

BIZM says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 6:38pm

Hilarious game, groovy music but very hard to play. Very impressive AI! :D

HotBoxGames says ...
Apr 22, 2015 @ 8:24pm

Cool idea, a unique concept! The graphics were nice also,

hexdie says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 3:23am

I really like the idea of this! It's definitely an original idea with lots of potential. I also enjoyed the artwork. I only got to try by myself, so I had trouble. That said, it seemed like there were a number of times where I couldn't throw the frisbee but no indication that I shouldn't have been able to. It seemed like I just couldn't throw it.

It'd be cool if you worked further on this idea. I could see there being a lot of potential with it. Nice work!

Shivur says ...
Apr 23, 2015 @ 6:18pm

Great concept if we are more than one player.

Garris says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:21pm

This game was ridiculously hard by itself, HOWEVER as a multiplayer experience, it's pretty much the best thing ever. Kind of made me think of co-op lethal league. Passing the frisbee between two players as a weapon is just great on so many levels. Excellent work!

Apr 25, 2015 @ 7:45pm

Played this with my brother an retested it with a friend ! Solid entry, I had a lot of fun :)

murilo says ...
Apr 25, 2015 @ 9:12pm

Hahaha good one! Good thing those two guys happen to be a in train infested with crazy killer so they can see who scores better! Great job, man!

Omiya Games says ...
Apr 26, 2015 @ 12:44am

Impossible to play. It is very innovative cooperative game, but the current frisbee mechanic is broken. It can be fixed with auto-targeting, and perhaps more frisbees or power-ups. While the graphics and audio are very well-done, the mechanic needs revisiting.

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 27, 2015 @ 6:28pm

Very cool mechanic, with some fixable implementation issues that make it feel a bit off. I don't think you should be able to accidentally throw the frisbee away by facing the wrong direction, especially since the game ends if you lose your 1 frisbee. The game needs to be able to keep both players onscreen at all times (by zooming the camera and/or forcing players to stay within the camera's bounds). These issues are totally addressable, so I hope you'll keep working on it. Nice job!

RyanNielson says ...
May 3, 2015 @ 7:36pm

Neat idea, could use a bit of polish!

reiknight says ...
May 10, 2015 @ 8:35am

I couldn't play it because I don't have the 64-bit version of windows. Seems very interesting to me and the graphics are cool :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]